Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oxford Academy Of Miami

Charter | PK-8 | 235 students

We are best known for accelerated reading program.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 1, 2011

Overall, I am happy with this school. The teachers/ administration really care about the ongoings of the school- and it shows. Between award ceremonies, field trips, and all of the extras that the school provides, the children receive a well rounded experience. FCAT scores may not be the highest, but the school doesn't seem to cater as much to the FCAT, unlike many other schools who postpone all activities until after the FCAT has been taken. For those parents whose children aren't able to receive more extracurricular activities, Oxford parents usually receive a discount for children at the JCC. About the principal- I really couldn't care about her being approachable or not- she seems to be a top notch administrator. I have addressed my concerns with her about the school before and she takes them all seriously and respectfully. She has a lot on her mind! She's trying to run our school, not run a bff competition. :) My desire for the school is this- I wish the children had access to foreign languages. 2x week in Spanish is simply not enough, esp. when children can learn so fast. I have noticed that many schools are running a EFL program (Extended Foreign Lang)- wish we had it, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2011

Love the small school, love that the classes are all gifted, Teachers are very loving. Principle is a hard worker but not approachable or easy to talk to. Silvia the cafeteria lady is amazing, cares and encourages kids to finish their plate. Kids have Spanish class twice a week a definite plus in Miami! No sports the is the only defect of this school. I feel kids are missing out on being able to be involved in sports like other schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2010

I could not have chosen a better school for my children. The staff is great, excellent teachers and principal. The communication between parents and teachers is great. I am grateful for having my children at Oxford Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

I've had my daughter in this school since she was in Kindergarten, she is now in 2nd grade and still loving school. The staff member are super friendly and super nice! Whenever I have questions, they have no problem in answering them. My daughter is an A+ Honor Roll Student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2010

Great school. They care about each child as a whole. They show interest not only in the childs academic success, but in so many other areas such as confidence, self-esteem, mental and emotional health, etc., and much more. The child as a whole person, very important.


Posted July 9, 2010

My daughters first year at Oxford was a wonderful experience, choosing Oxford was the best decision made, all the staff is wonderful and they know you by name, My daughters teacher was Mrs. T a remarkable, EXECELLENT teacher. Mrs T will care and teach one of them like their own kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

My son s first year of school at Oxford has been a wonderful experience. This school year has been very gratifying for us; as newcomers into the school system we feel we could have not chosen a better school. The teachers are excellent; they go above and beyond with the kids. It is a family environment, where everyone knows your child by name and parental involvement is greatly encouraged. I love the fact that discipline is a very important matter. The principal is hard worker, very dedicated and easy to reach. As a parent, in Oxford Academy you can trust your children will be safe while they enjoy high quality education. My son is in kindergarten with Ms. T, he just loves her!!! She is an excellent teacher with great values; she is very caring and dedicated. My son is always excited about going to school, he is very happy at Oxford. I couldn't ask for a better school. I can t forget to mention Miss Silvia, (cafeteria) she is always attentive to the kids, making sure they eat right and caring for them in any possible way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

Oxford Academy of Miami is an excellent Charter school! My Kindergarten daughter loves her teacher Mrs Handal and my Fifth grade son thinks the best of Ms. Michel. I truly feel blessed for having my children attend such a wonderful school where, because of the small ratio of students, we all know each other, communication access is perfect, activities, staff, teachers, principal...everyone's special and really cares. As a parent, in Oxford Academy you can trust your children will be safe while they enjoy high quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2008

This is my daughters second year at Oxford. She came from a very small preschool/pre-k, and i was concerned about sending her to a huge overcrowded public school. I did hours of research and went on many school tours of public, private, and charter schools. I fell in love with Oxford immediately. It is a very small school with small class sizes. The teachers/principal are wonderful. Everyone knows your child by name, including the principal, secretary, founder, and all teachers. They go above and beyond. It is a family environment where parental involvement is greatly encouraged. My daughter has done very well there. It is a multi-ethnic school that not only focuses on academics but on each student as a whole , promoting self-esteem, confidence, manors, dicipline, and educational excellence. My daughter is very happy, and so am I. I highly recomend this school. (and I am very picky!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2008

This is a great school. My daughter has done very well there. They care greatly education. The teachers are very nice, and caring, going above and beyond the call of duty, my daughters teacher even has her own website for the kids with educational games to help with reading, community events, online books and much more. The Principal has alot of experience and tries hard to make the school the best it can be. She believes in it so much that she has her own daughter enrolled. That says something! I would not want my child any where else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

charter is the way to go in miami! But my kids love the entire staff and thr leadership is definetly going in the right direction. A+ in my book !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2007

This is my second year at Oxford, sending my oldest child to kindergarten and first grade and my middle child through kinder. Not only do I think the teachers are excellent I also think the principal is as well. There is great communication between teachers and parents. All the teachers know all the childern and parents and everyone looks out for the children. I feel my kids are safe at Oxford and they are getting an excellent education. I couldn't ask for more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2007

Oxford Academy administrators, teachers and founder believe in the great potential of our students. My child is a student at OAM and his whole disposition toward learning and being his best has changed because of the training he is now receiving at OAM. It is because of the heart felt and personal philosophy of the entire staff at OAM that his personal motto has now become, 'Mom, I've got to do my best and give my whole heart'. To us as parents there is nothing better than to see your child develop in his character this way. Keep up the excellent work. And and thank you for making a difference in all our lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

My daughter was there last year in kindergarten. She started the school in January and before that we were making homeschooling. I ask them to help my daughter in the area in which she had more difficulty which in this case was reading but I got nothing. On the other hand my daughter teacher didn't seem to be very patient with kids and never really try to help my daughter. As a consequence my daughter was retained in kindergarten mostly because of her trouble reading. This year I enrolled my daughter in another chatter school and I am very happy there. My daughter is doing really well and little by little she is progressing with her reading. I wouldn t recommend Oxford Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

My child has been at this school since it opened and I believe it is an excellent educational institution. This year they have implemented a great character education program. The teachers and administrator are easy to get along with and always available when I need them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2007

My recommendation for parents considering enrollment at Oxford Academy to please look for an alternative school. There is little communication between the Governing School, parents & school staff ....I will not recommend the school at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
9%

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

18 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

18 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

18 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

20 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

20 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

16 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

16 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

12 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

12 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

12 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

21 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2009-2010.
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 71%
Black 14%
White 14%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 44%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/AN/A
Female 56%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 77%58%61%
Master's degree 23%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • AYP (2007)
  • AYP (2010)

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • MS. ANGELA KLINEDINST
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (305) 598-4475

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Computer
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Dance
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Very committed parent group! Low staff turnover! Small school only 350 will be accepted (Bigger is not always better)
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10870 Southwest 113th Place
Miami, FL 33176
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 598-4494

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT