Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sunset Park Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 691 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 19 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 25, 2013

Thank you Sunset Park Elementary and Ms. Martin and her wonderful staff for going the extra mile to make sure my daughter gets a solid education and enjoys her school experience. Your ability to see the "whole child" and offer all the tools and resources available to enhance her education and her life experience have been a model to me as a parent. I thank you and I look forward to another great year at Sunset Park Elementary .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

Excellent School! Great teachers who care about my children's learning experience.. My 4th grader has excellent grades this year all thanks to the phenomenal teacher/parent communication!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2012

After 5 wks & what was to be my daughters 1st kindergarten experience, we unenrolled my daughter from Sunset Park. The teacher assigned to her was demeaning, overwhelmed & focused more on behavior of the students than academics. After a lengthy conference w/ the principal (who is amazing & took the time to listen) she offered to place our daughter with a tenured teacher Ms R. As thankful as we were for that option our minds were made up, the damage had already been done. She is now in a private school - in a smaller class where the teacher has time to teach and PRAISE, & rewards students for good behavior instead of embarassing them with a color chart that they change themselves at the front of the class. Our daughter woke up one night telling us she had to change her color! The principal went on to say how sorry she was we were leaving as she loved our daughter and found her to be a most loving & happy child. We are sure Sunset Park is a great school filled w/ activities & other wonderful staff, it is equally important to be involved parents to know what a good teacher is comprised of. We are just sorry that Mrs. T made it a horrible experience for our daughter and for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

Today is my daughter's first day at Sunset Park after transfering from a private school. I had many concerns about the change and the program going to a new place. The teacher and the administration were so helpful this summer in spite of the end of summer schedules and number of students. I felt like my family was getting one on one attention that you would find only in a much smaller school. They were so nice and accommodating. It was obvious that they are striving to meet the needs of each child and do what is best for each child although it takes much more time to do so. It's only day one but I am thrilled for her to be a part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2012

I love SunsetPark its a excellent school. The teacher's are excellent and the principal too. I came from other country and the welocme was geat. If we as a father's work together with the teacher and so the school and activities we got better school and our childrens develops will be better. The principal is excellent, she allways is in the schoool and in each activities also in wekends, and if you need to talk with her she is always willing to talk to you. The only thing I will change is the lunch tha it's no good including the fruits that are not fresh all the time, some of the secretaries that when speak to you doesn't have the touch to work with parents and some of the lunch of employees that presure the chil when their fathers don't pay the lunch or forgot it to pay, they don't has the touch either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2012

I was a student at this school. The principal needs to leave. She tried to take money from the PTA.


Posted September 29, 2010

I love Sunset Park Elementary because the Principal Ms. Martin, Assistant Principal and the teachers are excellent. They really care about our children's education and sense of well being. I used to have my kids in a private school, but four years ago that Ms. Martin got there, she turned that school around. Since then, our school has been Grade A. I wish our school could have up to 8th grade; that will be the best thing it can happen to all our kids that are attending this fantastic school. I want to thank Ms. Martin and her entire team (teachers, administrative, cafeteria, security and cleaning staff) for making Sunset Park Elementary. Ms. Martin and her team should win the Best School Team Award! Ale Vicenttin
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

this is the best school in the state. It has tremendous parent support and monthly family activities to bring parents in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

My daughter loves her teachers, friends, and best of all the school is in a very safe learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

I am a very happy parent because my son's school rocks! Yes, starting with the Principal, Mrs. Martin and ending with the custodian personnel(not enought space to mention the names). I can tell that Sunset Park is a school with a great atmosphere, safety and with great learning experiences for the kids. The teachers are very caring but at the same time they are expecting that their students give 100+ in their classes. Mrs. Berriz, Mrs. Vettel, Mr. Saca, Mrs. Chickillo, Mr. Tojdowski, Mrs. Fernandez, Mrs. Dean and now Mr. Miret are giving me and my family the best treasure we can get, the best education for our son. They are excellent educators where they only not care about the material they have to cover but they teach values to our kids that are priceless. I have selected the best school and will love to have them getting a recognition for their great attitude, care, education and taking the best care of our kids at Sunset Park Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

From the Principal, to Vice Principal, to all the teachers and staff, we have only received amazing attention and support! My children are truly privileged to be attending such a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

Sunset Park Elementary offers a great curriculum to their students and the teachers and the staff members really care about their students. They are very creative in figuring out ways in order to be able to raise monies for their school which in turn benefit the children. Their Gifted Program is one of the best in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

I love Sunset Park Elementary because they provide a safe, welcoming,and enriching environmet formy child. The teachers and administrators are more than competent and really care about their students and their school. As a parent, I am more than fully satisfied with everyone in the school and all that they provide for the children and the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

The Principal and the staff are just and kind giving to the childs knowledge, friends and happy moments!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

They not only teach, but they care for the wellness of the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

Sunset Park Elm. has the best teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2009

Ms. Martin and the teachers do an amazing job. Spide the low budget, they are always improving the school performence. Thank you for your leadership Ms. Martin!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

My daughter attends Sunset Park Elementary. This school has a wonderful and caring enviroment. Both Teachers and the Principal Mrs. Martin are extremely caring when it comes to our children. Any issues they are there to help. My daughter has done extremely well and this mostly has to do with the dedication the Teachers give daily. I can email at any time with a question and will get a prompt response. I wish this school would turn into a K-8 so my daughter can continue in this same enviroment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2008

the best school in Miami... good,nice,friendly staff and teacher... lovely environment,secured place for your kids.. a nice,smart,dedicated principal. and staff. in security is #1
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

Hat's of to Mrs. Martin and the success of bring this school back up to an A school. The children are safe in this school with excellent security procedures that actually are set in motion. The learning environment is both student and parent friendly. Children are number one here and is shows. The faculty and staff are wounderful examples to our children at Sunset Park. They practice what they preach - and it shows in our children at home. We very happy to be a part of a successful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

98 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 86%
White 8%
Black 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 19%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%58%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. SARA N MARTIN
Fax number
  • (305) 273-2130

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10235 Southwest 84th Street
Miami, FL 33173
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 279-3222

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT