Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Miami, FL
Students enrolled: 662
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


David Fairchild Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
This is my fifth year at this school and I couldn't be happier. The teachers are some of the best I've seen and really go the extra mile. There have been some hiccups but every time you have a school with so much parental involvement, there are differences of opinion. My only complaint is that the district seems to have forgotten the school exists so the PTA pays for all the computers, the Reading Lab, teacher's aides and all library books. It means a lot of work for the PTA to provide for those kids who depend on these services to enhance their academic experience. Then again that's why I gave it five stars because it really is a community school regardless of the fact that most kids are transfers. My hope is that the district and the school board embrace this school with a 60 year history and culture of excellence.

David Fairchild Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
They are all miracle workers who dedicate themselves to their students. They are always available to parents


David Fairchild Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
I think it's too much but that is the fault of the district which demands homework in all grades

David Fairchild Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
The school promotes inclusion in all grades starting with the LEAP pre-k program which uses mentors to introduce school to kids with special needs

David Fairchild Elementary School 5

Posted October 18, 2014
- a parent
This school is great! They have amazing teachers that truly dedicate themselves to the best learning for all the children. My kids have been attending for the past 4 years, and it has been great. I have dealt with the Vice Principal, Veronica Recio, and she is very compassionate and understanding.


David Fairchild Elementary School 5

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
This School is awesome! It has a very nice family feeling.The Principal is "on duty" 24/7. The teachers are great, very caring and well prepared. The PTA is amazing! All the Staff is great, except for one lady at the Cafeteria. (She is always yelling at the kids and blowing a whistle as mad) It hard at the beginning, but at the end of the day, most kids learn to ignore her Thanks David Fairchild for being a nice place for our kids to grow!

David Fairchild Elementary School 5

Posted October 30, 2013
- a parent
We love this school! My daughter is thriving as a new 2nd grader. The principal is very hands on, faculty and staff across the board are professional and very caring. It has a private school feel at a public school cost, small so tight knit community, organized and active PTA and overall a wonderful place for children.

David Fairchild Elementary School 5

Posted July 15, 2013
- a community member
Best school in the United States. An "A" school for 14 years. Terrific staff, very involved parents, great community involvement. Located near the University of Miami and Miami Children's Hospital.


David Fairchild Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2013
- a community member
I went to David Fairchild in the early seventies. Back when us kids where droped off right in front of the school. No fences, no cops. just a beautiful little school. If anyone remembers Mrs. Hammond as the principal. Very classy lady. Even I as a kid noticed that. Fond memories. Will live in me for a life time.

David Fairchild Elementary School 5

Posted May 09, 2011
- a parent
Fantastic school. I went there as a kid and i had such fond memories. My kids were struggling at Ludlam with fights, bullying and lack of learning. I got fed up and we moved specifically to this area because of David Fairchild Elementry. My Daughter has excelled and is now going to a magnet program next year for 6th grade and my son (3rd grade)who was reading at a first grade level at the start of the year has caught up. Best school in Miami. A private school environment w/o the cost.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

David Fairchild Elementary School
5757 Southwest 45th Street, Miami, FL  33155
(305) 665-5483
Last modified David Fairchild Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
David Fairchild Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top