Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

587 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Somerset Academy Charter
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
There are a FEW individuals who go above and beyond their jobs at this school such as Ms. Taylor, Ms. Zayas.

Somerset Academy Charter 1

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
My child has been in this school for three years and each year I have hoped for something better. The only reason this school has a good rating is due to the parent involvement and the extensive work by the students, NOT by the teachers. It's either a swim or sink philosophy at this school. The children of the teachers who attend this school obviously are the overachievers. Too many politics there. Class sized exceed the public school number of 21, most of them are 26+. I will be moving my child from here. The idea of a small school K-8 is nice but the teachers here leave much to desire. Not worth the hassle and constant stress just to have a child complete the year.


Somerset Academy Charter 2

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
The jury is still out for me. It seems as all my daughter gets is worksheets in class. She says the teachers sit in the back and play on their computers or phones....no teaching....and she is getting 13 + hours of homework per week and that is a lot for a 10 year old. I will give it a little more time and see how it goes. I am talking about Somerset Dade....I have heard much better things about SOMI

Somerset Academy Charter 3

Posted February 06, 2013
- a parent
This school has the potential to be great, however it lacks in the number of student assigned to a class. My child's class has a total of 27 kids for one teacher, with that many students, no teacher could help a child one on one.

Somerset Academy Charter 4

Posted December 12, 2011
- a parent
There is only about 50 kids in each middle school grade - they use worksheets and computers. I pulled my kid out after k-5 to attend middle at Jorge Mas Canosa and am SOOO glad! She came home the first day exclaiming that this year she would get to dissect a frog, build a bottle rocket, and she has a science lab where they work with chemicals for their experiments. Somerset would never have given here these hands on experiences. They just use text books and worksheets. The only extracurricular class for mid school is putting out the annual year book. They have 24 kids to a class and no class aids for the younger grades. The school is clean, each room uses a promethian/smart board. turf instead of grass, only grades 1 and k allowed to use the playground equipment. the rest only can run around on the very small patch of turf. there is no balls or other playground or pe equipment. for pe they run laps a lot.


Somerset Academy Charter 5

Posted August 23, 2010
- a parent
my son has been in the school since it open in this new location. This year he starts middle school. It is with great pleasure and respect that i commend and compliment the principal, assitant priniple, office staff, teachers and all personel of the school for their dedication and care to their students. thank you the Perez family

Somerset Academy Charter 4

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
The administration is wonderful and most of the teachers are fantastic. There always seem to be a few that slip through, especially with this hiring freeze. We've been very happy here. Please take note that they are better equiped to handle average students and not those with disabilities.

Somerset Academy Charter 5

Posted March 23, 2010
- a parent
it is an excellent school!!! My daughter started this year in K and she loves the school and the teacher. the principal and the staff are very involved. i like the way that they teach.


Somerset Academy Charter 4

Posted March 02, 2010
- a parent
I think this is a great school. My daughter started in K and is now in 1st grade. The first year was not that great as the kindergarten teacher has no personality at all and never greeted me as a parent. This year my daughter is so much more comfortable and her teacher is awesome. I had a problem with the sand on the playground last year and saw an improvement. Its really a big inconvenience trying to get a park in the mornings. There is too much traffic and only one way in and out. There should be better accomodations. Overall the academics is great. My daughter has learned alot and i like the way they teach. The principal and most of the staff is very pleasant. I think its a great idea that staff stands outside in the am and pm to supervise the kids.

Somerset Academy Charter
no rating

Posted October 09, 2009
- a parent
my daughter began with Somerset since it opened. She loves the school , the teachers, and all her frends. I couldnt ask for a better school. They really do care about out kids education..

Nearby schools

Somerset Academy Charter
18491 Southwest 134th Avenue, Miami, FL  33177
(305) 969-6074
Last modified Somerset Academy Charter is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top