Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Gulliver Academy

Private | PK-8 | 2200 students

World-Class Education with a Personal Touch.

 
 

Living in Miami

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $381,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2014

My daughter is currently in grade 6, and she has received an excellent education at Gulliver since kindergarten. As a busy educator myself, I can honestly say that the dedication of the faculty, staff, and community of parents makes a big difference. The curriculum integrates traditional methodology with evidence-based innovation and succeeds in nurturing intellectual and physical development. This success is not only observed subjectively, but is demonstrated through yearly standardized testing. Yes, the school is expensive, but the sacrifice has been worth it in the long run, and parental involvement is still key in any educational setting. I can understand how parents feel that the school's size makes it somewhat impersonal, but the diversity of the large student body generally reflects the environment of today's workplace. In our experience, the school is respectful of racial, ethnic, and religious diversity and also encourages socioeconomic diversity through scholarships. Parents do need to work on building a stronger parent community, and I have seen some parents taking the initiative on this weakness. Overall, though, the school has been a wonderful place for our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2014

The administration only cares about the money, tuition is high plus they are always asking for donations and more donations. They are a non-for profit but being run as a for profit. Please ask the FL Dept of Revenue for their latest 501.3C filling and you will see how much profit they make every year by preying on the "rich" parents. Some of the teachers are great but not all of them. Teachers and Staff are underpaid and some are very unhappy. The leadership is poor at best. Not worth the 20-30 k/yr that they charge in tuition. Will NOT recommend. Look somewhere else if you believe in private education. This school is overrated!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2010

One of the only private schools in Miami that we found that believes not only in the importance of academics but also in the importance of outdoor play and exercise DAILY . Strong Science programs. Very good at identifying strengths in your child and encouraging them as well as identifying any potential difficulties and working on those as well. Wonderful school that goes all the way up to 12th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2009

i've gone to gulliver for more then 7 years. I love it!! all the kid's there the facilities and all my friends. they do not label you by how you look, what phone you have, what car you have, or anything. they judge you by how you are, if your nice. I love it though its an amazing school its worth paying that much. Ransom, not so much i have a friend that goes there and she want to switch back here. Its amazing!! i love it so much, all the sports, teachers, friends, the different campuses. its amazing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2009

Love the school ! It is very educational and committed towards their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

My son is new to the school and I have been so impressed by the faculty, facilites, students, but mostly very impressed by the parents of these children. Worth every penny!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2008

Great School! Has had issues with teacher turnover and some comment why - wake up it is very expensive to live in Miami. As a whole Miami is going to experience a change in education because of these things. Have 4 children there and they have all done great in many different areas - academically, leadership, and in sports. Some that comment about parents just driving through - where are you at the Parent Board Meetings?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

This school is not worth the money. They can not hold on to good teachers. The school is going down hill fast. The parents must educate the children at home. Public school is better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2008

this school is expensive. let me tell you that. but you know what? its actually worth it. it will make a difference in youre childs interests in school and it will also give them a heads up for later life. my five children go there and they love it. except my 3rd child, who thinks the school is old. but the advantage is that they have bathrooms in every classroom and the amt of kids in one class is small. and since both my husband and i work till 5:30 weekdays, the extracurricular activities for my five children is great. expensive, but worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

ive beeen a student at gulliver for almost 7 years i love this school the rooms are big we learn lots of stuff the teachers are amazing and help you with everythig sure its expensive and its hard to get in to but i think its worth the money going to a aschool like this opens oppurtinities for you when you grow up many famous people graduated from gulliver
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 26, 2007

I think this school is amazing in all catagories, especially in saftey and discipline because saftey is taken extremley seriously there. It may be expensive, but it's worth it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2007

Tuition is very expensive! Teachers will very easily label a child when he or she is not meeting their expectations! School facility is old and deteriorating. Parents are not involved unless it has to do with giving money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2007

Our daughter is in the early elementary years. She just completed her second year at Gulliver. We are thrilled with the school and the personal attention our daughter receives in terms of academic and social development. The environment is extremely supportive for the kids, and almost all the kids I see at the school love being there. The after-school programs are superb and offer a wide array activities such as swimming, dance, music, art, sports. The facilities are excellent for these grade levels, from the sports complex to bathrooms in each classroom. Tuition is pricey but worth every dollar.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2006

Postives: small class sizes in smallish classrooms with lots of well-to-do clever kids, 'homey' old-fashioned feel with small classrooms in grouping of modular 1 story buildings. Negatives: mostly young 'fresh out of school' teachers, lack of indoor gym or auditorium, little sense of community with parents never venturing out of their motor-running SUV's, and high tuition (more than $20G!). Where does all that money go...?
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Medical
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Medical
Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
  • Multi-aged
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Business
  • Engineering
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Medical
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Special education
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Equestrian
  • Fencing
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Sailing
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Equestrian
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12595 Red Road
Miami, FL 33156
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 665-3593

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Gulliver Academy
Coral Gables, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT