Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Miami Children's Museum Charter School

Charter | PK-5 | 302 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 2, 2013

There is a sense of family that is undeniable. You feel your children are in a safe and happy environment. Teachers and staff care for each student individually. They help him/her succeed academically as well as emotionally. The students well being is their number one priority. If you want to pick up a happy child at dismissal send him/her to this school. Good luck :))
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

The good things are that everyone knows everyone, teachers and staff are easily accessible, it is a very safe school, no bullying, and the presence of a museum. Drawbacks: no coherent vision for teaching math and science 3rd grade onwards, teaching is very haphazard, no interest in particpating in miami dade school science fair. Kids sometimes get their recess taken off, which means no physical activity for those events. Classes can be freezing with teachers unresponsive if a child feels cold, and not being allowed to wear sweaters that are not emblazoned wth school logo. Cold lunch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2013

This is an amazing school, the teachers and administration are great. My child loves his school and teachers. There is no problem of overcrowding, my child gets the attention he deserves and needs. This school has the feeling of a small school that is very close.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2011

Three years ago the school may have been good, but right now its over crowded and very disorganized. They do not have a proper lunch hall and the playground is small. Additionally, they may be located in a museum but the kids at the charter school get limited access to explore the museum. Overall, its not a school I would recommend. Note, your local public school at least has to adhere to state guidelines on student teacher ratios, charters schools do not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2011

Excellent teachers, but the classrooms are too crowded! If your child needs extra attention do not put him in this charter school because he will not get the attention he deserves. Overall it is a good school, but each year it gets worse because they accept more students than they have room for. I've noticed that some of the staff often gossip about other faculty members which is very unprofessional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2011

School remains overcrowded, and because its a charter school it does not adhere to the kinder through 3rd grade, 18 children standards that public schools in miami dade county are supposed to. They do not have a cafeteria, the playground is small, and the children at the school have limited access to the museum. Its a shame because the school could have the potential to improve but they are growing beyond their capacity and that of their administration's capacity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

It is such a warm,nurturing environment. The children are all so happy and they love to go to school everyday. The teachers embrace each child as their own and make learning fun. I think it is a jewel in the public school system here in Miami.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My son has been going here for the past two years and it is a fabulous school; since it is housed in the museum there are many opportunities to incorporate hands-on activities into daily lessons. The principal and teachers truly care about each child and challenge them each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2009

I have some problems with my son and the staff help me so much to handle it. We will more happy if they develop a giffted child program and a phicological aid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2009

My son is in Ms Adriana Perez's class. She is a great teacher, very creative and willing to listen to parents and work with students. I am very happy that my son is in her class. The school is good, but has some issues which it needs to resolve if it really wants to emerge as a fanstastic school of Miami. It has too many students in one class. My son's desk has 5 students. They should not admit so many students, or should add more sections.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2009

My son is in Ms. Nadia class and we could not be happier! She is an excellent teacher and cares so much for her students. The entire staff at the school is professional. They strive for every childs well being. We are very happy and will work hard for the school to expand as it should by contract to the 5th grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2009

I wish the school followed the Reggio Emilia methods like their pre=school. Unfortunately it follows the public school system which does not honor creativity the way I hoped it would. In comparison to all other options in the area this is a great school, but I feel we might have to leave state in order find a true educational adventure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2008

My daughter loves being a student here. Ms Mabel is a fantastic teacher and the school has a great atmosphere. Classes are small and the children are trully valued. My only criticism is that the administrators are not great communicators. Often volunteer oportunities are not followed up upon and promised emails have a way of not arriving. You have to be extremely proactive. That's tough for a working, single mom. If they added a member of staff that was more organized about administrative tasks this school would be nirvana. All in all, my daughter is happy and loved and learning by leaps and bounds. This school has been a very positive experience and I will have real difficulty finding something after 2nd grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

i have my son in firts grade. well rounded education with activities for each subject. I also agree with the others parents it will be hard to find another school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2008

I have my daugther in this school for the last two years,and now it`s time to move her.but it`s so hard to find a new school after this great place.Juliet mom
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2006

Well rounded education with 'hands on' activities for each subject. My child attended this school for two years. I was very happy throughout. **Need more parent support/participation!!**
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2006

I am a proud parent of a 5 year old who attends MiChiMu Charter School. The attention and detailed work of the teachers, the one-on-one style of educating, the intimate, well-roundedness of the educators is every parent's dream. That dream comes true when your child attends this unique charter school. The school has an extraordinary advantage because it is housed inside the Miami Children's Museum. The cultural, hands-on experience they receive is insurmountable. Although the school is primary (only up to 2nd gr.), the years they attend this school will prepare them well for a bright future.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

44 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2010-2011.
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2009-2010.
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 62% 29%
White 26% 42%
Black 10% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%58%61%
Master's degree 27%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

980 MacArthur Cswy
Miami, FL 33132
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 329-3758

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT