Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Seminole Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 577 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 15, 2014

Another year begins, no orientation, no letter advising what room to show up to, nothing! This schools lackluster attitude towards its responsibility is offensive at best. On one hand you have a superintendent who is cutting edge and wants to start teaching on the bus and on the other end of the spectrum you have this school, stuck in the stone ages, lugging around half your kids weight in books! What a shame and dis-service to the community its supposed to serve! We cant wait til we are free from this child day camp! The teachers, to an extent seem to be competent but seem to be painfully obliging in order to keep a job. I cant imagine a more dire situation! Is anyone listening?!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

My daughter has attended this school since kindergarden and until she got to 3rd grade I thought wonder of the school. Unfortunately after she got to 3rd grade my thoughts about the school have changed. I personally feel the new principal is not keeping the school up to par like the previous one did. Yes Mrs. flannigan was strict but the school ran smoother than it is currently ruined by the new principal Lopez. the school functions are TOTALLY unorganized in every way. my daughter is now in 5th grade and the teacher she currently is with has been bullying her about a sharpener that broke and other kids blamed her for braking it. this teacher is telling her she needs to buy a new one for her everyday. not only that my poor daughter gets bullied by other kids in her school and this teacher doesn't do anything about it. I have emailed her about the bullying and supposedly it stopped but just days ago some kids made up a "contract" to get my daughter to move desks just because she is taller and sits upfront since she wears glasses and they told her to sign it. I can't stand other kids bullying my child & I have plenty of other complaints about the school. HORRIBLE SCHOOL!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2013

Another great school year just came to an end! I am a parent of a 5th grader and I couldn't be happier with the education my child received at Seminole. The teachers are amazing and very knowledgable. I never had a problem communicating with my child's teacher, always made an appointment ( like I would to see anyone else) and received the attention and information I needed. The security measures taken at the school seem fair in my opionion, there are school personnel and administrators at every entry point greeting g the students each morning. I agree with their rule of not allowing parents to walk their children to class or roam the hallways. I feel my child is much safer without parents and other adults walking throughout the schools. My child has always been happy at this school and so have I. I have been able to participate at various school events through the PTA. For those parents complaining about not being able to attend such functions perhaps you should be more proactive and volunteer whenever possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

Very disappointed with this school. As a parent that likes to be involved I do not feel welcomed. They have policies that they break if its to their convenience as I witnessed a husband being allowed by the assistance principal to take the flowers to his wife to her classroom yet I am treated like a criminal if I want to walk my son that comes in late and it's only 5-6 years old and has to walk alone to his classroom and in one occasion the teacher and the students were not even there. Yes, rules and policies are good but to an extend. I have walked a few times and the security is not even there so imagine I leave my kid at school and he walks alone and someone else comes in? Please allow the parents to feel a little welcome in the school ....it should not only be to ask for money. We all want safety first but running the school like a military or a jail it's not the best. The teachers have been wonderful and very nice but unfortunately they do not make the whole school. No graduation for kindergarten was a big let down and parents are not allowed in most of the kids activies. I would be changing my son from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2012

LOURDES LOPEZ THE WORSE PRINCIPAL IN ALL MIAMI DADE SCHOOL. TRASH LADY. TWO FACES, INMORAL, AND VULGAR. HER FAVORITISM HAVE TO GO. TRASH LADY


Posted August 17, 2012

I have two students at Seminole, one entering second grade and the other entering third. They have both been there since Kindergarten. I have to say that I am very happy with this school, its teacher's, and the administration. My daughters get to participate in many after school activities offered throughout the year. The teachers are kind, fair and knowledgeable. Some parents complain about not having access but school is not for the parents it is for the children. Some parents act like hoodlums themselves so not having access to me is not a major issue. The times I have had to communicate with the school or with the teachers I have been able to do so. I have always been provided the information I have needed from the office staff. The teachers have kept me abreast of any issues relating to my children. I have complete faith that the administration is doing what is best for them. The administrators are there every morning to open the door and greet my children at the gate when I drop them off. I have absolutely no grievances with this school and completely disagree with all the statements of those with negative opinions. Definitely an A in my book!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2012

this school has changed a lot true the years and it's not all that great any more my son attends school here you cant walk your kid inside the school cant go on the bus to go to field trips with them my kid got hurt i was never notified . They have some rude volunteers that aren't always nice to the kids, this school has favoritism to people they know and they don't comply with rules like the rest of the parents. Just because a school has a good grade does not mean that it's a good school. A couple of other parents also has complaints. The principal is no good for this school she might be nice but she is no help when you need something done. Ms. Alvarez in the office is a very good woman who will try to help you in what ever you need and she listens but there is only so much she can do . I feel like they don't want us involve in our kids life because they make it so difficult with all this rules , it feels like they hiding something
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2011

Discipline is one thing and flat out demeaning and rude to a parent is another, I don't think Flanagan was ever respectful to the parents at this school. One thing is to be strict, whichh I am all for, but you can expect respect and willingness from a parent when they are being belittled by the principle of thier child scool. And I beleive this year the new Principal is alot more flexible with parents then the previous admin ever was. The one thing i was not content with, was that there were no end of year awards for the students. I have to say my expericence with my son's teacher was awesome! She was a great teacher and I am only sad i was not able to take her with us to the next grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2011

my daughter has been studying in this school for two years. We knew the last administration, that maybe was criticized because of the strict discipline, but made great efforts to prepare the students for test and life. We are not content with the new administration, not even the teachers. They relay all the efforts in the security but they are lack of interest in academic performance. In fact, this used to be an 8 school, and this year went to 6. With the new security rules, looks like they are trying to separate the parents from the school .It's a shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2010

My daughter went to this school for two years. We pulled her out as soon as we could. We found that non-Cuban children were treated as third-class citizens. We had to take our daughter out of one class and put her in another because her arrogant teacher mistook shyness for contempt. So arrogant was this teacher that she refused to participate in a parent/teacher conference with me. On several occasions our daughter's lunch money was stolen and no one would do anything about it. We found the quality of education abysmal, the attitude of teachers confrontational and self-interested, and school security lacking. If you have the choice, do not send your non-Cuban student to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

To me Seminole is a great school. I will give it 4 stars. My experience has been wonderfull first with Ms. Nesbitt, and now with Ms. Flanagan. My daughter has been attending since kinder, and is now in 4th grade. She is happy and speaks very highly of all her teachers. I would like to see more extracurricular activities though. That I miss very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2007

Excellent school & teachers. My son attended Seminole from 2nd-5th. Not all parents are as involved as they should be but you can spot the ones that are. Parents must make the time - it's worth it. I was happy with all his teachers except the first one. She eventually left the school (good riddance to her bad attitude). I found the teachers & staff very open & willing to work with you if there was a problem. The subject matter was well taught & my son never had trouble with homework or exams. He is a great student & excelled by having great teachers. The majority of the students I met were A/B students. Very smart and well behaved. You can spot the few bad apples. The staff did not seem happy with the new Principal but that to be expected. Overall A++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2004

School infested w/ants. No working water fountains. Parents not allowed in classrooms w/children. Principal 'off limits' not involved. I transfered my daughter to coral park elementary, here is where i noticed how horribly seminole's system is. No team feeling @ seminole. Never once in 2 years did the principal acknowledge my daughter of myself as a parent walking through the halls. Principal needs to roll up her sleeves and be in touch with her staff, parents, and children. There are no extracarricular activities - no soccer, no dancing, no weekend school. The school guards are just standing there talking like old fogies w/the exception of 1 nice old man that is truly paying attention. Please go visit cp elem, and speak w/mrs. Nu ez and ask what parent involvement should be. She hand delivers every report card to each parent for the entire school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 95%
White 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 53%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%58%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 5%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LOURDES A LOPEZ
Fax number
  • (305) 262-8740

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

121 Southwest 78th Place
Miami, FL 33144
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 261-7071

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT