Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Somerset Academy Charter

Charter | PK-5 | 567 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

The jury is still out for me. It seems as all my daughter gets is worksheets in class. She says the teachers sit in the back and play on their computers or phones....no teaching....and she is getting 13 + hours of homework per week and that is a lot for a 10 year old. I will give it a little more time and see how it goes. I am talking about Somerset Dade....I have heard much better things about SOMI
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

This school has the potential to be great, however it lacks in the number of student assigned to a class. My child's class has a total of 27 kids for one teacher, with that many students, no teacher could help a child one on one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2011

There is only about 50 kids in each middle school grade - they use worksheets and computers. I pulled my kid out after k-5 to attend middle at Jorge Mas Canosa and am SOOO glad! She came home the first day exclaiming that this year she would get to dissect a frog, build a bottle rocket, and she has a science lab where they work with chemicals for their experiments. Somerset would never have given here these hands on experiences. They just use text books and worksheets. The only extracurricular class for mid school is putting out the annual year book. They have 24 kids to a class and no class aids for the younger grades. The school is clean, each room uses a promethian/smart board. turf instead of grass, only grades 1 and k allowed to use the playground equipment. the rest only can run around on the very small patch of turf. there is no balls or other playground or pe equipment. for pe they run laps a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2010

my son has been in the school since it open in this new location. This year he starts middle school. It is with great pleasure and respect that i commend and compliment the principal, assitant priniple, office staff, teachers and all personel of the school for their dedication and care to their students. thank you the Perez family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The administration is wonderful and most of the teachers are fantastic. There always seem to be a few that slip through, especially with this hiring freeze. We've been very happy here. Please take note that they are better equiped to handle average students and not those with disabilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

it is an excellent school!!! My daughter started this year in K and she loves the school and the teacher. the principal and the staff are very involved. i like the way that they teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

I think this is a great school. My daughter started in K and is now in 1st grade. The first year was not that great as the kindergarten teacher has no personality at all and never greeted me as a parent. This year my daughter is so much more comfortable and her teacher is awesome. I had a problem with the sand on the playground last year and saw an improvement. Its really a big inconvenience trying to get a park in the mornings. There is too much traffic and only one way in and out. There should be better accomodations. Overall the academics is great. My daughter has learned alot and i like the way they teach. The principal and most of the staff is very pleasant. I think its a great idea that staff stands outside in the am and pm to supervise the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

my daughter began with Somerset since it opened. She loves the school , the teachers, and all her frends. I couldnt ask for a better school. They really do care about out kids education..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

It is a fourth year for my children attending to Somerset, is a great school. Every year they are improving. The Principal and the rest of the stuff are very helpful and friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

I think this is a great school they are very attentive to the students and next year I hope to sign my son up to this school next year, I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

The school is great but lunch is not. Lunch is the only complain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

This is a really nice and safety school for ours kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2007

Academic programs are great, Fcat scores are high, extremely safe, teachers/staff are caring. My boys could not be happier, and the are A students, We are very happy at Somerset!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

Great school. Principal is a great leader always wanting to be involved. She takes the time to listen to parents. Teachers gives you a very personalized treatment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2007

Our kids have been in Somerset for 2 year's, they love it as much as we parent's do! They are doing agreat job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2007

Somerset is by far the best school any parent can send their kid to. They teachers and office staff are wonderful. The parents are involved in all aspects of the school. It is a wonderful school and they excel in everything they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2006

Parent involvement is phenomenal. Teachers treat each student individually and work with each student differently depending on how they learn. School staff and administration work with parents on a very positive level. The school has a very contagious positive atmosphere! My kids love waking up in the morning and going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2006

My son used to hate to go to school until he started attending Somerset Academy. Now he is eager to get there in the morning. The school security is wonderful. Teachers and staff are very friendly and work closely with the parents. Parent involvement is extraordinary. Extra curricular activities are wonderful. Somerset Academy is an A school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2006

Great parental involvement. Lots of activities to participate. Safe and secure environment. Caring personnel.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

90 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 91%
Black 3%
White 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 52%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/AN/A
Female 48%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 72%58%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18491 Southwest 134th Avenue
Miami, FL 33177
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 969-6074

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT