Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Palmetto Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 624 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

THIS IS AN AWESOME SCHOOL. My children are involved with the many drama and arts programs including band and chorus. The school also offers orchestra and cheerleading. We are very happy with the PTA and its involvement in supplementing the programs and teachers. The teachers are also very dedicated and the principal has been a good leader. The school is focused on reading and the joy of the kids who go over the Rainbow, or who have perfect attendance or birthdays is tremendous. It is a community school and we have never wanted to go to the other school close by that has a "higher" rating. This school is smaller and we believe better than other schools, especially since the kids in the school are also in the community. My children have made lots of friends and are involved in many activities after-school as well. There is a sense of working together and we really appreciate the school and its administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2014

This is a great school, teachers are very dedicated and all staff is involved with the parents and community. My 4 kids have attended PES and we are very happy with their academic and school environment experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

Great school! The PTA/parental involvement is phenomenal. My children are both happy here which is most important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

Our first grade teacher was great! we are looking forward to the gifted program for second grade. I was able to meet with a few teacher from second to fifth grade and the are great teachers. As for the principal, He need to be more involve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2012

The academic program is good. Lots of parental involvement which leads to better students. I am very pleased with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

I just withdrew my son from this school. along with 2 more kids in his class. Palmetto is great if you get the "right" teacher. We unfortunately did not. we left to another school after being in Palmetto for 2 yrs it was sad to leave but we had to. it was getting to stressful. The teachers we had for 1 and 2nd grade were not good teachers and the next teacher didn't care to teach so we left and 2 kids followed suit. no one listened to us teacher, principal no one. Good luck to all of you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2012

My daughter attends the ESE Program at Palmetto Elementary as she suffers from hyperactivity. As such, I expected the teachers and staff to care for the well being and safety of the students in the program. However, my daughter has been bullied by classmates (both verbally and physically). I have complained numerous times but instead of dealing with the situation, the school has turned a blind eye and the bullying continues. The issue has gotten to the point where my daughter had to verbally defend herself from her attackers and she was written up for her actions (But her attackers were not). The staff needs to do a much better job in making sure the students (especially in the ESE Program), are under control. As a parent, I am fearful for the well being of my daughter. I cannot comment on the regular school and attention provided by teachers and staff members, but as it relates to the ESE Program the school gets a failing grade from this parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

The dedicated teachers are great, the kids are taught to love to learn and parents are involved, what more do you want?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

Palmetto Elementary has a terrific group of teachers who work together to ensure that our kids consistently perform above standards. I am amazed at their passion and how many of them are always trying to improve the learning experience for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

Parents are very involved in their kids lives as well as the activities in the school. This makes all the difference in the world
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

I love Palmetto because of the dedication that the teachers have for student learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2009

If your child is within the ASD & moving from Special Ed.& into a Gen Ed class this is not the school, they lack specialized teachers who know how to deal with any type of autism spectrum disorders they are ok on the other disabilities only because they are visible & kids can see the difference not the same within the autism spectrum disorder, since they are just as any other kid, except for minor issues. Parents play a big role here, always donating time & supplies as well as collecting funds for the school. Office personnel aren't friendly. Security is excellent. Academics are ok. The Spanish class is too crowded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

I have two children in the VPK program at Palmetto Elementary, and am very impressed with everyone I have met there. Their teacher is awesome, and the children love to go to school. The other kids are great, and the parents are wonderful. All of the staff members at the school have been great to work with. We have absolutely no complaints, and look forward to staying there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2008

Good school, my son has been there for 3 years now
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

This is my son's second year attending Palmetto Elementary School. I could not be happier. He has had the best teachers ever imaginable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

Love it...wow Parent involvement is very good and the teacher experience is excellent. I'm very proud to have my son in this school. The safety is excellent. Now my son enjoy to go to school and is having fun learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2006

I had 2 children at leewood. the process of learning was stressed by the princple and staff. in the early years my children were taught how to learn. the early training has made it much easier for the kids to continue that process, of learning, throughout their path of higher education. music and art were part of all 6 years of the kids learning at school. their was also foreign languages and of course recess which was more organized excersice with a bit of free play throw in. parent involvement was extremely high and their were many fundraising programs to aid the kids learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2006

Every year I think my daughter has the best teacher she can possibly get, and then a new year starts and she gets an even better one. The tremendous parent involvement really allows for the school growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2006

Just one parent's viewpoint - underwhelming. Palmetto has coasted on a good reputation for several years but may not live up to its own public relations. Students expected to learn and have fun, definitely a good neighborhood school if you live down the street, but it 'aspires to mediocrity' to borrow a term the media has recently used when critiquing public schools. Expectations are not very high, weak enforcement of rules. Children are not required to wear a school uniform (although the school has a mandatory uniform policy which allows for many different options) - what does this teach students? Certainly it's an above average school for Miami and Florida. I attribute this to affluence of the neighborhood and families rather than school excellence. It's not hard to be an A-rated school with affluent involved parents and few underprivileged or minority students. Plus most have attended preschool and have head start.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Thank you for bringing out the best in my child by giving him the encouragement and confidence he need to go out into the world.'The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child'.This school has been the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

99 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 43% 29%
White 40% 42%
Black 10% 23%
Asian 7% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 54%58%61%
Master's degree 46%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Eric Torress
Fax number
  • (305) 254-7774

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12401 SW 74th Ave
Miami, FL 33156
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 238-4306

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






La Scuola
Miami, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT