Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Miami, FL
Students enrolled: 479
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tropical Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted August 27, 2015
- a community member
there is a considerable effort made on the part of all the teachers who in my opinion deserve to get paid a whole lot more for their efforts and hard work. I doubt that any of them have time to belly dance given the work they have. Perhaps the Principal could devote more time and pay attention as to what parents are saying and why so many teachers and parents have left and are still leaving.

Tropical Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a community member
We believe that the teachers are teaching the students to be kind towards one another, but anytime you have too many students in a classroom you are going to have problems. I'd like to know where our tax dollars for education are invested in. I'm sure as a business owner I'd be able to allocate enough to ensure that education is and always should be a number 1 priority.


Tropical Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a community member
The website isn't accurate. Where is the Yoga teacher, where is the garden. Where are the KG teachers you claim to have? Please update your website and update your school.

Tropical Elementary School 3

Posted August 27, 2015
- a community member
First of all why isn't English spoken at all school meetings? On school grounds it should be the language spoken. If a group of parents doesn't understand English then a separate meeting should be arranged to accommodate, the translations are not accurate and it leaves English speakers with less information. When we try to reach the Principal for urgent matters it is impossible to speak with her. Perhaps less belly dancing and more administrative duties for which she has been assigned to for the past 3 years will help get this school the good grades it deserves. We had an "A" school. Why hasn't anyone updated the webpages, the information is inaccurate and misleading. Thus my next point, the website lists 3 KG teachers, only one is available for a group of 42 youngsters. I'd like to see a more enthusiastic principal who can seriously bring Tropical Elementary back so that parents and teachers can do the work that must be done to ensure success to all.

Tropical Elementary School 1

Posted May 09, 2014
- a parent
If you are looking for a school that encourages children and parents to work together with the teachers, this is not the place for you. Unfortunately, this school year has taken a horrible turn for the worse. Parents have been alienated away from the school, some of the activities such as Muffins with Mom have been cancelled without any notice, the only activities that seem to not be affected are those by the PTA to collect money. It is a shame to see the school's morale deteriorate in front our your own eyes and have no help as it is management that is responsible...


Tropical Elementary School 3

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
This school is good in spite of the horrible lack of leadership on the part of the school principal, Mrs. Miah. Were it not for the outstanding teachers at this school it would be a horrible failure. The principal has managed to chase off some of her BEST teachers over the past few years and has replaced them with new teachers that won't stand up to her horrible decision making. Beginning this school year, she has enacted numerous draconian policies aimed at inconveniencing parents and excluding them from the educational process. She has refused to allow access to the school to even parents who have registered as volunteers, refused to allow parents to park in the open parking spaces to walk their children to the front door. In other words she has displayed a pattern of behavior aimed at alienating parents from this school. Don' t let her polite sweet demeanor fool you, she is a very calculated and conniving person.

Tropical Elementary School 3

Posted July 03, 2012
- a parent
Has anyone had problems with the office staff? Are they helpful, friendly? I need to ensure so I can be mentally prepared for when my child starts school. Thank you

Tropical Elementary School 3

Posted April 06, 2012
- a community member
Too bad that the principal Yubeda Miah has no social skills whatsoever. She is rude and unprofessional. Parents watch out. Other than that some teachers are great , the really good teachers left. Not a surprise considering how "great" the administration is.


Tropical Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 04, 2010
- a parent
The school itself is great. The faculty is amazing. The staff workstogether as a unit. Unfortunately, I have noticed a decline in teacher participation and enthusiasm. I am also not happy with the administration this year. I think the teachers are a little different this year because of the administration. Hopefully the teachers don't change too much! But other than the administration I truly love the school.

Tropical Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2010
- a parent
I am so happy with this school and the teachers.My daughter is in third grade in Ms.Medinas class.Wao what an excellent teacher,very organize,sweet and commited to see her students do well. My daugther is so happy she wants to be a teacher like Ms.Medina. The principal and all personal are very good .Iam so happy my daugther and son are in this school .

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tropical Elementary School
4545 Southwest 104th Avenue, Miami, FL  33165
(305) 221-0284
Last modified Tropical Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Tropical Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top