Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Academy Of Arts & Minds

Charter | 9-12 | 339 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

63 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 12, 2009

I am a student who goes to A&M and I am a sophomore.This is by far the best school I have ever been to in my short 16 years on this planet. This school has some of the best teachers that have been brought in from all around the world including India! The amount of culture in this school is amazing. Recently all of the students got tested for drugs and there was not one student that tested positive for drugs! I recommend this school to any teenager in the United States because I think it's the best school in the United States!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2009

I am currently a senior at A&M, and transferred over from South Miami Senior High School in 10th grade. I love my school! It's small, and artistic, and I do learn very much. Maybe that's because I spend more time getting things done, and concentrating on my arts than complaining about every little thing. It's true that the past administration was completely incompetent and that there are some unsolved problems left over, but the teachers are fantastic and the new administration is great. I can speak for the music and drama departments, as I am involved in both, and my experience has been incomparable. I couldn't have gotten such rich music/acting education anywhere else. Apply here if you are willing to work.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2008

When i applied for the Academy of Arts and Minds i had high expectations.But, as this school year has progressed i am becoming more and more dissapointed.Some teachers are hard working while in some other classes i have yet to learn anything. Also,they lack of honors classes and etra curricular activites.The administration is in constant chaos and bery unorgainized.AIso,there have been various parking issues with many of the students in the past weeks. l have been an honor student all my life,but in this school I feel like I'm wasting my time because I feel I'm being held back and I have more potential.Yes,some student my like it becasue it is very laid back, but I would like to fae other challenges to help get into a good college.Parents,I don't advise you to enroll your child in this school if you have high standards for your child.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2008

I agree wholeheartedly with the most recent reviews. The problem is that my kid likes it here. It's small so it's easier to contact teachers. However, the administration is awful. Teachers are either too advanced ot not good at all. From what I gather, even some of the teachers have similar feelings. I fear for my child's academic future in this school. Socially speaking, the school leaves a lot to be desired. They have absolutely no extra-curricular activities for these kids. What college is going to accept that? There's not a single club, sport, or anything else. This is too sad...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

I am extremely concerned about this school. So far there is no computer teacher and the kids have sat idle for two weeks. I pray this is not indicative of the rest of the school year. I hope that students are lectured from textbooks and have a curriculum that follows the Dade County Public schools. If I do not find this out I am not doing my job as a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

This school is the poster child of incompetence, when it comes to your child s education this school is a joke. Behind the farce of academic and artistic achievement lies an administration that couldn t find their way out of a paper bag let alone locate your child s transcripts. So if you have college ambitions are sure to request your transcripts during freshman year maybe they will hand them over by graduation if you re lucky. Sadly some of the first graduating senior class has still not received their records and as a result can t attend college. For the most part the teachers are great and do their best to help you achieve in spite of the schools general failure
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

My daughter attended Arts & Minds in 9th and 10th grades. The school is good for students who can work independently without much lecturing from teachers. They are not organized and with few exceptions they do not have a quality faculty. It definitely does not cater to talented students who are not A+ .... SO WHY HAVE ARTS. Artistic talent also needs to be given the importance it deserves especially if the student gets its motivation from the Arts. They Failed my Daughter.


Posted June 20, 2008

A & M was developed with the idea of bringing a fine arts education into a balanced academic curriculum. In theory at least. The fact of the matter is that the school fails to live up to its name, supply neither the art nor the mind. Having spent the past two years rotting away in a school that breathes apathy and lethargy, i finally wised up and transferred. Did I like the school? Absolutely. I missed my first and second period classes over 64 times and managed to pass both with a B. Did the administration do anything about that? Why would they, went they've failed to address far more pressing issues concerning the school. The past year alone, the school has gone through more than 6 teachers, because they're either horrible or too good to be there. Do your kids a favor, get a real school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2008

It doesn't go without real reasoning to say that this is definetly the worst school i have ever been in by far. I attended one whole year the fourth year of it's opening and I can say that I genuinely feel that I wasted a substantial amount of my time this last year being in this school. The atmosphere is 100% unengaging, to me atleast, and the administration is suprisingly unattentive to the problems and issues in the school, and not to mention phony beyond belief in the public and community eyes. I am not an immature student venting my frustration at my school, I am just making a sincere review and making sure I can tell whoever I can to not enrole here because you will be let down.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2008

Academy of Arts and Minds is a terrific school. However, they are still waiting for their first class to graduate. The ideology of the A&M is a small, communal, hands on, campus that focuses on the arts as well as academics. On the other hand, the constant shuffle of staff has somewhat hindered the curriculum. This is understandable due to the fact that the school is adjusting to the changes needed to be made. In time, this program will be very difficult to join. In fact, it has seen quite a few glimpses of glory already and has a voracious appetite for more: All-State anyone? Conclusion? A&M is on the rise.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2007

A & M looks good so far. My daughter loves her teachers and the environment. Need more communication from staff - their on-line system is working, but we have not been able to get on-line and no one seems to know why. So we can't check her progress at the moment. I do have one big problem - school does not provide busing or any transportation. Therefore, we have had to make time arrangements with our employers to drop her off and pick her up. This also creates issues with my daughters dance school in the evening, because she is not able to get to her evening classes on time. School doesn't put enough effort in assisting parents with transportation issues!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2007

Excellent school! Professional, helpful and careful people. As parents, we feel lucky to have our son attending this school, teachers keep us updated with our son's progress/development. 'Thanks, Arts and Minds!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2007

this is a great school and the security is very good also, you don't need that much security because it is a small school, as for the teachers they are helpful and they keep the parents updated. every year it gets better and better as we grow....the administration is just as good as the teachers and their door is always open, but we do need more parent participation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

This was the best option for our son, we support Academy of Arts & Minds 100%
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

A&M is a wonderfully kept secret. It is a small, academic school where all of the faculty know each student individually and where the attention and care given each student is meant to bring out the best in each one. The students are quite unique, artsy, funky, and at the same time, they manifest a unity and respect for one another that makes a parent proud. I am incredibly happy that my daughter and I took the gamble to enroll her in this brand new, unique school and it is paying off beautifully!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

This is my daughter's second year at A&M and we are very happy with the quality of the programs. I like the fact that it is a small school and the classrooms have glass windows so everyone can see what is going on inside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2007

Being a current student at A&M i higly recommend it. The teachers are really nice and dedicatedd to what they do. Sice its a small school teachers will take time to adress any problems you have and are willing to tutor. The art programs are awesome too. I am in the chorus program and we have had ourr performance which went amzingly and we got straight superiors in solo and ansemble. I recommed this school to anyone who wants to go to a school where you learn but that aloso expand your mind through the arts.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2006

This year, it's a whole different ballgame. The new teachers are better than ever and highly educated. The arts are blooming with a new chorus teacher, dance teacher, and theatre teacher [who is one of the most professional people i have ever met, might i add]. There is an even bigger and better art room. The extracurricular activities are great this year. There is so many many clubs to choose from, and they are all very active. I'm very proud of what A & M has accomplished.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2006

The bottom line here is that school talks a good game, but very few of their claim come true. There is no real security and no arts to speak of. Most students would never survive at a regular school, either socially or academically. It's a fly by the seat of you pants. My child was in the 'honors' program and she even called it a joke. After giving it a two year chance - she is no longer there and much happier and challeneged. There is very little art going on there and if you choose to take part in the extra-curricular activities, many time you must pay. There has only been one production and that director is no longer there; unfortunately. I could go on, but space doesn't allow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2006

Academically speaking, A & M is wonderful. The teachers are there for your every need and truely become your friend. At A & M, you're not just another number. Everyone knows everyone's name..it is sort of like a big family. The arts have had a rough start, but next year there is a big chance they will be a lot better. Parents are encouraged from the start to participate in everything from a school show to field trips but the thing is many parents are oblivious to the fact that this is a new school and to make it a successful school we need everyone to put in their share of effort. The school has an outstanding atmosphere and it's location is the best nonetheless. I'm definitely glad I attend A & M because it is like no other school. Justgiveit a little time and you'll see how amazing it will
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
41%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 78%
White 15%
Black 6%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 30%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/AN/A
Female 70%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 2%N/A2%
Graduation rate 77%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 42%56%65%
Master's degree 58%N/A32%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 16%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. EIDA HERRERA
Fax number
  • (305) 448-9737

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3138 Commodore Plaza
Miami, FL 33133
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 448-1100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT