Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Leewood K-8 Center

Public | PK-8 | 827 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

58 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

I am very happy your experience with Mrs. Boyd was he great, that's the way it should be. However, my experience with her was not and I would not wish it upon anyone. Children should be inspired and encouraged, not criticized and humiliated. You speak based on your experience and opinion, much the same as I did. However, my review was removed. I did not use any profanity at all. I was simply honest in my reviews to warn other parents, as no child should endure what my child did. There is freedom of speech in this country and I exercised my right . My opinion and experience should be acknowledged and treated with validity. Afterall, does my child not matter?? Apparently so! I guess a review is supported as long as it makes the school and teachers look good, regardless of what the truth may be. I stand behind my opinion!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Contrary to the former post, Mrs. Boyd is an excellent teacher. She constantly challenges her students, while also providing support and understanding. We as parents need to realize that a good teacher does not necessarily provide us or our children with what we WANT, but rather what they NEED in order to be successful. Leewood is an excellent school with amazing teachers and administrators!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Leewood K-8 Center is in exceptional school which consists of the most dedicated teachers and administration that I have ever seen. They are constantly monitoring students progress and school. This is a great school that has the greatest PTSA I have ever seen. I also know that Ms. Boyd is a FANTASTIC teacher who goes above and beyond the call of duty.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 25, 2014

It certainly seems that some of the comments here are not about Leewood K-8 Center. My daughter has been at Leewood for the past two years. The teachers are exceptional and the office staff is always willing to help. The principal and assistant principal really make this school feel like a private school. They go above and beyond for each and every student on a daily basis. I see them greeting students each morning and it just starts the day. The PTA is also amazing. They are constantly doing things for the school that go above and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2014

I am a new to this school and my daughter is in vpk. I have had a great experience with her teacher but the office staff should really shape up their attitude because the set a bad tone. Many may not agree with me but I am speaking for myself. I understand the first days are hectic. We are all busy and have a lot of work. I guess it costs money to lift your head and greet someone when they walk in or smile. I actually heard one of the staff talk in a nasty tone to a little boy who's parent had not submitted their latest vaccines. She told him" sit down you are not even suppose to be here" in the nastiest whisper. As if he was contaminated with some kind of widespread disease. That's not to mention the 3 incidents I had with the main secretary. It's as is she had it out for me because I missed one paper for enrollment. Did not lift her head to tell me it would be a long wait. She made it difficult to get a free shirt voucher, and to top it off she did not enter my child in the lunch system for free lunch and tried to cover it up as if I made a mistake. When I spoke to the principal he pretty much tried to sugar coat their mistakes and was not genuinely sorry. Her teacher is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2014

I do agree with a lot of statements that are said here about certain staff and most of all of the AP, that apparently goes to work in a bad mood and a very bad attitude. If you are not on her favorite parent/student list then she wont talk to you in a very nice way. She should not be working with children, she should have picked a different career. A lot of issues need to be addressed and taken care of from the Principal. Hopefully things will change for the best for all students that attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2014

I am a parent at this school and, since my older child entered five years ago, there has always been a family atmosphere and a "private school" feel. I do not understand nor agree with statements about certain staff there. I have seen genuine concern for the students at the school. I am pleased with the teachers, administration, and the level of education. Thank you Leewood for ALL you do! Many times the positive (& there are many positives) go unnoticed~ so I thank you for your efforts!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

My child is being constantly changed from school to school because I'm a real estate agent and this school I'de have to say is by far the WORST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

My daughter attends this school and our experience has not been a positive one. She is constantly bullied in class and has even been hit and choked by other students. The teacher did not notify us of the altercations and has done nothing to protect her from other altercations. Whenever our daughter approaches the teacher for help she simply sends her to the office and does not handle the situation. Academically, she is never challenged and the teacher refuses to provide extra work since it is not "in her curriculum" to do so. This school has been a big let down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2014

Its a good school but some teachers are very rude to the students and the parents for no reason and have favorites but most are very good and fair teachers. The after school care program is terrible the counselors are VERY rude and only are nice to their favorite, the assistant principal has a bad attitude and one again the aftercare has snotty counselors but I love everything else. The ptsa goes above and beyond and creating fun raisers and fun things for students to do, I love how they send breakfast up to the students classroom so that all of them can eat, and the staff member (besides aftercare) are very nice and helpful!


Posted February 22, 2014

As a former student I only have fond memories of Leewood! Administration and teachers were always very helpful and nice. Any negative comments are because the parent or student did not get their way, anyone can say anything anonymously!


Posted February 13, 2014

This school is terrible you has to have money or be your status hight to listen to you ! If you be a low income the principal no listen ms Rivas that is the assistant principal she has bad attitude with the parent and children too that school is disappoint
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

Leewood K-8 Center is the most amazing school for ALL children. The teachers go above and beyond to assist all children with all types of academic needs. The administrators recognize all students by name and also really get to know their parents. The PTSA work tiredlessly to make the children's school year wonderful by providing activities such as school dances (which the AP DJ's and dances with the kids), the Harvest, school picnic, middle school BBQ's and so much more! Both of my children recieved an excellent education and are attending Florida Universities with 3.5 GPA. I owe it all to Leewood K-8 Center!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

My school is fantastic and it is one of the best schools I have been to. I would reccomend this for sure. The teachers all know your name and care about each and every student. All the kids are very welcoming and kind.


Posted August 20, 2013

This is a fantastic school! My daughter loves it and the teaching methods are superb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2013

Very disappointing to have my kids here. Moved from out of state, bought a house in neighborhood so my kids could go here, only to find out I could have bought a much nicer house and had my kids transfer here. Too many kids bussed in from bad areas. Climate of staff and administration are horrible . They show favorites and if you don't give, give give or grease the principal or AP your child is never recognized for any accomplishments. I'm so glad to get my kids out, now maybe they will have a chance to enjoy school. Office staff is a bunch of rude ladies that gossip all day, and treat parents and students with such disrespect , it's sickening,! Beware, they suck you in and spit you out. No respect for parents, students or the good teachers. Bad teachers get excused , you really have to know someone or kiss up to have any success at this school. Admin needed to leave long ago. Middle school offers nothing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

I am a former student who is currently a junior at the University of Florida. I was accepted to many prestigious institutions and I point all of my successes back to Leewood. I was academically challenged and my classmates around me would agree. I have a hand full of friends from elementary school, some attend Ivy leagues, others attend top schools throughout the country and we all promote Leewood as one of the best schools in the state. All of us are successful because of the overall experience we had from field days, to extension, to awards. Of course it can be improved but if I ever have kids I would want them to attend a school just like Leewood Elementary


Posted November 10, 2012

my child attends leewood and the ptsa is very active but quite frankly it is a tight group of parents that are stay at home moms and never have meetings in the evenings so there fore the group is limited, and very clicky. those parents kids are the ones that get preferential treatment. secondly i am not sure if the teachers are burned out because the district or school administration demands much from them that limits them to the basic of TEACHING. If your child struggles then like most comments those kids are punished and sort of ignored and parents are the ones that have to find alternatives. In order for a parent-teacher conference it is ONLY done at one hour of the day so if you work you will have to leave work early or late with very little compromise. Love the coach he is probably the most caring and enthusiastic individual there. I love the area love the small school feeling and I know it has a good reputation however I would like to see better teacher-parent interaction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2012

I was a student at Leewood a few years ago, and for my siblings and I, it was the worst experience. All of us were bullied, and despite our parents attempts to resolve these issues, the school treated my parents as if they were crazy to be upset in a school with such high marks. I can count on one hand the teachers that truly cared. I struggled academically while there; I was constantly punished for this, and made to feel inadequate in front of the class. My parents were also never notified of my struggles until report cards were issued. I never had conduct problems, and I was raised to be respectful, yet I never felt respected. I left Leewood with a low self-esteem, thinking I would never do well inschool. My parents moved my siblings and I into a private school for two years, and my life turned around completely. I graduated from a public high-school in the top 4% of my class, I was president of a club, captain of a sports team, and involved in student government. I received a full-ride to an Ivy-league school in upstate NY, as well. I know many who have found success there, but such was not the case for me, it almost destroyed my dreams.


Posted October 1, 2012

I have to agree with a previous review posted August, 2012...School focuses to much on academics. My son loved school when he started, and hates it now, and we're only 6 weeks into the year. I don't want my son hating school considering he just started. I find they're academically too demanding, they will hold the child back from recess if they haven't completed they're classwork, and I feel for the younger population of kids play is still a very important factor in development. I'm considering a transfer out.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
100%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

93 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

55 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 65%
White 22%
Black 11%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 14%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%58%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 6%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10343 Southwest 124th Street
Miami, FL 33176
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 233-7430

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT