Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

659 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
53 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 86 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sunset Park Elementary School 5

Posted July 15, 2016
- a community member
I was a student for many years. when I first came I only spoke spanish and well..as a child changing to a whole different city can be quite scary. however, I was treated lovingly, wonderfully, and greatly!!!! teachers and staff were really nice and later when I came to do internship, I was treated same as before, with loving eyes.

Sunset Park Elementary School 2

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
Really bad principal. I understand that staff and teachers felt Ms. Martin was too strict and sometimes didn't show the best way of treating them but any hopes this school had was because of her. New principal lacks a lot of capacity, emotional intelligence and connection with parents. First day of school and you don't let parents go in until 8:20?!?! Honor roll assemblies changed to the mornings so working parents have trouble coming in?!?!?! (She was righteously booed for such a decision) I've personally heard her refer to parents in a very disrespectful manner in front of her staff. She appears as a nice person at first but hides her lack of capacity behind doors. You can tell how she seems annoyed to be there, bothered to have to solve many problems. Ms. Martin was absolutely devoted to the school and children. No time was too late, no field trip took place without her dismissing and welcoming the buses, and laid back teachers felt the pressure to keep their jobs. A message to Ms. Hernandez: Learn to communicate and open up to parents' concerns. Be sympathetic to the fact that working parents are the majority. Dealing with parents' claims comes with the job. If you don't like it, leave room to efficient professionals.


Sunset Park Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
Thank you Ms. Berriz and Ms. Luis for giving my daughter the best encouragement and the best memories we could ask for. You should know you set the bar extra high and you both are outstanding assets to that school. I just wish you were better appreciated. We will always have you in our memories as the best reachers ever.

Sunset Park Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2015
- a parent
I went to this school from 1986-1992 and now my daughter goes here. I love this school! The staff is amazing and I am very happy with the education she is receiving. The school is always clean and the staff genuinely care about the educational environment as well as the students. The only down side I have noticed is during pick up, drop off, and assemblies, the parents tend to be very rude, lacking basic manners. (won't wait in line, pushy, never say excuse me, talking during announcements, etc.) But considering that is the only negative, it's definitely a wonderful school.

Sunset Park Elementary School 4

Posted May 12, 2015
- a parent
April 2015 review post is wrong. PTA has never chosen students for STEM program. 2014-2015 is only second year for STEM. STEM was started by Ms. Martin the part Principal. Ms. Hernandez the new Principal just started at school 2014-2015. Ms. Martin had a huge meeting year before STEM started and created a committee from parents at the meeting. Committee helped create application and rule for volunteer hour requirement for STEM parents. Only STEM Teachers and the Past Principal reviewed applications and chose students allowed into STEM. Making STEM parents do volunteer hours and be on PTA was good idea because there are more parents at the school helping. I think the kids did more STEM things the first year. PTA in past had a lot of fundraising. PTA worked with past Principal Ms. Martin and bought smart boards and more laptop computers for the school. Past Principal Ms. Martin was very strict with parents and teachers - but good for kids and learning. New Principal Ms. Hernandez looks nicer but she is not doing anything to help kids and make school better. Most teachers are great. I love my child's teachers.


Sunset Park Elementary School 5

Posted April 26, 2015
- a parent
First I'd like to address the last comment..... Mrs. Hernandez the principal of Sunset park Elemetary is doing an amazing job. As far as the STEM program is concerned, it is a wonderful program and will continue to be a wonderful program especially since "PTA" will have no say in who will be in the program! It will be done by a committee fair and square! Not only are the parents happy with Mrs. Hernandez but more importantly the teachers whom our children are being taught by are in a much happier environment. That makes a world of a difference! I love my school!!!

Sunset Park Elementary School 2

Posted March 03, 2015
- a parent
Ever since Sarah Martin left as Principal she took any hope that this school had with her. What a waste of a great program with STEM and what a waste in what Principal Martin took so long to build. At first I thought maybe it was me but now all I hear on a daily basis are parents feeling the same way I feel. Glad it's not just me but sad, really really sad it's become like this. What a shame. Really had hopes my kids would finish here.

Sunset Park Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school and staff in general !!! my child its been in Sunset Park since Kindergarden and now he is in 4th grade , so far only graet memories we have , the staff always friendly and caring for the parebts and the kids needs , we have the new STEM propgram wich makes all the learning experience more succesful , i am just hoping for the school to get approved for K to 8 center bc my liltle one is going to attend to the schaool nex yaer and my big one is going to be already on 5th grade , overall and very pleased with the teachers and the school , highly recommended.


Sunset Park Elementary School 5

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
The STEM program is excellent and my daughters are excelling at this school. You are expected to be involved in your child's education and they welcome you on campus. I especially like the emphasis on math and science. This year my daughter went to Kennedy Space Center, which I thought was a great addition to her education. The office staff is friendly and efficient and the principal Ms. Martin is very active in the school. You will even see her in the mornings talking to the kids. She runs a very tight ship

Sunset Park Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
Very organized, Great teachers, Great Principal and Vice Principal. Kids are happy and doing great. Parent involvement is good but needs to get better(school does all it can to get them involved). S.T.E.M. Program is top notch.

Nearby schools

Sunset Park Elementary School
10235 Southwest 84th Street, Miami, FL  33173
(305) 279-3222
Last modified Sunset Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top