Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coral Way K-8 Center

Public | PK-8 | 1453 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2005

My son has attended this school for two years and it has been a great improvement for him compared to his previous school. His teachers have been very helpful in his advances. He loves this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2005

I am happy that are child is going to Coral Way Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2005

A great school, it was a very nice experience for me and my daughter, the school has all it needs to be a great school, i have the experience with the PLC and i can tell you that the teachers are excepcionally good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2005

Great school, I had a great experience with my daughter in the PLC. The teachers were great and I loved working together with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2004

A traditional school with competent teachers. A lot of kids! Very nice and inviting atmosphere, although it seems overcrowded
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2004

Coral Way is a great school. It is a Bilingual school and I believe that learning two languages it is and advantage to children now a days. It also has the SIPA program for advance Spanish speakers wich is also and advatage to kids. I believe that my son is going to benefit from this school which he loves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2004

I have had my children in this school for 5 years (ranging from my 13 year old-which is no longer there) to my 1st grader. They have excellent teachers which are very dedicated and they have a new principal on board which is fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2004

I was very happy when my daughters first started in this school. Since then, my view of the school has changed. I had a child in first grade last year which was not taught to read or write. Despite my efforts and my request to the school Principal, my child was left in the first grade with two teachers who were planning on retiring that year. Subsecuently, my daughter has struggled through second grade. I am now having to take my daughter twice a week to tutoring because of her lack of instruction in the first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2004

Excellent school. Has a variety of activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2004

As a special education major I currently am going through teacher training courses that review the latest educational trends and research. What I have observed at Coral Way Elementary school is that it actually applies the latest in education theories inside it classroom doors. The facullty and staff are quite friendly, and overall the students look content walking through the halls of this beautiful school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2004

I have my child attending this school. My child is in the 5th grade and his grades are okay. My child attended Coral Way in the 3rd grade and he didn't know anything in reading/writing in the spanish language and I was really please in how my child learned the Spanish language. My child's grade(s)in his other subject were fine. But the only thing that bothers me as a parent that my child needed more help in his important subject reading/math and the teacher(s) didn't want to give him help. I spoke to the teacher(s) and all they told me that the parents needed to help the child and help them every evening. I thought that was so shocking when I was told this by a teacher. I thank god that I did what I had to do for my child to give him the opportunity that his self-esteem can be high as it should be and that he can make it through his school years with his parents help. All what the school members really was interested that the students all attended school so the school can have a great school score as an 'A' school. It's a shame that our children gets help in subject(s) when is best for the teachers/school members.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2004

I, have two kids in this school..and only have very high things about this Institution. Most of the teachers are bi-lingual and teach in English and Spanish, in every school room are both teachers, which I, think is great. There is also a gifted program that have three bi-lingual teachers. I, saw kids learn Spanish and English with great facility. My kids both read and write English and Spanish. There is also a pilot program to learn Spanish after school hours 'International study Program' and at end of program 5Th grade the Spain Education Goverment, send an invitation to students to go to Spain schools for 2 weeks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2003

This school is very oriented toward families that do not speak English but it is the school that is in our area. Spanish is not my child's first language and it is affecting her grades. Three of the classes are in Spanish. If you do not know Spanish you are at a disadvantage and should consider another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

166 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

166 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

165 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

173 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

176 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

162 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

163 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

158 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

189 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

177 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 91%
White 7%
Asian 1%
Black 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 57%58%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JOSEPHINE OTERO
Fax number
  • (305) 285-9632

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1950 Southwest 13th Avenue
Miami, FL 33145
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 854-0515

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT