Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Miami, FL
Students enrolled: 479
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tropical Elementary School 1

Posted May 09, 2014
- a parent
If you are looking for a school that encourages children and parents to work together with the teachers, this is not the place for you. Unfortunately, this school year has taken a horrible turn for the worse. Parents have been alienated away from the school, some of the activities such as Muffins with Mom have been cancelled without any notice, the only activities that seem to not be affected are those by the PTA to collect money. It is a shame to see the school's morale deteriorate in front our your own eyes and have no help as it is management that is responsible...

Tropical Elementary School 3

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
This school is good in spite of the horrible lack of leadership on the part of the school principal, Mrs. Miah. Were it not for the outstanding teachers at this school it would be a horrible failure. The principal has managed to chase off some of her BEST teachers over the past few years and has replaced them with new teachers that won't stand up to her horrible decision making. Beginning this school year, she has enacted numerous draconian policies aimed at inconveniencing parents and excluding them from the educational process. She has refused to allow access to the school to even parents who have registered as volunteers, refused to allow parents to park in the open parking spaces to walk their children to the front door. In other words she has displayed a pattern of behavior aimed at alienating parents from this school. Don' t let her polite sweet demeanor fool you, she is a very calculated and conniving person.


Tropical Elementary School 3

Posted July 03, 2012
- a parent
Has anyone had problems with the office staff? Are they helpful, friendly? I need to ensure so I can be mentally prepared for when my child starts school. Thank you

Tropical Elementary School 3

Posted April 06, 2012
- a community member
Too bad that the principal Yubeda Miah has no social skills whatsoever. She is rude and unprofessional. Parents watch out. Other than that some teachers are great , the really good teachers left. Not a surprise considering how "great" the administration is.

Tropical Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 04, 2010
- a parent
The school itself is great. The faculty is amazing. The staff workstogether as a unit. Unfortunately, I have noticed a decline in teacher participation and enthusiasm. I am also not happy with the administration this year. I think the teachers are a little different this year because of the administration. Hopefully the teachers don't change too much! But other than the administration I truly love the school.


Tropical Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2010
- a parent
I am so happy with this school and the teachers.My daughter is in third grade in Ms.Medinas class.Wao what an excellent teacher,very organize,sweet and commited to see her students do well. My daugther is so happy she wants to be a teacher like Ms.Medina. The principal and all personal are very good .Iam so happy my daugther and son are in this school .

Tropical Elementary School 5

Posted January 21, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Tropical Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 05, 2008
- a parent
My 2 kids went to Tropical since Pre-K and they loved it. Teachers are great and even custodians are very good. They had a lot of activities where everyone at school got involved and kids enjoyed. The new assistant principal is very helpful and fun. We love u all! My kids wouldn't be at a better school. They just graduated this year and didn't want to leave. There is a lot of good memories. Gelma Morejon-


Tropical Elementary School 2

Posted May 03, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Tropical Elementary School 2

Posted April 24, 2008
- a parent
My daughter has beenin this school since kinder, she wil be graduating this year, the teachers are very good, the staff in general is good, the only exeption is the new principal, unfortunately she could not care less about the kids or the school, going to her with a problem it is a waste of time, it is a shame Dr. Irons is no longer there

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tropical Elementary School
4545 Southwest 104th Avenue, Miami, FL  33165
(305) 221-0284
Last modified Tropical Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Tropical Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top