Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,042 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
83 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 150 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kenwood K-8 Center 2

Posted September 04, 2015
- a parent
I have to say I had a terrible experience with this school. I had such high hopes but in the end... it came down to the Principal Ms. Moraima. I do not believe she has the best interest of the child in mind. I do believe she wants to keep her school A rated and keep the standard up but when I had an issue with my child regarding his ADD, she had zero compassion. She has a very cold side to her (almost completely apathetic). If your child is a straight A student with no extra needs, I do believe you will like this school. However, if you have a child that requires extra attention and help, consider yourself warned. As far as the teachers, we had a great experience one year and just awful lack of communication the following. It was like pulling teeth trying to get responses to emails and extra help. Overall, I believe if a truly caring Principal were to come on board, this school has a lot of potential.

Kenwood K-8 Center
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted September 04, 2015
- a parent
I had a great experience with my sons Kindergarten teacher but for first grade, my experience was very poor


Kenwood K-8 Center
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted September 04, 2015
- a parent
As I said in the review, I believe the school itself is not bad but in my experience, the principal of the school treated me unfairly.

Kenwood K-8 Center 5

Posted April 06, 2015
- a parent
I am a parent of a kindergarten in Mrs. Rodriguez's class. I am very happy with this school, the teachers and how my child has transformed during the school year. I love hos Mrs. Rodriguez shows an interest in the children and is loving yet stern. My child is learning a lot, and enjoys the fun activities Mrs. Rodriguez prepares which makes learning fun! Thank you for a great year!

Kenwood K-8 Center 5

Posted March 25, 2015
- a parent
I am a parent of a kindergarten student and this is our first year at Kenwood. I cannot say enough how happy I am with his education and how much he is learning in this great environment. Ms. Garcia is his teacher and she is very sweet and caring but can be strict and stern when she needs to be. She is very involved with my child and I love the way she engages the kids with fun classroom activities that tie in current events and other notable dates. I know a couple of the other teachers and it really seems to be a good caring team at Kenwood. The new principal, Mr. Rodriguez, is very dynamic and has brought some good fun things to the school, everyone seems to like him and he is very good with the kids. The afterschool staff is also great. Overall we are very satisfied and I look forward to many years as a Kenwood mom.


Kenwood K-8 Center 5

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
I have seen a positive transformation of this school. Students are provided with greater opportunities and the parents are welcome into the school. There is a greater community involvement here now more than before and it shows. The best part of the new changes at Kenwood are an active social media network. I no longer have to search in my child's book bag or call the school to find out whats happening. Kudos to the new changes.

Kenwood K-8 Center 1

Posted January 28, 2015
- a parent
Some teachers are good others doesn't even care about your kid. I am a parent of a kindergarten and have been several times picking early my daughter up because she had "accidents" people don't know what happened no one is reponsable watching the kids . No just that they don't care your kid learn, my older son who is autistic had the worse experience was bullied, not learning besides they do have money from the district didn't want to give my kid what he was needing the teacher so mean with him, so i took him out, is hardly wait the end of the school year so my daughter can be out of there too.

Kenwood K-8 Center 5

Posted June 25, 2014
- a parent
I love this school. My son has learned so much. Everyone is very friendly. I do not worry about his safety, because I know he is safe.


Kenwood K-8 Center 2

Posted June 07, 2014
- a parent
I hate this school because my son got bullied by these kids that were really mean to my son. Also i don't even know how my son got bullied because he is a very nice kid. What really got me disappointed was that the teacher left the classroom. I would not recommend this school to anyone.

Kenwood K-8 Center 5

Posted May 10, 2014
- a community member
Great Teachers Best School in Miami. Great it has the best elementary school GO COUGARS

Nearby schools

Kenwood K-8 Center
9300 Southwest 79th Avenue, Miami, FL  33156
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 150 reviews. (305) 271-5061
Last modified Kenwood K-8 Center is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top