Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Virginia A Boone-Highland Oaks School

Public | PK-5 | 744 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2013

Over the years this school has maintained the highest level of education. The staff and specially the teachers are excellent educators and friendly to the parents and extended family. We are so glad that the parents chose to live in the neighborhood so the kids could attend VABHOE. Oh, the new Principal is perfect for the school. Keep up the good work!


Posted January 18, 2012

This school is amazing! The teachers are fabulous and everyone is so involved! I would give it 5 stars!


Posted January 12, 2011

This is an amazing elementary school and my child had the good fortune to attend VABHOE until we were re zoned. The teachers are outstanding and for the 5 years my child was there, we never encountered any problems. The pricipal knows each and every child attending the school and she truly cares about her students. The PTSA is outstanding there as well. My only regret is that my child couldn't finish the last year there since the zoning changed. I highly recommend this wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

I don't know much about the school as this is my son's first year in the school but I noticed that the principal is very concern with each child's education and create a learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

My son had a good education there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

I currently have a 4th grader entering VABHOE for the 2009/10 school year and a son who graduated 2 yr ago. It has truly been an excellent and refreshing place of learning educationally and socially for my children. Dr. Rubin is a dynamic and innovative leader who encourages parent involvement, tolerance and technical advancement. She also has a great administration and dedicated teachers. The PTA is vibrant and effective, contributory and evolving. As a parent I'm glad to help in anyway I can and speak honestly that I too feel Virginia A. Boone Elementary is an enriching educational experience for our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2009

I have been teaching at this school for twenty years and I think it's the greatest school EVER. VABHOE totally rocks! Someone had previously posted that much of the staff needs to retire. There are some more experienced teachers here, but that only means that they really know what they're doing by now. I teach music and I know that all these teachers want the absolute best education for every child. I plan on staying here another 20 years. This school is great. And if your child is good at music or art, this is CERTAINLY the place to be! Mrs. Urbistondo and I are the best music and art teachers around these parts. Come by sometime and ask to visit 'The Tillmanator' and I'll show you around our great school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 2, 2007

Excellent level of education, good teachers. However,staff are unfair with some students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2006

We just moved to florida from illinois we were told that this school was excellent so my husband and myself decided to go with the advice....So far the beginning or the year has been a nightmare for my 2nd grader the buses are disorganized kids are being left behind or not picked up in the morning but i still beleive this school will figure it out and is filled with great facility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

I strongly feel that VABHOE is a great school. My 2nd daughter is now going there,(Kindergarten). My first is at Highland Oaks Middle in 7th grade. The school has a great parent involvement,and one of the most hands on and involved PTA group. They also have a great music and arts department. My first daughter was part of the Chorus group for three years. They went to many competitions including Universal Orlando, where they won 1st place repeatedly. As far as after school sports I don't believe there are any available that I'm aware of. There is although different after school club i.e. K-Kids. This is a club that involves children in different ways that they can give back to the community. I hope this helps. I strongly urge any kid to go to this school. I'm looking forward to my kids next 4 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

School adminstration has good intentions but there are too many kids per classroom thus not allowing teachers to give the necessary attention to children. Much of staff needs to either retire or learn more updated teaching techniques. More empathy and tact need to showed by all. Most adults observed treated children in a very degrading way. Children should be spoken to not constantly dictated to. FCAT is very important as well as the overall PTA involvement which tends to be overbearing at times. Principal very detached.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

we're switching to private!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2005

This school is very nice. The academic curriculum is great and the students and staff are pleasant.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2004

Good school overall but class size is too big. Too many students for teacher to really help students progress to their fullest. Too many teachers at the school also do not allow parent volunteers in classroom. Why not? Also, teachers could definitely use an aid with so many students in a class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2004

Excellent elementary school in good neighborhood. Complex includes a middle school and high school, also. Attached to an upper-middle class neighborhood of singlr family homes. Parents are very involved in day to day activities. Open classrooms along with some portable buildings. Nice grounds and mandatory uniforms. They take education and school pride very seriously.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

84 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 37% 42%
Hispanic 36% 29%
Black 22% 23%
Asian 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 56%58%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 6%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20500 NE 24th Ave
Miami, FL 33180
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 931-1770

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Tauber Academy
Aventura, FL



Scheck Hillel Community School
North Miami Beach, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT