Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public charter
Miami, FL
Students enrolled: 339
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Students at A&M are awesome form their participation in the Artists Mentoring program and displaying their works at the Ritz Carlton in the Grove. What a great opportunity for performing arts students in South Florida to have a public high school that provides dance, music, photography, creative writing, theater/drama and visual arts programs for talented students. Take a tour and see for yourself. A&M rocks!!!
February 19, 2014

4 stars
Based on 67 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

68 reviews of this school


Academy Of Arts & Minds 5

Posted November 25, 2014
- a parent
Love Love Love! Great academics, great connections between all of school staff and attendees, and plenty of parent involvement. Love it here! Charter schools for the win!

Academy Of Arts & Minds 5

Posted November 25, 2014
- a parent
Love it! Great staff, great teachers, great area. Lots of activities for students to do, and the academic teachers are really outstanding this year.


Academy Of Arts & Minds 5

Posted November 25, 2014
- a parent
We seriously love it here! Not only is there a diverse group of accepting and loving students, but the teachers are no different- and they're beyond qualified for their job! The academics are fantastic and the art programs are phenomenal! Definitely worth much more than Greatschols.org's rating. The school went through a few hiccups but you wouldn't be able to tell, especially with the new management. Lovely!

Academy Of Arts & Minds 5

Posted October 21, 2014
- a parent
My son is currently in the school and he loves it. It is like a family, no bullying, he is enjoying being there while learning, and there are support from all teachers and management

Academy Of Arts & Minds 5

Posted September 09, 2014
- a parent
This school just recently went through a huge plastic surgery, gastric bypass, and face lift. Completely new management, good & certified (and better) teachers, an all-new caring and responsive principle, make up a better administrative team. Renewing all textbooks, fixing up structural/building related issues, and adding new technology, this school is on the rise for the better.


Academy Of Arts & Minds 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
Awesome arts program, a student on their graphic design class even won an INTERNATIONAL AWARD for MIAMI FASHION WEEK!!! Congrats! Amazing school! Long live the arts!

Academy Of Arts & Minds 5

Posted February 19, 2014
- a school leader
Students at A&M are awesome form their participation in the Artists Mentoring program and displaying their works at the Ritz Carlton in the Grove. What a great opportunity for performing arts students in South Florida to have a public high school that provides dance, music, photography, creative writing, theater/drama and visual arts programs for talented students. Take a tour and see for yourself. A&M rocks!!!

Academy Of Arts & Minds 1

Posted November 11, 2013
- a student
I am currently a college student but I went to A&M my freshman and Sophomore year, which is when the school started going majorly downhill. Very inconsistent staff, high teacher turnover rate, theres a new principal almost every other month, since I have left there has probably been 8+ principals in the school and the lack of resources is unbelievable. They charge ridiculous fees and do not give us anything in return for the fees, they basically rob you of you're money. I enjoyed my home school 10x more than I did A&M and the disappointment from my freshman and Sophomore year in that unacceptable school still leaves a bad taste in my mouth. It is unbelievable that a school this dysfunctional is still standing


Academy Of Arts & Minds 1

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
Not good. Not good at all. What many parents, like myself, seldom realize at first is that this school is actually controlled by non-administrators who operate behind the scenes. A&M is a charter school. So the school is required by law to do certain things or face consequences. I credit whatever limited success the school has had in the past to the things they are required to do by the state. There have been some good teachers at A&M. But I feel it has been IN SPITE OF the school's founder/owner; not because of him. The negative trail of evidence goes back several years with this school. A big turn off is that the school's controllers consistently trash and bad mouth past administrations and even teachers. I suspect they do so because they have all been whistleblowers. Many of us are just weary that the school is constantly in damage control mode. Scandal after scandal!! There are other great arts charter school and magnet school choices. I am hoping my daughter can get into Miami Arts Charter next year. I advise others to beware of the troubles that plague A&M.

Academy Of Arts & Minds 5

Posted September 04, 2013
- a teacher
Great school year...the students are so happy to be back at the Academy. Yes, there are changes ....but they are for the betterment of the students and their studies. Our students deserve to get the best quality education available. The Academy is continuously making improvements that benefit the students and their academics.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Academy Of Arts & Minds
3138 Commodore Plaza, Miami, FL  33133
(305) 448-1100
Last modified Academy Of Arts & Minds is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Academy Of Arts & Minds Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 67 reviews. Top