Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coral Terrace Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 477 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 31, 2013

My daughter just started there and it is by far the worst school ever. The teachers are very rude and generally don't care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Coral Terrace El. has the best principal, I have ever known. He cares for all his student. The teachers are great, they go out of their way to help the students. Excellent Staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

teachers and principals are kind and caring. school has a warm atmosphere.


Posted March 28, 2008

I would like to take this opportunity to congratulated at Corral Terrace elementary and all wonderfull teachers like mrs.Botella, Mrs Ruiz, and Mrs Rivas,exc for a great job. 'If we work together and keep doing . Im convinced we can see the result.' By Lili Romero, a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

I love Coral Terrace elementary i would n't change my child from school for nothing in the world. My son has a great principle, great assistance principle and great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2007

My son has been attending Coral Terrace Elementary since Kindergarten, and now that the time has come for him to move on to Middle School I wish with all my heart that Coral Terrace was a K-8 school. The teachers here are caring, loving and encouraging to all these kids, this foundation will carry these children far. My heart felt thanks to all the teachers, and staff for everything they had done to help my son prepare for a great future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

Not only do my two children go there but my husband and i went there when we were kids. It is a small town envolment from the staff but yet up to date on technology and programs. I love coral terrace. Any only relocating, definatly a+++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

I would love to see more extra activities for the students of this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

I am a parent of 3 children that have attended coral terrace elementary. I think that coral terrace is an excellent school with awesome teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2006

I think Coral Terrace Elementary is a very good school. My only cocern is the heavy traffic and lack of police presence before & after school. Especially in the mornings during drop-off along 69th Avenue (the west side of the school).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2004

is good to have a school staff that really cares about their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2004

This school is great because it offers children a place to learn with great teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
26%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

89 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 97%
White 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 139%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 244%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%58%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 8%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. EVA N RAVELO
Fax number
  • (305) 267-1526

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6801 Southwest 24th Street
Miami, FL 33155
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 262-8300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT