Advertisement
Advertisement

Mother Of Christ Catholic School

Private | K-12

We are best known for academics & great environment.

 
 

Living in Miami

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $159,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2009

Great academics. Great teachers. Children, teachers and office staff very polite and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

It is unfortunate that this school has fallen as far as it has. It really used to be such a great school, but the administration is more concerned about sweeping things under the rug, than what is going on in the classrooms. They are extremely unprofessional and disorganized. Can't recommend this school to ANYONE
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2009

I had two children attend this school for several years and I must say it was a horrible experience. The administration is a disaster unless you are in the in crowd. Almost all children are in need of tutoring afterschool which you have to pay for additionally because they are not learning in their classrooms. Aside from this there is massive favoritism within the student and the teachers. The afterschool program is also a disaster. Projects and homework is sent home basically so the parent can complete it because no children understand it for some reason. I would definitely not recommend this school unless you want to go to school with your child all over again, completing homework and exorbitant projects. Not to mention all the gossip that goes on everyone knows everything that happens in everybodys personal life and your childrens simply disgusting...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2009

Academically the school is great! The teachers work with the parents to better the children. The administration is very poor and has room for ALOT of improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2008

lack of communication and organization. Horrible administration
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2008

I am so pleased with the academics this school has provided my daughter, her State exams have improved drastically. Her teachers are very caring and the school provide a nurturing and safe environment. I hope to see improvements with extra-curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2008

I have two daughters that have been attending this school for the past two years. I feel very blessed that I found a place that has made my children grow spiritually as well as academically. Prior to attending this school my daughters attended a school that was nearly twice the cost of this one; yet I found my self having to teach the material at home because it was only presented to them at school. At MOC my daughters feel confident and secure enough to participate in different school activities such as choir, morning announcements, safety patrol, and cheerleading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2008

My daughter went to this school when it was still inside the church. it was great until they started to grow, the caos came along, very expensive. My son was not accepted in Pre kinder because my daughter was not in the elementary. The teacher he had has been the worst experience I ever had in my life. All they care is about money, money and more money
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2008

The school staff is very unprofessional and lacks communication and language skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2008

Academically and spiritually the school is very good. I have only good things to say about my child's teachers. However, I feel that the school lacks organization. Concerns are not addressed promptly. For example, the drive-thru for arrival and dismissal is in complete chaos. The computer lab isn't being utilized by all the students, so why should all the students have to pay a technology fee? Where is all the money going, seeing as the tution and registration is raised yearly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

My son attended the school and found it to be a terrible experience. The administration seems to be ver disorganized. When you ask simple questions they are not aware of procedures. In addition, the criteria to have you child transition from the VPK to the regular school is not clear.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

My son Attended the Vpk porogram last year he had Teacher Mary and Tanya . I cant tell you what great teachers they are my son still talks about them all the time. She always had great communication and with us and cared bery dearly for her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2007

My son attends the vpk program and he loves it. His teacher is Mary Delgado and she is absolutely wonderful. Best of all, the children are safe and very well cared for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

This school is completely disorganized when it comes to thier office staff. Simple questions cannot be answered or are answered incorrect. School needs improvement! as for the learning center it also needs improvement for children enrolled in thier vpk ( voluntary pre- k) program are still paying an average monthly rate of $300.00 So i question how much is the month really coming out to with you paying $300.00 And with what the vpk program is also paying the school !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2007

My son was in this school and it was an awful experience. The administration is poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

The school is good but needs to improve in the extracurricular activities. The religious education is phenomenal.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 100% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Black 0% 29%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
White 0% 44%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Academic Olympics (2010)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Rodriguez
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (786) 497-6113

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Miami
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag Football
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14141 SW 26th St
Miami, FL 33175
Website: Click here
Phone: (786) 497-6111

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT