Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

732 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Virginia A Boone-Highland Oaks School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 26, 2016
- a community member
Mrs Faggans - Mrs Johnson - Mrs C are the best! in PreK. Can't say more from the rest of the teachers since I don't know them well

Virginia A Boone-Highland Oaks School 4

Posted May 26, 2016
- a community member
Definitely there are favoritism's. impossible to get into the full PreK program because they decide upon 1 interview with the child. The children have 4 years old, OBVIOUSLY they will cry as soon they arrive to an unknown class with an unknown teacher and kids. They will not be their selves for that whole day. And this is a mistake. They are leaving out possibly the most achieved students and picking the wrong ones. Very unfair. PreK teacher was heartbroken, but the Principal didn't even try to reach us to give us any explanation. I just think is unfair to give preference to people that comes from outside, than to the children who are already there (and doing well in the previous class). Shame shame !!


Virginia A Boone-Highland Oaks School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
Some of the techer are good and easy to communicate with. We had one teacher that was hard to communicate with. And on days my son was sick with asthma and a missed test he was not given the opportunity to make up the test.

Virginia A Boone-Highland Oaks School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
I don't have enough experience with the school to make a judgement on this topic.

Virginia A Boone-Highland Oaks School 3

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
My son went from being on honor roll (all A's and B's) at a Chicago magnet school to getting a C in math and D in science. Ironically he has the same techer (Romanelli) for those classes. This could be a good school, but there's always one bad teacher that ruins the experience. Attempts to speak with the teacher to discuss grades are dismissed. The principal is too busy to meet. Just glad this year is almost over.


Virginia A Boone-Highland Oaks School 4

Posted February 13, 2016
- a teacher
Great administration! Very open and welcoming. Most of the teachers are caring and well educated (mainly in the gifted and dual language classes). Unique and fun activities and events for the students (such as Cultural Arts Day, Career Day, etc). Very involved parents and PTA. Strong ties to the community. My only con: very outdated facility, specifically the bathrooms and cafeteria (yuck!!!) Please update! Our kids deserve better.

Virginia A Boone-Highland Oaks School 4

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school but I must admit that I agree with some of the other parents. There is some favoritism with the PTA and teachers towards the children. If you don't live next door to them or know them personally your child will fall through the cracks. You can see the division. Even if you would like to volunteer they would generally get someone that they know before the one they don't.

Virginia A Boone-Highland Oaks School 2

Posted May 13, 2014
- a parent
I have mixed feelings about this school. The PTA is excellent and their is a lot of parent involvement which is excellent in a public school. The new principal is great. I do feel that many of the teachers need to retire but their are a few caring compassionate teachers left. Also, if your child is not in the gifted program, the dual language program or special classes they may fall through the cracks. That is just my opinion. The school is different based on whether they are in a specialty class or regular class. When you are in that school, you can really feel the difference. Such a shame that our kids are divided by gifted and none gifted. The kids really do feel the difference. Hope that changes one day.


Virginia A Boone-Highland Oaks School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a community member
Over the years this school has maintained the highest level of education. The staff and specially the teachers are excellent educators and friendly to the parents and extended family. We are so glad that the parents chose to live in the neighborhood so the kids could attend VABHOE. Oh, the new Principal is perfect for the school. Keep up the good work!

Virginia A Boone-Highland Oaks School 5

Posted January 18, 2012
- a community member
This school is amazing! The teachers are fabulous and everyone is so involved! I would give it 5 stars!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Virginia A Boone-Highland Oaks School
20500 Northeast 24th Avenue, Miami, FL  33180
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (305) 931-1770
Last modified Virginia A Boone-Highland Oaks School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top