Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kendale Lakes Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 739 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 21, 2014

Both my sons attended Kendale Lakes Elementary beginning in PK. They have had phenomenal, caring, and challenging teachers that have prepared them and motivated them to always do their best. It became most apparent to me what a quality education Kendale Lakes provided when my oldest went on to middle school to take Honors and high school courses. The quality education he received was the foundation he needed to continue to strive for greatness! I am grateful to the many wonderful teachers, the administration and the support personnel that make the school a huge success! My youngest son is in 2nd grade now and I continue to trust and count on KLE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

I have been a teacher at Kendale Lakes Elementary School since the year 2000. I have had a wonderful experience as a teacher at this school. Since I am also an alumni of Kendale Lakes, I have seen this school flourish in many ways. The amount of technology available to teachers and students has significantly increased. It is incredible that there are 11 working computers in my classroom, along with an amazing LCD projector, which we use throughout the day for our lessons. The students are able to work on many amazing programs available on a daily basis, such as: Accelerated Reader, Success Maker, and Ticket to Read. These programs have provided daily interventions for every student in the class, no matter what their instructional level may be. I am looking forward to my future years at Kendale Lakes Elementary as one of the members of this incredible staff!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 23, 2012

I have been working at this school for over 8 years and I can't say how proud I am to be a KLE staff member. I am lucky enough to work in a Kinder/First grade co-teaching environment. The amount of technology that has been implemented into this school since I began many years ago is overwhelming. I am very PROUD to say we have an LCD projector to utilze in our classroom which has opened many doors for my students and their learning styles. The school has progressed a great deal, in the aera of TECHNOLOGY!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 15, 2010

needs a better leader and a few better teachers. It seems like th ebest teachers are now gone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

This is by far the best elementary school in our county. The levels of excellence are exemplified by the Principal, after/before care, teachers, maintenance and cafeteria staff to the highest level. Our children are able to learn in a nurturing, positive and safe environment and, as a result, they continue to blossom. The entire school as a whole is a positive influence on the children. Thank you for all your efforts and keep up the great work!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

Starting this school yer (2009-2010) the school has a new principal. I believe she is doing a great job and I want to encourage all parents to help the school and join the PAT. However, my only concern is the class sizes for the gifted program. While regular classes have about 22 kids, all gifted classes have over 30 students. I would like the school and the district to solve this problem since the gifted children are not receiving the attention they deserve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

My children have been attending KLE for 8 years now. One in regular classes, and one in the gifted program (now in middle school). Teachers are dedicated, caring and approachable. I mostly communicate via email with the teachers, counselor and administration and have always received prompt replies to my concerns. It is an excellent school with a great faculty regardless of what the Administration is forced to do according to what the School Board mandates (where the real problem is). In both of my children s classes number of students per has always been reasonable. Last year there were only 19 students in my then 2nd grader s class. This year is approximately same class size. Overall, my family s experience with KLE has been wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2009

WOW! I thought I was the only one that felt this way. KLE needs a new principal and AP. The school is great! Its the principal and AP who need TO GO! These two women are not leaders. They are not approachable nor do they care about parent's concerns. The way the principal and AP conduct themselves towards parents and volunteer is disgraceful. No wonder parents don't want to get involved. I too withdrew my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I do agree that the school has gone down as far as administration. I do understand that teachers have had a lot of issues with the school board, however, this is a job they choose just like everyone else's job. I think it's about time we get another new principal to bring up this school again as it was over 2 years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2009

My son has attended Kendale Lakes for the past 6 years. It had always been an excellent school with a great staff. It made an effor to work with the parents and the PTA, but in the past two years the new administration has severely impacted the quality of the school. Parents feel uncomfortable when voicing their concerns, when volunteering, even when joining the PTA. The adminstration's only concern seems to be funding, not the actual students and parents. Past administrations made an effort to recruit volunteers and appreciated their hardwork, instead the present administration them for granted. It may be an 'A' school, but that's due to the hardwork of its student body and its teachers, which are caring and hardworking. Many parents have withdrawn their children and placed them in other area schools rather than staying at Kendale Lakes. The school is definitely on its way down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

My child is in the third grade. He is in an ESE program. When he came in from a prior school, he was reading in a Kindergarten level. He is now over first grade level, and continues to improve. I think that says it all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

The administration of this school needs to improve. The school had poor leadership and parents felt that they were a bother if they had a problem or a question that needed resolution. ...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2009

Unfortunately the principal backed up the horrendous behavior on the teacher s part. Do not send your child to this school. If you have an issue with a teacher the administration will not hear it! Thank god my son is in a new school where teachers are not overworked & overwhelmed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

Kendale Lakes Elementary is the best school my kids have ever attended. My eldest son was previously enrolled in another school in the area and it was horrendous to say the least. Kendale Lakes has teachers that really care about their students. My kids recently had to leave the school because of relocation and they were on the verge of tears asking if they would ever come back. The caring attitude of the teachers is reflected by the respect the students show each other and the level of learning acheived. Of course every school has good and bad, but in this case, the good definitely outweighs the bad. The school has gone through two principals in the past three years, yet the staff and teachers have done thier job with excellence by not permiting this change to affect the students. Thank you Kendale Lakes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

Just Because the school is rated an 'A' does not speak of the level of education the students receive, it only shows how well they have been trained to take a test. The communication is horrendous and the teachers are fearful and overworked. Class sizes were great, if you consider 35 kids to 1 teacher a good ratio for a second grade class . And YES, I was in the PTA and a volunteer. The previous principles were incredible but the newest installment is far from standards that we should receive. To the point that she locked herself in her office to avoid talking to the parents about our concerns. Needless to say that my child will no longer attend this school. I hope that this information is of help to you and know that I am not attacking anyone, I'm just reporting on what has happened to this great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

Kendale Lakes has made another A despite the fact that many other area schools dropped a grade. Despite the fact that several principals have led the school in the past year and a half, the teachers, students and parents have maintained the successful formula needed to maintain an A. Communication with parents is a strong point through websites, newsletters, automated phone system, email, phone calls and PTA meetings. Parents who write reviews that complain the level of communication is low are most likely, not involved with the PTA. Though the methods may not be understood, the bottom line grade of A should speak for itself.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 30, 2007

Because the school has had several new principals in the last several years but has maintained its FCAT score of 'A' it speaks highly of the teachers and leadership. The teachers work exceptionally hard and care deeply about the students. The class sizes are good, parent-teacher communication is doen through a weekly newsletter, teacher websites, a school website,PTA meetings and workshops that are put on by teachers. Although, not perfect, this school has excelled through a lot of difficulties.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 12, 2006

the academic program are ok ,the level o parent involvemente is perfec.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2006

Great school, great teachers and excellent performance by the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2006

This is a great school for kids and parents alike. Unlike most public schools in Miami-Dade County, Kendale Lakes has a full time gifted program.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

114 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 91%
White 5%
Black 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 45%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%58%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARTHA T JAUREGUIZAR
Fax number
  • (305) 386-2718

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8000 Southwest 142nd Avenue
Miami, FL 33183
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 385-2575

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT