Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Academy of Arts & Minds

Charter | 9-12 | 401 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

62 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 8, 2011

I am a senior at the Academy of Arts and Minds. I am thankful every day that I decided to attend this school. Even through all the positive evolution I've seen over my four years, A&M remains a hidden gem. I have had unbelievably stellar teachers, teachers who I can truly label intellectuals. The atmosphere is an inclusive one, without the traditional "clique" system which pervades adolescence. The tradition has been in place since my freshman year there. At 14 I was shocked that the seniors were actually being...human with me. Friendships know none of the traditional boundaries found elsewhere. Teachers and administration are important for any institution, but there's no way to describe the spirit of A&M. An inclusive, positive, intellectual atmosphere like ours would make for better performance at even the worst school. My teachers have been brilliant, and my friends have been unbelievably diverse, talented, bright, and down to earth. I believe the environment I have been afforded has allowed me to be more than ready for whatever University I elect to attend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2010

My son attended this school last year. He did have some good teachers, but with great inconsistencies and voids in the approach. He no longer attends there, and my opinion may not be as valuable as others on this thread. I was concerned that much was missing when compared to my son's friends' experiences in similar courses at other schools. The school's administration was not always responsive. And there has been a big teacher turnover rate in some of the arts programs that have taken their toll on quality. I would not say the school is catastrophic, but there are other great alternatives that I feel benefit kids better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2010

I graduated from A&M in 2010 and I can honestly say I loved my school! What most impressed me about A&M was the dedication of the teachers and the similarities between a school and a family. The teachers at A&M, particularly my senior year, were willing to stay after school countless times to prepare us for our AP exam. More so, if you had a problem at home, school, or personally, you could always count on being able to converse with one of your teachers and receive heartfelt counseling from them. The closeness between teachers and students, in my opinion, is unique to the A&M environment. A&M truly was like a family to me. There literally are no fights in this school. There are disagreements, as there is in any family, but never fights. All I can say is TRY IT! If you're anything like me, you'll love it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 28, 2010

As a A&M grad, my opinion of this school might be somewhat biased. However, one cannot deny the caliber of the school's educatiobal prowess. The enviroment (Coconut Grove) lends itself to the students' interests and allows anyone to feel as if this school is truly unique, especially with the galleries and colorful enviroment surrounding the school. The staff takes care of the students' artistic talents and the value their art has in society and their self-discovery, at the same time, encourages them to be an educated individual with the demanding school work. Is it hard work for the student to juggle both the extra curricular and the academic? Yes, but we as students understand that that is what is asked of us in the school and in a competitive world. We understand that it takes a great deal of creativity to shine in this school,


Posted June 28, 2010

I graduated this year (class of 2010! 'ole!') and couldn't be more proud to have graduated from the Academy of Arts and Minds. I entered the school my Junior year, in 2008, the year revamping, big changes and risky transitions were being made and can honestly the institution as well as the faculty and student body itself have grown and continue to grow rapidly. I had always wanted to attend an art school for high school but my parents were skeptical of anything that wasn't the traditional high school education. Arts and Minds's size and location is what initially appealed to me. In my senior class there were only 56 students so the individual attention from teachers and kin-like relationships I formed will stay with me my entire life. Transfering from my ex-private school to Arts and Minds is not a decision I took lightly, but one I will never regret.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2010

Under the director's astute administrative experience, A&M has seen phenonmenal growth - both academically and in community service projects where both staff and students reach out and give back to the community. The director -now enetering his 3rd year at the Academy - Coconut Grove's ONLY public high school- has increased the enrollment from 350 (2009-2010) to currently 470 enrolled for 2010-2011. The word is spreading about the high level of quality A&M has in both the academics as well as the fine arts. Over 720 applications were received as of June. Auditions in the speicality strands shows that Greater Miami has an extremely large group of young talented, budding 9th - 12th graders. The school's strong administrative/teaching staff are diligently preparing tomorrow's leaders to serve in a global society.


Posted April 21, 2010

This is a truly unique school. It includes a comprehensive 'arts' curriculum, an easy going and collaborative camaraderie among students (all grades and art strands), and a nuturing but respectful relationship between students and faculty. Unlike many other art schools, Its mission statement embraces the cross-disciplinary development of each of the school's performance and art strands, including collaborative performances and exhibitions. There is even a faculty member whose job it is to promote 'cross-feritlization' and interaction of the various art strands. Some students participate in more than one strand. The shool welcomes and nutures the 'individualist' in each of its students, while maintaining the decorum and mutual respect one would expect in a secondary educational institution. The school is devoted to assuring that 'academics' always come first and that no student can get by on an arts curriculum alone. The campus is also one-of-kind, consisting of a multi-level and terraced structure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

This school is the best kept secret in Miami. Go visit it for yourself. They hide nothing-just a bunch of talented kids, committed faculty, amazing Dean and wonderful principal. My friend just tried to get her son in and they are overenrolled right now. Her son left crying and the Dean said he would try to fit him at the semester. Tell me where you get service like that in Miami. I thank God every night my kid goes to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2009

This school's meticulous selection for the brightest and best students really will blow you away. The school is filled with talented students. The fact that the school allows you to explore ALL the arts, instead of just one, really helps you realize how creative and multitalented one can be. You can enter this school freshman year, and by senior year be a photographer, or a dancer, or all three, etc. This school is amazing. Honestly, if you're having doubts as to why you should or shouldn't send your kid here, you need to realize that you're underestimating the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2009

a 10 plus on a scale of 1 to 10. I wish these kind of schools were around when I was in high school. A dynamic staff led by an experienced principal and a wonderful Dean of Students. My child was 'Zuckerized' and is a new kid-one who cares about his grades and is talking future college plans as a 10th grader. You are nuts if you're kid gets in and chooses New World or DASH or Coral Reef over this place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

A & M offers the best of both worlds - creativity encouraged and nurtured, along with strong academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2009

No doubt, probably one of the best schools you could ever enroll your child into. I'm a freshman, and I told myself that I'd only enroll in this school for a single year, and then I'd switch. I underestimated this school. Its only been about a month and a few weeks of school, and I plan on staying here my entire high school experience. The school is such a big family. The students aren't stuck up or rude, and everyone gets along perfectly fine. At this school there aren't any 'cliques,' & at this school its not shocking to see a senior or junior, talking to a freshman. Everyone gets along great. And may I say, the food there is amazing! They give you the option of vegetarian & non-vegetarian food everyday. Overall, this school is just phenomenal.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 7, 2009

Wow-----------what a school. You are all in for a treat. The new administration is amazing. This school will attract the most talented and brightest kids in Dade County. Coral Reef and New World-watch out!!! You now have competition
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

A great oportunity to expand the minds and talents of our children.Great staff.On top of things.Always an answer.Respect for parents.Great .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

This is the most amazing school in the county. The new Dean of Students is fantastic. He is the most knowledgeable ands caring man I have met in many years. My child is a freshman and comes home every day talking about school. Don't confuse this school with the other charter school on Biscayne. That principal is rude and crazy. I give this school an 11 on a 10 point scale.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2009

My son enrolled in Arts & Minds & I was apprehensive after reading the mixed reviews. I am surprised & delighted at the quality of the education, the organization & the atmosphere. The new creative writting track has enrolled 'minds' in addition to the arts that they had. He is challenged academically & has lots of homework but he is learning & happy. This is a small school & not your typical high school experience but it is a great place to grow & fit in for those kids that are artistic or not 'typical'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

I'm currently a senior at Academy of Arts and Minds and in my three years at this school, I am most excited to start off fresh this upcoming year. Still a newbie, A&M has gone through many changes in its short life-span but every year it gets stronger, its academics better, and of course, more artistic in every strand. The new administration that came in this year has been so helpful! They are the nicest people and for once students feel like they are worth something more than money; they feel like someone cares about their future. The teachers in A&M are stupendous; I have no complaints about any of my teachers. They are always willing to help. The AP pass rate in A&M, particularly in the Social Studies and English departments has been very good. Overall, I recommend this school to every student in Miami! You will love it here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2009

These past four years at the Academy of Arts and Minds, I have had the opportunity of experiencing three different arts, and not only striving to master them, but obtaining an appreciation for them. I've realized that art goes beyond the aesthetic pleasure, and reaches into dedication and sacrifice. Every unique strand has helped me flourish distinct traits or skills that I would most definitely utilize in my future life. In the 4 years that I attended A&M, I was able to actively participate in 3 of the art departments, and master each one. In these four years alone I had countless performances, produced a 116 full color page book, was featured on the cover of the Miami Herald, and was a student representative in the Student Government Association. I highly recommend this school for any lover of the arts and culture.


Posted June 8, 2009

I am a senior that has just graduated from A&M, and i attended the school for all four years. I really do appreciate the diversity, and culture this school has brought to my life. The environment at A&M is very nurturing, and accepting to all kinds of people and allowed me to grow as a person. Not to mention, as an art student, i felt challenged and inspired. Although on the other hand, if you are looking for a typical high school experience, then this is not the school for you because it is anything BUT typical. Students do have to take an initiative to challenge themselves because of the laid back atmosphere. So if you are a high-maintenance student this school would be the wrong choice. A&M is meant for independent, creative minds who wish to pursue a career in the arts, free from the oppressiveness of traditional values.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2009

I am a student who goes to A&M and I am a sophomore.This is by far the best school I have ever been to in my short 16 years on this planet. This school has some of the best teachers that have been brought in from all around the world including India! The amount of culture in this school is amazing. Recently all of the students got tested for drugs and there was not one student that tested positive for drugs! I recommend this school to any teenager in the United States because I think it's the best school in the United States!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
41%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 74% 29%
White 18% 42%
Black 7% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 2%N/A2%
Graduation rate 77%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 42%56%65%
Master's degree 58%N/A32%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 16%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Jorge Suarez
Fax number
  • (305) 448-9737

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3138 Commodore Plz
Miami, FL 33133
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 448-1100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT