Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Balere Language Academy

Charter | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 24, 2011

Congratulations to Balere for making an 'A.' I was part of the team for most of the year, but because of budget issues, I was laid off in early March. My daughter was in Kindergarten there last year, and she is currently being tested for the gifted program at Miami-Dade County Public Schools. The Kindergarten classroom was crowded last year, but the students did learn!!! As for the rest of the school, it was a tough year, but I am very proud of everything that was achieved. Even though I was laid off, I held no ill will toward the school. I understood that it was a budget issue. I even came in to help sub in Kindergarten during FCAT testing so that they could use all of the teachers on staff as proctors. It truly was a team effort, and the school should be proud. I considered bringing my daughter back to Balere when I heard about the 'A,' and the fact that they were back in the good graces of the district, but my daughter has endured a lot of change in the past year. I will probably change her next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2011

To the July 18th parent: We are so in tune with our students, we know EXACTLY who you are. The letter was not a personal letter, it is a letter that is sent by the Director to EVERY student with a C or less, because grades do fluctuate. It is mean as a wake up call for those parents who don't check their grades on-line or communicate with teachers. You were not helping with HW, as he was late 4 times a week and you never got off of your cell phone to see about him. Besides that, the teacher that finished KG worked with him PERSONALLY to ensure understanding, which is why he finished the term with A's and B's. I hope, at his new private school you become informed and more involved. We sent home many notices about the FCAT to parents and you should have noticed the 8 Staff Members from the District that were present in EVERY SINGLE CLASSROOM while our students took the FCAT. But you would have had to have been on time for that. :-)
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 5, 2011

To the June 1 Parent... I wonder if you ever came to any of the Board Meetings, or PTO monthly meetings... or took advantage of the FREE tutoring we had on Saturdays for the entire year? What about FCAT night we had where we detailed the test, types of questions & how best to prepare? No? Well, the literacy nights where we gave away books and tips on how to build a better reader? Math nights? Yes, it was a rough year for us, we did have a bit of turnover and amidst the District being there everyday, we still made an A this year. Your child failed the FCAT, I am truly sorry. The students that came to Saturday tutoring at least 70% of the time, ALL passed. Did your child come? Or were you one of the parents who chose to send their son to baseball/golf before the Reading and Math tutoring? The principal CHOSE to teach Math this year because she couldn't find anyone to do it to her liking. The scores are evident that this was a good decision. Pretty committed huh? I hope whatever school you do move them to, you take advantage of all that is being offered. We can work around the parents, but it's much easier on the school and the child when the parent is INVOLVED.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 5, 2011

Congratulations for making an A this year!!! I know it wasn't easy!! Continued success to the students and staff!!! Who cares whether or not I like the Administration. They are THERE and ALWAYS available. Honestly, we don't have the Parent support that other Charters do, because of the area we are in, but kudos to the Administration for taking on the challenge!


Posted June 6, 2011

I myself is a parent but my children went to public school and they ALWAYS complained about there lunch. you talk about the lunch served at Balere but have you ever tryed it, it was like a home cooked meal. BBQ chicken, salad, yellow rice, rice and vegetable, chicken nuggets, fish stickes, hamburgers with pickles etc........... so don't talk about the lunch. And the staff always put the children first. yes your children hard to believe right. I always say that Balere was a day care for your kuds. How can the teachers help your kids if you dont help them yourselfs.


Posted November 18, 2010

My son has had 4 teachers and numerous substitutes since the school year has started. The school is in F school and the teachers and administration have absolutely nothing to say about it. I took my son out and now is in a A+ school with one teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2010

Worst Ever could see or could be... How could Miami Dade County Waist our taxes our money to spend on such schools ... As parent , there is no teacher to make common. The first Grade Did not have Teacher for past 9 weeks, Every week they changed teachers. Principal promised that the teachers will stay but in another hand she let her best teachers to go because they are disagreed with her point of view . The worst principal we have ever seen. I wish I had enough space to explain why I am so disappointed of the school....every week pay for this paint the back yard for kids. what ever we did, did not work.... On behalf of all disappointed parents please save your child and look for another school, we are hopping for change of principal. Please do not waist our taxes in such school. parent.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

This school is always complaining about not having enough funds for books and supplies, even food for the cafeteria yet they are installing cameras have flat screen t.Vs in the office, redecorated the whole office with new furniture while there are classes that are falling apart. This school came out on the news i believe it was channel 4 they were crying out for help saying they wanted to gather 1 million dollars to bail them out of what?? This is ridiculous. Im taking my child out of this school the administration only care about themselves and the so called lunch here is sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

My son attended the school for 2008-09school yesr. I was extremely pleased with the teachers as well as the administration. We ended up moving to another county and I only wish i could of brought the school with us.Many schools here do not even offer Spanish classes let alone immersion.My son learned a great deal at Balere and i welcomed the family atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

They have good goals for every student, but unfortunately, seems like there are not enough funds for the school and every teacher is kind of frustaraded for that. But, teachers are very good. What is terrible, is the lunch for the kids, not like Miami Dade public schools's menu.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2009

I have been in this school 5 years. The principal knows the names of everyone. The teachers are super nice and you learn a lot. This year an egyptian came to the school in the last 4 months of school. He did not know any Spanish or English. Before you know it he knew a bunch of English and Spanish.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2009

I have had experience with the Public school system and UNTIL I found Balere my opinion was not good. Balere is a big family where the children learn and are safe. The principal is always available to the parents and the children and believe it or not she knows them all. She knows their personalities, weaknesses and strengths.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

My child just started the Kindergarten program at Balere Language Academy and he loves it! He's excited about school and about Spanish. I plan to keep him in this school until graduation. I am very satisfied with his teacher, progress in Spanish, and school administration. The best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

My child began recently in the bilingual program and has learned alot. She had a hard time, but once the routine was formed she has a handle on it. She has learned to transfer knowledge from Spanish to English and the vocabulary curriculum is awesome! Way more detailed than at the regular public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2007

My kids have been at the school since it opened three years ago. We speak English at home, even though my husband and I are of Hispanic backgrounds. I absolutely love the Spanish immersion and did find that in K and 1st grades it can be a bit confusing. But my third grader is now reading and writing fluently in Spanish and English. The only issue I have with the school is a bit of lack of organization and a lack of extracurricular activities. Otherwise, wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2007

My children also attended this school for three semester. I transferred my children out of this school because the science and social studies were both in Spanish. I tutored my children in every way possible but when test day came they always failed. The test questions are in Spanish and the answers also have to be written in Spanish. This would be ok if my children had learned some Spanish previously but they hadn't. The end result is my children no longer want to learn, hear, or try anything that is Spanish. So please encourage your child to do his/her best but never force.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2006

I agree that the security can be a bit overwhelming at times, but I too would rather my child safe and it take me a bit longer to pick them up after school than knowing anyone can take them home! To the other parent in the April 2006 review... the school is very up front with parents in explaining their bilingual program and the entire premise is to learn Spanish in content, unlike many other schools. The curriculum is spelled out on their website. The school is very small and everyone is willing to help you when you need it. The principal lady is there more than any other school I know. I really like how everyone there knows all of the students, its like a little family. I couldn't ask for anything better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

I think that the school is excellent my child is a second grader student and it is true that probably the sound of the letters can be a little bid confuse for the childrens but this is when a challenging student comes up. I think that the teachers are great, the school has a wonderful campus, every one is always willing to help you and the security is excellent (a little bid exagerate sometimes and annoying)but hey we want to go to work in peace knowing that our child's school is safe. I think that we as a parent, we need to be more involved in our child's education and try to see how the school can be more succesful for ours childrens. thanks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2006

School is new, and a bit disorganized. My son has been in this school for two years, and he has proven that their bilingual program is confusing for kids. It is true that kids can learn more than one language at the same time, but my soon-to-be second-grader is confusing the sounds of the letters in Spanish and English. I also dislike the fact that his Science and Social studies classes are in Spanish, which puts him at a dissadvantage from other kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
36%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
20%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
30%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • This school did not receive a grade in 2011-2012.
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "F".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 66% 29%
Black 27% 23%
White 4% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 56%N/A49%
Male 44%N/A51%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A58%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 90%56%65%
Master's degree 10%N/A32%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 23%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Rocka Malik
Fax number
  • (305) 232-4535

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10875 Quail Roost Dr
Miami, FL 33157
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 232-9797

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bee Academy
Miami, FL


The Bee Academy
Miami, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT