Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Welcome to Kendale Lakes Elementary, a STEAM Academy School, and a multiple FLDOE Five Star School Award recipient! On behalf of the Kendale Lakes Elementary (KLE) School family it is my pleasure to welcome you to our outstanding school. Our mission focuses on each child reaching their full potential. We take tremendous pride in providing an excellent and motivational education, in a loving, caring, family atmosphere, unlike any other in our district. Through the cooperation and teamwork of our students, staff, parents and the community, we strive for excellence and inspiration in all that we do to serve you and your child(ren). Close cooperation between the home and school is essential to providing a quality education and an engaging extra-curricular program. In order to accomplish this, we encourage parents to be a partner in their child’s education. It is a privilege and honor to work collaboratively with all our stakeholders in preparing our students and providing them with the educational foundation needed to excel in our society and beyond. At KLE, we continuously raise the bar and “believe it can be done!” ¡Bienvenidos a la Escuela Kendale Lakes Elementary! Una Escuela Académica STEAM, y recipiente múltiple veces del “FLDOE Five Star School Award” (Premio de Escuela de Cinco Estrellas FLDOE). En nombre de la familia de la Escuela Kendale Lakes Elementary (KLE) es un placer darles la bienvenida a nuestra destacada escuela. El enfoque de nuestra misión es que cada niño/a alcance su máxima potencial. Tomamos gran orgullo en proveer una excelente y motivadora educación, en una atmósfera de familia, llena de amor y cuidado, como ninguna otra del distrito. A través de la cooperación y el trabajo unido de nuestros estudiantes, maestros, empleados, padres y la comunidad, trabajamos hacia la excelencia e inspiración en todo lo que hacemos para servirles a ustedes y a sus hijos e hijas. Una cooperación unida entre el hogar y la escuela es esencial en proveer una educación de calidad y participación en las distintas actividades escolares.
August 03, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kendale Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
I love this is school, my daughter has the best teachers ever. Thank you Kendall Lakes for been such a good School for our students. The Principal is amazing. Now I'm so sad because I need move to my little to other school, I wish she can stay here until 5th grade, but I move a little bit far.

Kendale Lakes Elementary School
Develops grit: no rating

Posted August 11, 2015
- a school leader
One of the areas we are most proud of at KLE is our student recognition programs. Because we work with students in identifying and communicating our expectations, we also teach them to set goals for their growth each year, and share with them their progress. Students meet with their teachers to see how they are performing, and many students chart their goals and progress consistently throughout the year. Updates are shared with families through reports or conferences as applicable too. Inevitably there are times students will struggle with learning new skills, especially as the curriculum grows in more rigor and critical thinking requirements. Teaching students to persevere and work through their challenges are an enormous part of building their independent abilities, and ultimately their self-confidence. A great part of our curriculum and instruction is devoted to building up each child's self-esteem, so that when they face a new challenge or something completely unknown to tackle, they possess the emotional/intellectual skills and strategies they need to persevere, work hard, and eventually succeed. Ongoing recognition of students in this area is prioritized throughout the year, and additionally, special awards are presented at the end-of-the-year assemblies. We are fortunate to have this priority supported through financial contributions from our Parent and Teachers Organization and school leaders, Presidential Academic Honors, Community Partners that sponsors specific awards, and specialized awards created by educators to honor outstanding students in various core subjects, as well as including technology excellence.


Kendale Lakes Elementary School
Amount of homework: no rating

Posted August 04, 2015
- a school leader
Our approach to home learning is that it is an extension of what was taught and reviewed with students as part of their instructional day. Home learning is assigned in accordance with District guidelines; however, based upon individual student abilities, this may result in less or more time necessary to complete work that was assigned. As part of the home learning communication process, KLE utilizes an agenda planner so that important information may be shared between the home and school. Several teachers also choose to use a grade level or class website to post home learning assignments or projects, upcoming special events, and any other important news to share with our students/parents. As an integral part of school-based practice and home learning assignments, students are expected to complete important technology programs to enable us to monitor their skills in core subject areas, and review or enrich students academically based upon their generated results. These valuable programs greatly support individualized growth based upon each learner's ability in the various subject areas. The District and school site use these incredible programs to monitor student performance on an ongoing basis. Because of the transition towards computer-based testing, we highly support student practice with these programs at school as well as at home, so their comfort level in this area is maximized. Although there are recommended sessions to complete on a weekly basis, students may always expand their utilization in order to improve in areas of academic difficulty, or expand their use to challenge or enrich their skills whenever able to do so. Daily reading for 30 minutes is an important part of home learning for all students. Through school funds, we purchase the Accelerated Reader (AR) Program (for designated grade levels)which allows students to read books of their choice, or as part of our reading textbook series, and take reading comprehension tests to monitor their academic skills. Students typically set a quarterly goal for AR and work to meet or exceed their goal. A schoolwide AR incentive program, overseen by our Media Specialist, challenges students to join the "Millionaires Club" by reading 1,000,000 words or more each year. Students exceling in this capacity are showcased on a bulletin board outside the entry to our media center.

Kendale Lakes Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 03, 2015
- a school leader
Welcome to Kendale Lakes Elementary, a STEAM Academy School, and a multiple FLDOE Five Star School Award recipient! On behalf of the Kendale Lakes Elementary (KLE) School family it is my pleasure to welcome you to our outstanding school. Our mission focuses on each child reaching their full potential. We take tremendous pride in providing an excellent and motivational education, in a loving, caring, family atmosphere, unlike any other in our district. Through the cooperation and teamwork of our students, staff, parents and the community, we strive for excellence and inspiration in all that we do to serve you and your child(ren). Close cooperation between the home and school is essential to providing a quality education and an engaging extra-curricular program. In order to accomplish this, we encourage parents to be a partner in their child’s education. It is a privilege and honor to work collaboratively with all our stakeholders in preparing our students and providing them with the educational foundation needed to excel in our society and beyond. At KLE, we continuously raise the bar and “believe it can be done!” ¡Bienvenidos a la Escuela Kendale Lakes Elementary! Una Escuela Académica STEAM, y recipiente múltiple veces del “FLDOE Five Star School Award” (Premio de Escuela de Cinco Estrellas FLDOE). En nombre de la familia de la Escuela Kendale Lakes Elementary (KLE) es un placer darles la bienvenida a nuestra destacada escuela. El enfoque de nuestra misión es que cada niño/a alcance su máxima potencial. Tomamos gran orgullo en proveer una excelente y motivadora educación, en una atmósfera de familia, llena de amor y cuidado, como ninguna otra del distrito. A través de la cooperación y el trabajo unido de nuestros estudiantes, maestros, empleados, padres y la comunidad, trabajamos hacia la excelencia e inspiración en todo lo que hacemos para servirles a ustedes y a sus hijos e hijas. Una cooperación unida entre el hogar y la escuela es esencial en proveer una educación de calidad y participación en las distintas actividades escolares.

Kendale Lakes Elementary School
Develops respect: no rating

Posted August 03, 2015
- a school leader
At KLE, there exists a strong partnership between the home and school in this important capacity. Working cooperatively, these two environments cultivate the emerging value systems of our youngest learners. The fact that KLE serves a highly diverse student population is an essential component towards how we prioritize an emphasis on respect for one another. Teaching students as early as the age of 3 to have self-respect, while also demonstrating respect towards others, is critical to our emphasis on providing a safe and inspiring learning environment. Students learn these behavioral characteristics from the adults and children they come in contact with, as well as observe on a daily basis. Students learn about respect, responsibility, integrity, honesty, kindness, community service, making the right choices, and goal setting, through class lessons, cooperative learning activities and important school level presentations. These vital character traits are embedded into the District and school's Character Education Program . School leaders, teachers, counselors, therapists, and support personnel work diligently to genuinely set positive examples for our students and community at large. Our school mission statement focuses on each child reaching their full potential. Paramount to our mission is a solid foundation forged in respect for oneself, respect for others, and respect for the power of knowledge and learning. We are extremely proud of our respectful and motivational learning/working environment. Guests and visitors to the school repeatedly compliment us on the dedication of our teachers, the superb behavior of our students, and the positive and friendly customer service they receive from our team members. Parents and guests truly feel a commitment towards "family" and "care" when they come to KLE in search of the best environment or specialized services for their child or children. Ultimately, we strive to exceed standards at all times; a quality we work to pass on to our students for their success at KLE and beyond.


Kendale Lakes Elementary School
Develops empathy: no rating

Posted August 01, 2015
- a school leader
We are extremely proud of our KLE family's efforts and outreach to serve others. In participating in special programs to bring aid to our communities, or knowing how to respond to fellow students struggling to learn English as a second language, or many others identified with a learning disability, our staff unites in purposeful experiences to ensure we cultivate compassion, caring, and empathy in our students. Specifically, we participate in special community outreach activities such as the United Way Campaign, Chapman Partnership for the Homeless Toy Drive, Canned/Dry Goods Drive, Turkey Donation sponsored by our School Board Member, Jump Rope for Heart Campaign, Goods Drive for Haiti, The Homeless Meter Campaign, Veteran Hero Box Program, Clothing Bin Program for recycling/repurposing of clothing, shoes, accessories, etc. As a Title 1 school, we work cooperatively to comprehensively help our families. The important lesson is that in life we can accomplish so much more by assisting others along the way. Students genuinely experience pride in our work to serve others, and they feel empowered to do so. Our school has almost 20% of our students identified as receiving Special Education services. Our inclusion program helps to build these qualities as well due to the daily interactions of our students participating in this learning setting. The incredible work of our teachers and support personnel set a positive example for our students too. Lastly, we are most grateful to our volunteers and families that work alongside us in an effort to cultivate all these qualities from these early years on forward. Our counselor oversees the Student of the Month and Do The Right Thing recognition programs, where exceptional student behavior in this capacity is showcased. One other special impact of this heartfelt focus is that our students are repeatedly seen performing random acts of kindness. We are very proud of our students' growth in these areas, and the positive impact on their value system.

Kendale Lakes Elementary School
Develops honesty: no rating

Posted August 01, 2015
- a school leader
The KLE family is very blessed to promote a values driven school culture. Throughout the year, positive character lessons and student service activities are interwoven within our classrooms and academic programs to develop the whole child. Students become well aware of positive behavioral expectations in our daily interactions. Schoolwide assemblies and special events integrate essential lessons and discussions that highlight these qualities we aim to develop in each child. For further emphasis, the counselor oversees the Student of the Month Program as well as the Do The Right Thing Program which enable school personnel to nominate outstanding students each month. Conduct awards and special incentive recognitions such as Student of the Month, Do The Right Thing, and Most Improved honors, allow us to showcase exemplary students. Additionally, our fabulous PAT organization sponsors rewards for our outstanding students, and each child is showcased through our closed circuit television programming. Special bulletin boards post the monthly nominees' photograph throughout the year! Highlighting students for these recognition programs sets a wonderful example for their classmates to emulate. We are also very fortunate to have high school students volunteer at KLE, and many are alumni. For the past two years, the MDCPS District Youth Volunteer of the Year have earned this recognition while serving the KLE family. Seeing this priority in action for our youngest learners at the age of 3, and again while working with our high school volunteers, reaffirms our commitment of excellence for all.

Kendale Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted July 31, 2015
- a parent
i'm so happy that my girl is in this school since kinder and now she go to 4 grade, i think this is the best school in the area, thank you for everything that you did for my baby


Kendale Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
Both my sons attended Kendale Lakes Elementary beginning in PK. They have had phenomenal, caring, and challenging teachers that have prepared them and motivated them to always do their best. It became most apparent to me what a quality education Kendale Lakes provided when my oldest went on to middle school to take Honors and high school courses. The quality education he received was the foundation he needed to continue to strive for greatness! I am grateful to the many wonderful teachers, the administration and the support personnel that make the school a huge success! My youngest son is in 2nd grade now and I continue to trust and count on KLE!

Kendale Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted June 11, 2013
- a parent
My daughter and son go to this wonderful school everyday my daughter was in 5th grade and my son in moving to 3rd so i rate this a 5

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kendale Lakes Elementary School
8000 Southwest 142nd Avenue, Miami, FL  33183
(305) 385-2575
Last modified Kendale Lakes Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kendale Lakes Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. Top