Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shenandoah Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 986 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 15, 2011

I attended the original school (1959-1963). I have heard both sides good and bad since the new school was built in the mid '70's. Can't really rate this school now. All I can say is that I had great teachers from (1959-63.)


Posted March 1, 2011

Can't rate the school as I attended there 58 years ago. Things have changed, I'm sure! I lived at the northeast corner of sw22nd ave and sw 16th street and was usually found in a vacant lot 1 block from my house after the school would call the house reporting me absent. I was very intimidated by the school as I was only 4 when I went to 1st grade. Too many "big" kids there! LOL! The picture on the school's website doesn't look familiar at all. When I attended the hallways were open air. Wish I could find old photos from 1951!


Posted February 8, 2011

I attended Shenandoah from 1945 to 1947. The Google maps photo looks a lot like what I remember of the original school with some added features. I lived at 2140 S. W. 6th St.. Miami, Fl. until my father was transferred to Ohio due to his job where I have lived since. Nice to see the school has been so well maintained. Alan Turner


Posted January 5, 2011

My son has been in Shenandoah Elem since Kindergarten. His first two years were great, his teachers two American Ladies for Kinder and 1st grade were wonderful. The teacher he had for 2nd Grade awful, she will scream at him all the time he was singled out because she thought he was misbehaving. The kids had to be quiet at all times, I even cried because he was telling me for the first time in his life" he didn't wanna go to school" Academically the school to me from 1 - 5; five being the best is a 3..The staff from 1 - 5 is a 1...they never know anything, to speak to the principal is an issue, you have to by pass the security guard at the entrance that questions you and wants an input of what you need to talk to the office about. Once you get to the office to speak to the principal or assistant principal another interogation, regardless of what the issue is, you end up filling out a paper to be given to the person in question. The security is extreme and it doesn't help. I can go on and on. Bottom line the school no good. I went to the region to change schools, but the region didn't help much. I will keep trying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2008

i am currently a gifted student at shenandoah elementary. it is a wonderful school.i have been their for 5 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

The school does not encourage parental communicaton. There a security guard at the entrance of the school that will not let you contact the office. They ask you to fill in an application and someone will contact you. The teachers do not know how to controll the children. My daughters graduation last year was a disaster as children where out of control and the principal was on stage trying to controll the children but they could not get a grip. My daughter, in the first grade, says her teacher yells 'too much mommy'. The curriculum...terrible. They where giving her a science book to take home and read and then answer questions yet they had not began to teach her to read or write as thorough as that kind of work would have required. Come to find it was a 3d grade level they where teaching to 1st grade! Terrible!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2004

One of my children is a former student of Shenandoah elemantary and all I can say is that we had wonderful results from the 3 years he attended. Although he was the 'new' kid from out-of-state he was welcomed immediately by everyone. The teachers made him feel comfortable from day 1 which made him adjust to the school within a few weeks. This was difficult since he entered the school mid-semester. I wish we would have stayed in that school district longer so he would have graduated with the wonderful friends he made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2003

I was astudent aty Shenandoah an was not inpressed with the school at all and as a tutor to some students that do attend I see that they are behind academically and also are not positive towards the school do to overcrowding and little extracurricular activities. I would like like as a communityto help to see the school become an 'A' school.


Posted June 18, 2003

the security are in de cafeteria all the time in dont patrol aoutside the school'the school is in dangerous localitation. the security dont patrol around the school because is to hot.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

176 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

176 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

149 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

149 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

154 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 98%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 170%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 253%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%58%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. GLORIA I GARCIA
Fax number
  • (305) 643-3745

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1023 Southwest 21st Avenue
Miami, FL 33135
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 643-4433

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT