Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
2,200 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Gulliver Academy 2

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
Overpriced for what you get. Teachers are not at the level of other private schools, which require them to have a master degree. Not impressed with middle school teachers in general. As a parent you are not welcome, nor expected to ask questions, but you are expected to make donations on top of the expensive tuition that goes up every year. Do not recommend!

Gulliver Academy 5

Posted August 29, 2015
- a parent
Very happy with this school. This is our second year in Gulliver and we are impressed with our child progress


Gulliver Academy 5

Posted May 05, 2015
- a parent
Yes it is expensive, but worth every dollar. My child is happy and loves to go to school. I am always impressed by the information she is exposed to. Great choice in picking Gulliver.

Gulliver Academy 3

Posted November 11, 2014
- a community member
Good, but not excellent. school for the snobby rich kids who didn't get accepted into Ransom. Not worth the high priced tuition.

Gulliver Academy 5

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is currently in grade 6, and she has received an excellent education at Gulliver since kindergarten. As a busy educator myself, I can honestly say that the dedication of the faculty, staff, and community of parents makes a big difference. The curriculum integrates traditional methodology with evidence-based innovation and succeeds in nurturing intellectual and physical development. This success is not only observed subjectively, but is demonstrated through yearly standardized testing. Yes, the school is expensive, but the sacrifice has been worth it in the long run, and parental involvement is still key in any educational setting. I can understand how parents feel that the school's size makes it somewhat impersonal, but the diversity of the large student body generally reflects the environment of today's workplace. In our experience, the school is respectful of racial, ethnic, and religious diversity and also encourages socioeconomic diversity through scholarships. Parents do need to work on building a stronger parent community, and I have seen some parents taking the initiative on this weakness. Overall, though, the school has been a wonderful place for our child.


Gulliver Academy 1

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
The administration only cares about the money, tuition is high plus they are always asking for donations and more donations. They are a non-for profit but being run as a for profit. Please ask the FL Dept of Revenue for their latest 501.3C filling and you will see how much profit they make every year by preying on the "rich" parents. Some of the teachers are great but not all of them. Teachers and Staff are underpaid and some are very unhappy. The leadership is poor at best. Not worth the 20-30 k/yr that they charge in tuition. Will NOT recommend. Look somewhere else if you believe in private education. This school is overrated!!!

Gulliver Academy 5

Posted September 12, 2010
- a parent
One of the only private schools in Miami that we found that believes not only in the importance of academics but also in the importance of outdoor play and exercise DAILY . Strong Science programs. Very good at identifying strengths in your child and encouraging them as well as identifying any potential difficulties and working on those as well. Wonderful school that goes all the way up to 12th grade.

Gulliver Academy
no rating

Posted December 13, 2009
- a student
i've gone to gulliver for more then 7 years. I love it!! all the kid's there the facilities and all my friends. they do not label you by how you look, what phone you have, what car you have, or anything. they judge you by how you are, if your nice. I love it though its an amazing school its worth paying that much. Ransom, not so much i have a friend that goes there and she want to switch back here. Its amazing!! i love it so much, all the sports, teachers, friends, the different campuses. its amazing.


Gulliver Academy 5

Posted November 01, 2009
- a parent
Love the school ! It is very educational and committed towards their students.

Gulliver Academy
no rating

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
My son is new to the school and I have been so impressed by the faculty, facilites, students, but mostly very impressed by the parents of these children. Worth every penny!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gulliver Academy
12595 Red Road, Miami, FL  33156
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (305) 665-3593
Last modified Gulliver Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top