Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Miami Heights Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1180 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 10, 2014

My 2 sons went to this school for Kindergarten and Pre-K. What a horrible experience to see the beyond dirty cafeteria floors and classrooms. It's to be expected the kids would get sick in this environment. My older son skipped by (barely) with a teacher who couldn't control the classroom and my younger son who is autistic was completely neglected and ignored. Being autistic is difficult enough and sending him to a program that is "specialized" for these kind of kids should be comforting but it was torture to know that my son would come home starving and with a dirty diaper. EVERY picture taken at that school is showing my son with a dirty face. I would NEVER recommend this school. All complaints and not very much was good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2013

Mis dos hijos fueron a esta escuela y nunca tuve problemas la escuela es buena y los maestro tambien todo depende de la preocupacion de los padres y del estudiante ,tengo muy lindos y gratos recuerdos los maestros de experiencia la gran parte de ellos tienen muchos a os en la escuela a todos gracias.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2011

My 4 year old daughter, who was supposed to start her first day of Pre-K today, walked out of the classroom this morning and the TWO teachers that are assigned to that class had no idea where she was or what had happened. Needless to say, I have signed my child out of that school and will be sending her to a private preschool. What got me heated to a boiling point was the lack of concern on their part, they had no clue of what was happening and acted as if I was over reacting. I'm sure they would OVER REACT if their child had disappeared and the people that were entrusted to care for her had no idea where she was too. The principal is about as clueless as the teachers, showed no concern at all, the only thing he could tell us was that there is only 1 security guard, who was chatting with some other guys instead of watching the hallways, etc. I am just disgusted with the entire school, they are a disgrace.......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2011

My child has been there 1 year, and really i just don't see the learning! everything my child knows is because her parents teaches her, the teachers are lazy, there are no extra-curricular activities. i would like to join the PTA but for some reason i have no motivevation! And the new principle has NO idea!!! can't wait to get my child from there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2010

I attended this school from 3rd to 5th grade, i completed 5th grade in 2004. I left that school completely unprepared academically for the magnet middle school i attended [Ammons]. I had excellent grades in their Gifted program, and i recall never doing any work in that school. I would relax for hours, which is probably the cause for my poor math abilities now that i am a Senior at Coral Reef. I also never felt right in that school. Very negative impression on me as a child. I hated this elementary school and would never send a child to it. Even after all these years, it haunts me.


Posted June 20, 2009

my daughter is in this school since 3rd grade she is now in gifted and got every question on the science fcat correct this school is a very good school and the teachers are extremely nice
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2008

My child has been in the School since PRE-K. Back then, it was great. He is now in the second grade. All I can say, if you have a child with special needs, this is not the right school. The ESE teacher is excellent, but the administration including the Principal, lack exprience, and they do not back up their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2007

I love this school, specially Mrs Ortiz.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

love the School and staff specialy Mrs. Lopes from K-5
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2007

This USED TO BE an 'A' school! Don't know what went wrong, but now my kids are being given the choice to switch to a better school thanks to No Child Left Behind. Mind you, the school recently underwent a principal change (for the better, I believe), but his tenure at this school is way too short to evaluate further. With that said, the school is still REALLY lacking parental involvement - the PTA is not strong AT ALL. There are NO extra-curricular activities, the new building's 1st floor smells like a toilet, no motivation for students to achieve higher standards, no organization, inadequate parent parking/pick-up/drop-off area...this school leaves much to be desired, stemming from administrators down to security personnel. Needless to say, I am beyond disappointed in this school and will be moving my kids OUT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

I think that school is excellent. All teacher are very friendly and have higher qualification. They are very exigent with the homework and discipline. I'm very pleaser with this school.Thank for all the teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2005

Good School, consecutive A in FCAT. My son went here from K5 to Fifth Grade. No major complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

Like the idea that same grades, even though in different classrooms are visiting the same topics at the same time during the year. Very good after school care program.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 20, 2005

They are an A+ school ans they have an excellent after scholl program with the YMCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

Miami Heights offers art and music starting at the pre k level. There is a PTA, but there isn't that big push to get greater parent involvement. More music concerts or art fairs would help in that area. The gifted program in my opinion does not challenge my child enough..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2004

My son has attended this school since Kinder, now he is on 5th grade. I have see the improvement on this school has with in the last 6 years. I thought the remodeling was going to be done for this year, unfortunally is not, this will bring a big plus to the school when it gets done. Great leadership from Ms. Coffey as well as Ms. Aballe, previous principal, together as a team they made this school a big A school. This school also have great teachers as Ms. Agostini, Ms. French, Mr. Brown and Ms. Berdejas, just to mention a few of them. Great office personal, the staff is very helpfull and always looking out for the kids interest. I got to spend a few minutes in the office yesterday I was able to see how much they do care for the students as well as the safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2004

I Have my two kids at Miami Heights Elementary since kinder. My oldest one is now in 3rd grade. For the past two years I have been seen lots of improvements on the level of education. I really want to say that the hiring teacher s process is really good. My kid s teachers and I always work out together to benefits my kids; they are on top of my kids and not all the teachers does that. I'm very happy with Mrs. Robotham which is a great teacher she is doing her Master in reading and that is a big help for all the students in her class. Congratulations!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2004

Old, unkept school, classrooms too crowded, Afterschool activities poor, Disciplinary regulations for attendance not enforced, After School program poor, no security, no constructive activities. Parent/Teacher comunication not fostered. ESE program poor, aside from a few good teachers, most look like they don't care about the student and no motivation. School need to improve on nutrition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2003

Three children attended your school at some point. My 10 year old is there now. He's struggling a little bit. You have improved so much since the oldest two has moved on. Keep it up. Some parents still have hope.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2003

Old, unkept school, classrooms too crowded, Afterschool activities poor, Disciplinary regulations for attendance not enforced, After School program poor, no security, no constructive activities. Parent/Teacher comunication not fostered.ESE program poor, aside from a few good teachers, most look like they don't care about the student and no motivation.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

164 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

164 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

172 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

172 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

179 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

179 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

178 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

179 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 86%
Black 11%
White 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 40%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%58%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JORGE A RIVAS
Fax number
  • (305) 233-0991

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17661 Southwest 117th Avenue
Miami, FL 33177
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 238-3602

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT