Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rockway Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 442 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2013

I was a student here and I got to say Rockway is the best thing that ever happened to me. The faculty is so friendly. Make the right choice and choose Rockway. It was a big honor for me to be in such a great school. Teachers do their job very well and the staff is very nice. The security is very good there so you don't need to worry. Rockway changed me from lazy to gifted. Thank you Rockway!


Posted October 3, 2008

I've had my children attend elementary schools before, but this is definately my favorite, because I see how organized they are. They've even taught a lazy child to be interested and without hesitation he does his homework everyday, what great homework ethics he's learned and all thanks to Rockway Elementary's Teachers and Staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2008

Great School, great teachers, great staff. My daughter went to this school and my son is on his last year. It is really their home away from home. I feel so fortunate to have my children in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2006

My son and I love Rockway Elementary! The staff and teachers are very courteous and attentive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2004

This is my second review submitted for Rockway Elementary School. Excellent! My son is currently completing 1st grade and continues to excel tremendously. The administration and staff are great. We really need more PTA support. Parents play a huge role in the education of our children. The gifted program is also great. I am very happy with Rockway and look forward to the next 4 school years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2003

My oldest is at his last year here at Rockway. This has really been his home away from home. I am glad that he had a chance to attend such a great school. Both the teachers and staff are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My oldest daughter attends Rockway Elem. She just started first grade. Every night she goes into her room anbd picks up a book, I can hear her read it all. She takes a lot of pride in her school. The school is full of caring people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My son has attend to this school since Pre-k and now he is in 3rd grade,I am very satisfied and happy with this school. I totaly feel that the teachers and staff care for the childrens learning and there safety. I recommend this school to everyone. Rockway is a home away from home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2003

I have two children at Rockway Elementary School and they have done very well this school year. They both have excellent teachers, who really put forth a wonderful effort to ensure their academic success. I am very pleased with the education my children are receiving at Rockway.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

76 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 96% 29%
White 4% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Black 0% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 76%58%61%
Master's degree 15%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 6%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm and 2:0
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Debbie F Saumell
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Fax number
  • (305) 223-5794

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2790 SW 93rd Ct
Miami, FL 33165
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 221-1192

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT