Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fairlawn Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 681 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 30, 2013

I want to thanks Mrs. Martinez for being the best kindergarten teacher I always wished for my son. She an excellent, courageous and brave teacher. She is just GREAT!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2013

What a wonderful school! I have nothing but great things to say - the teachers are truly dedicated. The kids REALLY learn, and the administration's dedication to student safety is wonderful. The bilingual program is excellent, and let me just say that the Gifted program (run by Ms. Mendoza and Ms. Bermudez) is simply the best for helping your child excel. They are such dedicated, excellent teachers and should be commended. This school has good kids, great teachers (there is not one that my kids have had that has not been excellent), and has been an A school for the past 10 years. What more can you ask for? Very happy with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2013

I have had nothing but a wonderful experience since my child has attended Fairlawn Elementary. She has learned so much in such a short amount of time due to the exceptional teachers that they have there! TY
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2010

Great school. Excellent Teachers and superb Administration. Want to specifically thank Mrs. Grabiel for her hard work and dedication in preparing her students for the FCAT. My daughter was very fortunate to have such a great, caring teacher. She is one of the few teachers that really make a difference in our children's life and will always be treasured. Our children at Fairlawn are extremely lucky to have such a great teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2010

Fairlawn Elementary is an excellent school. I hope hte county's financial state does not take away the principal and teacher's motivation to do what is best for the students. I would like to mention Ms. Valladares and Ms Llerena for their dedication to their job, and also Ms Mashie Downs for her musical talent and the motivation she transmits to the children who are in the music program. Maintaining this program in Fairlawn or any other school must be in the hearts and minds of those who care about our children and our communities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2009

This school year was quite difficult because third grade is a challenging grade because of the FCAT. I want to thank Mrs. Kohn for doing such a wonderful job in helping my daughter reach her maximum potential. She went above and beyond by tutoring her during her planning time so that she could do her very best. Thank you for your dedication. Fairlawn is simply the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

Mrs.valladares is the best teacher there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

Yes, I agree - the middle schools in the area are nowhere near the level of safety and dedication that Fairlawn is at. How terrible to think that our children will go from an A school Elementary to a lower grading middle school that has issues. This is one of my biggest worries even though my children have a few years to go still...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

Fairlawn Elementary is a great school, because they have great teachers. Among the greatest teachers are Ms Davis, Ms Santamarina, Ms Canamero, Ms Hernandez, Ms Grabiel, Ms Caruso, and a special mention must go to Ms Barber, who takes her teaching career and motivation very seriously. My two daughters attend this school since Kindergarten and are still there. I am concern about the Middle Schools in the area, since one of them is doing her last year at Fairlawn....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

This is an excellent school. The principal is excellent as well as the teachers and all staff. My kids are currently in the bilingual program and it's great. Mrs. Santamarina, Mrs. Davis, Mrs.Barber, Mrs.Grabiel, and Mrs.Kohn have all been exceptional teachers. There are many extra curricular activities such as tennis, soccer, ballet, guitar, judo, etc...It has also been an A school for many years and the school is considered 3rd in the district. I am very lucky to have my kids attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

i have gone to fairlawn all my life i just ended last year it was great all the teachers are graet expirianced from about 45 years my moms friend went to that school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 7, 2007

My daughter Emily has been in Fairlawn since kindergarden. She is now a fouth grader, this is excellent school, she loves all her teachers specially Mrs. Kohn and Mrs Gabriel, We love this school but we had to move and she will not be able to attend Fairlawn this year. we are so so sad, this is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

My children went to Fairlawn Elementary from 1994 until 2006. The teachers are educated, involved and have dynamic creativity. The students are middle class, mostly hispanic descent, bilingual and ready to learn. I have never heard of a fight between students or criminal acts. The Music Department is excellent quality, as is the Gifted. The bilingual program, which began 4 years ago, is a wonderful way to keep the children interested in their roots and give them a strong second language. It is an A rated school, but as a parent I rate it A+. My children are well-rounded teenagers and pre-teens and I owe that to Fairlawn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2006

Very good school, the administrative staff is friendly and helpful. My son misses this school where he went until second grade. They work individually with each student. The Spanish teachers, Mrs. Cabrera, and others, like Mrs. Aguirre and Mrs. Ros, are excellent teachers who help my child reach his maximum potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2004

Wonderfull school and excellant staff and teachers. However the school food is bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

117 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 99% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Black N/A 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White N/A 42%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%58%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Security personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Amelia P Leth
Fax number
  • (305) 267-9174

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Security personnel
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

444 SW 60th Ave
Miami, FL 33144
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 261-8880

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Biltmore School
Miami, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT