Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Miami, FL
Students enrolled: 623
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


34 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Palmetto Elementary School 2

Posted September 16, 2014
- a parent
We transferred to Palmetto from a private school in our old neighborhood because of the reputation. Yes, parents seem to be involved but that is about it. We originally thought the school was disorganized and that communication was poor. We thought to give it a chance but yesterdays open house was a disaster. Teachers had zero preparation, did not know the curriculum, communicated nothing about our children, are not trained in classroom technology and did not know the room mom's name (who seems to be the only good thing) and made sarcastic remarks about programs encouraging parent involvement during lunch and boy do we miss recess. Yes, we are disappointed. We hope to see improvements as the school year evolves but are not ruling out a change of school for next year. On a positive note, our child enjoys this school.

Palmetto Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
THIS IS AN AWESOME SCHOOL. My children are involved with the many drama and arts programs including band and chorus. The school also offers orchestra and cheerleading. We are very happy with the PTA and its involvement in supplementing the programs and teachers. The teachers are also very dedicated and the principal has been a good leader. The school is focused on reading and the joy of the kids who go over the Rainbow, or who have perfect attendance or birthdays is tremendous. It is a community school and we have never wanted to go to the other school close by that has a "higher" rating. This school is smaller and we believe better than other schools, especially since the kids in the school are also in the community. My children have made lots of friends and are involved in many activities after-school as well. There is a sense of working together and we really appreciate the school and its administration.


Palmetto Elementary School 5

Posted March 05, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school, teachers are very dedicated and all staff is involved with the parents and community. My 4 kids have attended PES and we are very happy with their academic and school environment experience.

Palmetto Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
Great school! The PTA/parental involvement is phenomenal. My children are both happy here which is most important.

Palmetto Elementary School 4

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
Our first grade teacher was great! we are looking forward to the gifted program for second grade. I was able to meet with a few teacher from second to fifth grade and the are great teachers. As for the principal, He need to be more involve.


Palmetto Elementary School 4

Posted December 18, 2012
- a parent
The academic program is good. Lots of parental involvement which leads to better students. I am very pleased with this school.

Palmetto Elementary School 1

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
I just withdrew my son from this school. along with 2 more kids in his class. Palmetto is great if you get the "right" teacher. We unfortunately did not. we left to another school after being in Palmetto for 2 yrs it was sad to leave but we had to. it was getting to stressful. The teachers we had for 1 and 2nd grade were not good teachers and the next teacher didn't care to teach so we left and 2 kids followed suit. no one listened to us teacher, principal no one. Good luck to all of you.

Palmetto Elementary School 1

Posted February 21, 2012
- a parent
My daughter attends the ESE Program at Palmetto Elementary as she suffers from hyperactivity. As such, I expected the teachers and staff to care for the well being and safety of the students in the program. However, my daughter has been bullied by classmates (both verbally and physically). I have complained numerous times but instead of dealing with the situation, the school has turned a blind eye and the bullying continues. The issue has gotten to the point where my daughter had to verbally defend herself from her attackers and she was written up for her actions (But her attackers were not). The staff needs to do a much better job in making sure the students (especially in the ESE Program), are under control. As a parent, I am fearful for the well being of my daughter. I cannot comment on the regular school and attention provided by teachers and staff members, but as it relates to the ESE Program the school gets a failing grade from this parent.


Palmetto Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 01, 2010
- a parent
The dedicated teachers are great, the kids are taught to love to learn and parents are involved, what more do you want?

Palmetto Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 28, 2010
- a parent
Palmetto Elementary has a terrific group of teachers who work together to ensure that our kids consistently perform above standards. I am amazed at their passion and how many of them are always trying to improve the learning experience for our children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Palmetto Elementary School
12401 Southwest 74th Avenue, Miami, FL  33156
(305) 238-4306
Last modified Palmetto Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Palmetto Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top