Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cypress Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 305 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 25, 2014

My children attend the school. The teachers are very dedicated to the success of their students. Most parents are very involved in school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

My daughters attended this school & truly enjoyed it. They are now in middle & high school and still talk about their days at Cypress. They had awesome teachers Mrs. Herrera, mrs. Rodriguez, ms.viamonte, ms.rojas (now mrs. Nordelo), patty rodriguez & mrs. Soto. Let's not forget Mrs. Paulen the music teacher. This school has the best teachers ever! The only problem is the last few years my daughter attended the new principal seemed uninvolved in the school. Other than that its a big happy family school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2011

I have been a part of this great "Cypress Family" for over 10 years and it is sad to imagine that this school may not be around in two years. I always imagined my children attending this school and I wouldn't want it to close. The feeling of closeness that you get when you enter this school is very difficult to find in other schools. I feel that the moral in the school is not the same and the changes need to come from the top. Teachers are trying to keep this sinking ship afloat but with little support from the administration. It shouldn't be "Let's wait to see what happens". It's time to take action and help this school get out of this rut it's currently under. Parent involvement will not increase unless you see change coming from the top.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2011

Cypress is a wonderful school. My daughter is in her last year at Cypress and she has been fortunate to have had amazing teachers each and every year. She has excelled because of the incredible teachers and staff. The extra time the teachers put in for the morning announcements, music, drama, photography club and many special events is not easily found at any school. Unfortunately Cypress may be closed next year by the school board. PLEASE any past or present parents Cypress needs your help !!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

Wow...I am so pleased to see that this great school is still around!! I am 52 years old and I now live in West Virginia. I went to Cypress 1rsr, 2nd, 3rd and 4th grade before moving. I loved it! I had some of the best and sweetest teachers and I still talk about how great a few of them were to me and my family. I live on sw 56th st...there used to be a canal across the street from my house, but by looking on google maps, I don't see it! Can anyone post on here if the canal is still there!!! Looking on the map at all this...makes me kind of homesick.


Posted August 11, 2010

Wonderful small school that feels like a family. The teachers are great and are very dedicated. The only problem keeping the school of being a 10 is the current principal, who is very unhelpful with parents' concerns and does not make an effort to make the school succeed and is not, in any way, inspiring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

i went to cypress, my children went there, and now my grandkids are going to cypress
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

I love the school, I am an out-of-area transfer and I commute from far just to bring all my kids to Cypress. Administrators and faculty are exceptional, and they care for each and every child's individual need. Menocal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

Cypress is a wonderful small-town campus in a big city. Mrs. Camji, the Assistant Principal, is an inspirational leader. The staff is warm and caring. My son was well prepared for middle school. My younger son feels at home. He is loved by the custodians, cafeteria workers and office staff - sometimes he calls his teacher 'Mom.' He can read two grade levels ahead of the curriculum and loves music, art and the media center. Parents are welcome to ask questions and volunteer on campus. Cypress Elementary is a model for education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

Both of my children attend this school. They are very happy and doing well. The extra-curricular activities are well planned and organized. The teachers and staff are involved and enthusiastic. The grounds are well kept. Cypress is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2008

I went to this school as a child. Now that my child now attends this school... I truly see what a joke this school is! The teachers do not take the time to teach the children - - only 'prep' them for test taking. Most of the teachers are there for a 'paycheck' and don't care about the well being of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2006

I went to this school from 1978-1983 and now my daughters goes there. It's nice to see that there are still quite a few teachers from when I was attending. They are still providing the same discipline in teaching as they did 20+ years ago. The school provides excellent opportunities for gifted children as well talented children with interest in art and music. The school provides a good sense of security on the grounds and has an excellent administrative staff always top of things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2006

This is a very small school which is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2005

I have one child that attends this school.. and as a child I also attended this school. The school has a great accelerated reader program and types of activities that promote reading. The quality of education in general is outstanding. The principal is extremely involved in the school activities and has an open door policy. In addition to teaching the students a set curriculum they also teach the children manners. The teachers from experience are willing to listen and work with the parents on any issues they may be concerned about or problem areas. They are exposed to an array of hands on activities during the year as well as art, music and physical education. I have found that the teachers and staff are all very caring individuals and feel privileged to have my child attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2005

Both my girls have flourished at Cypress. The overall school atmosphere is friendly and supportive. Each child is treated as an individual and with respect. The teachers, staff, and administration always put the needs of the children at the forefront. Incentive rewards are plentiful and encourage the children to reach for higher goals. Academic standards are high yet children are allowed to develop at their own pace within that particular grade level. Teachers freely communicate with parents one on one if you have a particular concern. Cypress has an excellent drama club as well as a wonderful chorus. Student artwork is often proudly displayed in the school office. Parents are highly involved at this school and the principal and assistant principal are always available to address whatever concerns you may have. The PTA organization in this school is very strong and does much to improve the quality of the learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2005

I was very impressed by the attention recieved in this school. Everybody from the office staff to the teachers were extremely nice and willing to help. The only downfall I saw was the lack of security. They have nobody hired specifically to patrol the halls. Despite that it is a very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2004

Cypress Elementary has been an outstanding school. Its low enrollment, strong administration, caring and professional teachers and dedicated PTA, has made this school a hidden gem in Miami. The gifted program is strong and effective. However, for students who do not meet the IQ requirement for giftedness, the regular program leaves the better than average students behind. Although I do not necessarily believe in 'tracking' students, the students who are academically more apt or performing above grade level, should be identified and then challenged and motivated. Otherwise, this a great school public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2004

My child has been attending Cypress Elementary since Pre-K. I am very happy with the education he is receiving and the quality of teachers educating students at this school. Ms. Haynes our principal is committeed to success and has done a great job keeping the students aiming for total success. I have nothing negative to say about the school or the staff. In fact, I must say that Cypress teachers put their hearts and souls in education. I'm proud of this school and keep up the great job everyone is doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2004

I have two children at Cypress Elementary. They both love their school, their teachers, and the administration. Cypress provides a private school education and atmosphere in a public school setting. They have dedicated and caring teachers and an administration who cares about each and every child. The afterschool care program is wonderful and my children beg me to stay. They also have programs to encourage parents to become involved in their child's education. (Family reading circle, Drama club) Parents are always welcomed into the school and classroom. Cypress also has an excellent PTA that helps support the teachers and administration. I am very happy with Cypress Elem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2004

I am very fortunate to have had my children attend Cypress Elementary. They have received an exceptional education. My son graduated from Cypress two years ago. He enjoyed the nurturing atmosphere provided by all- from principal to the custodians. His transition to middle school was a smooth one due to the preparation he received throughout all his elementary years there. Presently my daughter is in fourth grade at Cypress Elementary and I am happy to report that although she has a different personality and different academic needs, her teachers have met her needs equally impressively. I know that because of the excellent education she has received at Cypress she will be just as successful in middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 91%
White 8%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 1%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 88%58%61%
Master's degree 8%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MELANIE L VISNICH
Fax number
  • (305) 279-3622

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5400 Southwest 112th Court
Miami, FL 33165
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 271-1611

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT