Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mother Of Christ Catholic School

Private | PK-8

We are best known for academics & great environment.

 
 

Living in Miami

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $159,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2014

My daughter has attended Mother of Christ Catholic School since prek 4, she is now a first grader, she enjoys being in school, loves the teachers and wakes up excited to attend school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

mother of christ catholic school. My daughter has been in this school since first grade. She loves it. We are very satified with school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

Mother of Christ is a place where children can grow as a whole. The nourish every aspect of a child. The children in this school grow academically, spiritually and emotionally. The principal and vice- principal are hands on and they are very involved in every aspect of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2013

Great School - Advanced Math - one year ahead of most schools - Warm and caring staff - You can speak with Padre Angulo every time you need to - The Principal has a great open door policy - My kids love to go to school - Great experience - We are so happy we found this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2013

We have been "Blessed" to have found MOC eight years ago! As our son graduates this year and our daughter continues through middle school, we are grateful for the friends we have made throughout the years. They love it here, they never want to leave, they are "HAPPY"! That says it all! They have grown into Respectful, Loving and Caring individuals. To all our teachers, administration, staff, volunteers and Father Angulo for a great school community and a parish we call home! GOD BLESS MOTHER OF CHRIST CATHOLIC SCHOOL & CHURCH!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2012

Mother of Christ is a Fantastic school, my son attended from Kinder to 8th grade, The principal has an open door policy and you can come to her whenever you need to. From the principal to the vice-principal to the office staff & teachers they where all great. I do not have any complain with the school at all. My son flourished and grew by leaps and bounds, he felt safe, he felt loved, and he was always challenged academically, so much so, that it has been said that children who go from a Catholic school to a public magnet school, are not up to it academically, well my son is in his Freshman year and his first grading period, he got 4 A's and 2B's, of course it's like anything in life you have to work hard to keep up those grades. Father Angulo is one of my favorite priest and a great person, my son enjoyed his Religion class, and he learned a lot. As for the gossip, well you know how that goes, it has nothing to do with the school and everything to do with the parents. So Father Angulo, Ms. Rodriguez, Ms, De la Torre, & Ms Norta....and all the teachers that passed thru my sons life. Thank you so very, very much for everything!!!!!!God bless!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2012

I have 5 children, so those that know me and read this post, will know who this is. Between my 5, they have gone to all types of school from public, to non-denominational Christian to some very expensive Catholic schools. Can I say that I found the perfect school, no. I think each person has to choose a school that is right for their child and their family. There is place for improvement, as there is anywhere, the difference that I have found at M.O.C.C.S. is that my children like it there. They feel safe, they feel loved. They want to go to school. They enjoy learning, they are not rushed into learning just because they have to take the FCAT. Everything is in a smaller scale, so it's a lot more personalized. I see where they have built relationships that are going to last them for years to come while receiving a good education. I find that you can show up and speak to the administration without making an appointment, and when you call someone actually answers the phone instead of a phone system full of numbers that lead you to the point of leaving a message. I do not hesitate in recommending M.O.C.C.S. to my friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2011

We love MOC. Academically it is very strong in the lower grades, K-5th. A parent can not ask for a more loving environment for their children to learn and grow. The Teachers, Administration, and Office Staff truly care for the children. The spirituality that the children are gaining from this family environment is what my children most benefit from. It is a small school and the families have the opportunity to build real friendships.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2011

My daughter has been at MOC for many years, and I can see how academically she is above her cousins. Six months ago, I started with a divorce, and I approached the teacher to make sure to keep an eye on my daughter because I did not want her grades affected. Her teacher keeps me posted and even has the school counselor talking to her on a regular basis. Her coach has kept her focused on sports and feeling good about herself. The administration has helped me with a payment plan, and has given me information on how I can apply for future scholarships. All around, I am happily surprised on how they have shown how much they care for our family and I am extremely satisfied. God willing, I will be able to keep her there until she graduates from 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

How could a parent rate this school 5 stars? They must be oblivious to what is really going on. The adminstration is so bad that they cant even keep their teachers. They only care about $$$ not our children. Think twice before returning or regestering you child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2010

My son was in MOC and it was a traumatic experience!!! The administration is very bad and the teachers and assitants dont know who to deal with children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

Mother of Christ gives a well rounded education that incorporates, academics, sports and religion. Father Julio is a wonderful addition to the school and my 8th grader is growing spiritually. She is preparing for her confirmation and is looks foward to attending mass every Sunday. I am so greatful to our Lord Jesus Christ that she has the opportunity to be in a school where good morals, high academics and friendships are nurtured.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

Amazing how exparents can be so critical. Everyone is entitled to thier own opinion... I on the other hand am extremely grateful. As a parent we are always looking out for the best intrest of our children and this school not only looks out for your kids academically, emotionally and spiritually it also puts effort in keeping the family unitied. This school isn't only "A private school" it is a loving and humble community . I feel honored and proud to say my Children go to Mother Of Christ Catholic School and we BELONG to this marvelouse Parish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

THE BEST THING THAT EVER HAPPENED TO US!! My children and I have been blessed to have found Mother of Christ 9 years ago. During our time at this school my children have had amazing teachers who have gone well above and beyond to educate and nurture them emotionally and spiritually. The administration has always had an open door policy and has always addressed issues that has been brought to it's attention. The Principal until just this year was also a "parent" of the school and has always been extremely involved in the workings of her school ensuring that all of her teachers are giving her students 100% and nothing less. Mother of Christ is an great school with an exceptional group of teachers and an excellent administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2010

GREAT EXPERIENCE!!! My first year at this school. I couldn't be happier. I'm so happy I found this school I had almost given up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

This is the second year that my daughter attends this school and I have nothing but praise for Mother of Christ. Since she was in Prek-2, she was already being taught to know her numbers from 1-10 by distinguishing them (and she was only 2 at the time). The teachers take really good care of her and always provide me feedback on her progress and whether she eats or not. It is a family oriented school with a very knowledgeable staff who take great concern on my daughter's well-being and educational potential overall. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

I had to move my child to another school mid-year! It was a terrible experience...the teacher was not fit to work with young Pre-K children. We were extremely disappointed at how this 'Catholic' school handled our situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

My daughter has grown and changed so much over the last year she has attended MOC. Her teachers have been so loving and devoted to all the students. The teachers NEVER hesitate to discuss praises and concerns with the parents. They are so open with everything that goes on in the classroom.I could not be happier or more proud that my child attends school here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2009

MOC is a wonderful environment for your children. I have been part of Mother of Christ for 6 years. My child has learned so much and is very close to all his classmates and has loved all his teachers. If ever there is an issue, I speak with the teacher or administration, whom are always accessible and easy to reach. Add to that, the excellent religious foundation they are getting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

disorganized school, rude administration, need more activities. children are forced to learn a fast pace curriculum but do not enjoy learning... i have to do a lot of reteaching when we get home. think twice before you put your child here... teachers are great people
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 98% 29%
Black 1% 23%
White 1% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Academic Olympics (2010)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Rodriguez
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (786) 497-6113

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Miami
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag Football
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14141 Southwest 26th Street
Miami, FL 33175
Website: Click here
Phone: (786) 497-6111

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT