Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Miami, FL
Students enrolled: 2,200
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Gulliver Academy 3

Posted November 11, 2014
- a community member
Good, but not excellent. school for the snobby rich kids who didn't get accepted into Ransom. Not worth the high priced tuition.
1 person found this helpful

Gulliver Academy 5

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is currently in grade 6, and she has received an excellent education at Gulliver since kindergarten. As a busy educator myself, I can honestly say that the dedication of the faculty, staff, and community of parents makes a big difference. The curriculum integrates traditional methodology with evidence-based innovation and succeeds in nurturing intellectual and physical development. This success is not only observed subjectively, but is demonstrated through yearly standardized testing. Yes, the school is expensive, but the sacrifice has been worth it in the long run, and parental involvement is still key in any educational setting. I can understand how parents feel that the school's size makes it somewhat impersonal, but the diversity of the large student body generally reflects the environment of today's workplace. In our experience, the school is respectful of racial, ethnic, and religious diversity and also encourages socioeconomic diversity through scholarships. Parents do need to work on building a stronger parent community, and I have seen some parents taking the initiative on this weakness. Overall, though, the school has been a wonderful place for our child.


Gulliver Academy 1

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
The administration only cares about the money, tuition is high plus they are always asking for donations and more donations. They are a non-for profit but being run as a for profit. Please ask the FL Dept of Revenue for their latest 501.3C filling and you will see how much profit they make every year by preying on the "rich" parents. Some of the teachers are great but not all of them. Teachers and Staff are underpaid and some are very unhappy. The leadership is poor at best. Not worth the 20-30 k/yr that they charge in tuition. Will NOT recommend. Look somewhere else if you believe in private education. This school is overrated!!!
1 person found this helpful

Gulliver Academy 5

Posted September 12, 2010
- a parent
One of the only private schools in Miami that we found that believes not only in the importance of academics but also in the importance of outdoor play and exercise DAILY . Strong Science programs. Very good at identifying strengths in your child and encouraging them as well as identifying any potential difficulties and working on those as well. Wonderful school that goes all the way up to 12th grade.

Gulliver Academy 5

Posted March 06, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Gulliver Academy 0
no rating

Posted December 13, 2009
- a student
i've gone to gulliver for more then 7 years. I love it!! all the kid's there the facilities and all my friends. they do not label you by how you look, what phone you have, what car you have, or anything. they judge you by how you are, if your nice. I love it though its an amazing school its worth paying that much. Ransom, not so much i have a friend that goes there and she want to switch back here. Its amazing!! i love it so much, all the sports, teachers, friends, the different campuses. its amazing.

Gulliver Academy 5

Posted November 01, 2009
- a parent
Love the school ! It is very educational and committed towards their students.

Gulliver Academy 0
no rating

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
My son is new to the school and I have been so impressed by the faculty, facilites, students, but mostly very impressed by the parents of these children. Worth every penny!!


Gulliver Academy 5

Posted March 31, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Gulliver Academy 1

Posted March 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gulliver Academy
12595 Red Road, Miami, FL  33156
(305) 665-3593
Last modified Gulliver Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Gulliver Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top