Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pinecrest Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1043 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 21, 2014

During the last 5 years I have had my kids at Pinecrest. I have a son in gifted and a daughter who is not. I am not surprised reading some of these negative reviews. I have heard several parents complain. One because the school bus would not pick up her child, even though she lived only 6 blocks away. But the Dade County policy is you must live at least a mile away. The parent didn't care and made a fuss. I heard another parent complain that she never got "good" assignments from the PTA but then she never attended meetings? Another complained the cafeteria should have vending machines with soda and snacks. But I guess even Pinecrest has its share of nuts who don't appreciate how wonderful Pinecrest is. How involved the parents are. How caring the Principal and her staff are. I am glad I moved to Pinecrest for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2014

Someone really needs to pick up all the trash on campus. Not using the opportunity to teach respect for the environment is a shame. With so many children on campus I am surprised such an easy project is being missed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2014

This school just gets worse as you go up in grade level. The school is way to large for an elementary school. It is NEVER secured (gates open, classrooms exposed, bullying is prevalent (including by teachers!!) and the administration is superficially involved. Parents are so afraid to rock the boat that no one brings up difficult issues. Yes, parents are involved (every day brings another solicitation for money) but it is only to raise money. I bought a house assigned to the school (not an inexpensive decision!) and am so disappointed with the school that we are moving!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

Rudest staff and administration I've met in my life. I've seen them speak rudely & impatiently to parents on multiple occasions in the office. The only reason they have a high rating, is because of the large population of kids that attend the school, who are high achievers, because of the upbringing, and education received from their families. Parents who are part of the PTA run the school, 90% of the kids are "gifted".... draw your own conclusion.


Posted September 27, 2013

My son started Kindergarten this year and he is with Ms. Williams. I cannot begin to say how amazing this school is. The attention the children receive is exceptional. The administration is on top of everything and take the safety of the children seriously. I am extremely blessed for our son to be able to attend Pinecrest Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

It is a wonderful school with great teachers and academics. The only downside that I see is that they do not offer a Spanish curriculum based program . It would have great potential. I love the teachers and most of the staff. PTA is super involved and that is what makes the school so great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

This school is BAD for those who are not gifted. It seems ridiculous that half of this school is gifted. Statistically speaking, this is an impossible thing. It is not normal. This means that half the school should be getting 6 on their written FCAT and 5 on the math/reading. Because if you are truly gifted, then should not this be what the scores should look like? Gifted at Pinecrest today is no where near what gifted used to be or is supposed to be compared to other states.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2013

Unless you are in the gifted program, your kids are ignored. Teachers dont do anything about bullying.


Posted February 17, 2013

We moved to Pinecrest because of the school district and have been very disappointed. The school is enormous and lunch time is basically survival of the fittest. They have very little supervision. My son had his lunchbox stolen twice and each time I visit him I have to lecture his classmates on why they should not take other children's lunches. Another concerning incident was my son marked absent, when was actually in class. They also managed to loose my contact card when I filled it out 3 times. The only positive experience I have had was last years teacher. Hopefully things improve or I may have to opt for private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2012

The quality of the academic program is good. Lots of parental involvement and the attention for the children is almost personalized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2012

I transferred both of me boys from private school when I moved to the Pinecrest area 4 years ago. I have had a amazing experience at this school. The PTA is very involved and parents are encouraged to be involved as well. One of my boys is currently in the gifted program and the other is not and I must say I am equally impressed with both programs. There will always be a teacher, regardless of the school, which might not be up to your standards but the majority are great and really take pride in their jobs. Referring to the other comment on this board, smart boards are the wave of the future. They are an amazing tool that will capture your child's attention, which we all know is very difficult now a days when dry erase boards are competing with computers, kindles, iPads, iPhone etc. I personally went to a demonstration held in the library and thought they were pretty amazing! All in all I think Pinecrest elementary is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2011

I know lots of other mothers of Pinecrest students who are considering magnet programs for their children because the school isn't well run or effective. Yes, there are some excellent teachers here from the old days, but so many of the other teachers are just average. The gifted program is huge and, I'm sorry, there simply aren't that many gifted children in the population, so something funny is going on. The content seems to be additional homework, which the parent has to explain to the child. I's true what the previous reviewer said about the Spanish program. They draw pictures while the teachers are preoccupied with other things, like smoking. The PTA is buying smart boards for the classrooms so that teachers never have to come out from behind their computers. Hooray!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

Most of the reviews for this school are from 6 years ago, when Pinecrest Elementary was at the top. Yes, they now have a full time gifted program, but the gifted kids are separated from the "regular" kids. The PTA is inactive outside of the school, never advocating for improvements from the state or county. The Spanish teachers are absolutely ineffective. My daughter came home upset because two of the Spanish teachers were arguing during class. The music program has been the same for years. Nothing new, no encouraging kids to participate, except in the yearly plays where you will only get the good roles if you're a favorite. There is no stimulation in art class, each year, the same project. It's a stale school. Be prepared to donate, donate, donate or your child will be invisible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2011

This school does not have teachers prepared for inclusive programs. General Theachers have no knowledge and preparation of how to work with children with special needs in their classroom. This are times that all educators should be updated with trainning and have hight expectations on their students to help them succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

My children attend this school and I have been very happy with the quality of the school and the teachers (particularly given the price). While parental involvement is substantial, many of the teachers are wonderful and dedicated and go above and beyond to help their students. They are transitioning to a full time gifted program in the next year. I am particularly thrilled with the tremendous cultural and ethnic diversity of the school. My children truly have the opportunity to mix with and learn from children of all nationalities, colors, religions, and cultures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

Now that the school class size is in the low 20's, this school is tops. Great teachers, Involvement by the parents who also provide lots of funding for extras makes this school the closest thing to a private school without the huge tuition payments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

My children just transferred to Pinecrest Elementary. So far I am impressed with the power of the PTA and the degree of parental involvement. The school is at the mercy of a large public school system and its rules. School funded activities are few. Its evident the enrichment and afterschool activities exist because the PTA runs them. Nonethless, academics is a priority and the curriculum is fair and tailored to each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2006

Pinecrest is an excellent public school. Although there are up to 30 kids in a class, the teachers are very good at managing the numbers and getting the job done. Alot of parent involvement and well behaved motivated kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

Quality of academic programs seems to be good. Good music program, standard art program and good extracurricular activities. Very good parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2006

While this is a well funded public school with a great reputation, I have been less than thrilled with the experiance my children have had. I like to refer to the principle as the warden. Her unwillingness to communicate with parents makes it very difficult to feel like you can really address any problems your children may be having. The loose parameters for the gifted program make Pincrest an ideal place for parents who believe thier own children to be genius. Over all I find it an average public school with a blown out of proportion ego and reputation.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

183 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 52% 29%
White 36% 42%
Asian 7% 3%
Black 3% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 50%58%61%
Master's degree 49%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10250 SW 57th Ave
Miami, FL 33156
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 667-5579

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Epiphany School
Miami, FL



Sunset Elementary School
South Miami, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT