Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

442 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Tropical Elementary School 5

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
Caring, dedicated teachers, wonderful inclusion program, small family atmosphere, and great parent involvement made us feel Fortunate to have been able to share 8 years through two children at this school.

Tropical Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
Mi niña está en el tropical desde KG hasta ahora que está en 3ro la escuela Tropical elementary hasta el momento a sido una gran familia! Con una Nueva Principal Mrs Desbs que le a dado una nueva esperanza y un nuevo comienzo a nuestra escuela demostrando que los maestros aman a nuestros niños y están dispuestos en ayudar en cualquier problema que como padres podamos tener muy pocas escuelas gozan de este gran privilegio! Muy feliz y agradecida. Gracias Mrs Debs por el amor, atención , cariño que le está entregando al Tropical en tan solo 3 meses gracias


Tropical Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
El tropical elementary por años a estado pasando por momentos muy fuerte la antigua principal destruyo el tropical! Mi hija va a esta escuela desde kg las maestrassiempre dispuestas de dar lo mejor de ellas para los niños y nosotros como padres mi hija se siente en familia gracias las amo ! En estos 3 meses de haber empezado Mrs Debs como principal a evolucionado la escuela a hecho lo que la antigua principal en años no hizo Gracias Mrs Debs por dar tanto amor al tropical gracias por todo su amor que le está poniendo verá que valdrá la pena :)

Tropical Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
All the teachers do a wonderful job! Ms. Debs, the new principal is doing a wonderful job

Tropical Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
My child has been attending this school since he started prek 3. It is a great school; the teachers are very helpful. The new principal, Ms Debb is working very hard. In less than two months, she had the front of the school painted, had the speaker system fixed, the morning announcements are back, more plants at the front. The kids are happy, parents are encouraged to get involved. I am glad is attending Tropical. - a parent


Tropical Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
My kids have been students at Tropical for more than 3 years. This is a great school, teachers and staff are kind, respectful, helpful, and accessible. Every time I have to address a concern, I leave a note at the office and I always receive a call back in less than 48 hours, and if is needed, they arrange an appointment. Tropical Elementary has a nice education environment. The teachers care for the education of their students, and maintain a good communication with parents. I am really glad that my children are students of this school.

Tropical Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
There is one exceptional 3rd grade teacher (2015-2016) that is always looking to help to her students. She always finds the way to make an interesting learning environment where students become curious, ask questions, and are willing to learn more and more. She teaches on the way that the knowledge sticks in their students brain and remains there. She maintains contact with the parents letting them know about the progress of the student, informs what area need improvement, and guides the parent on how to help their children. I just want to say that she is a great teacher and that I am really glad that she has been the teacher of one of my sons for 2 years in a row. "Thank you Ms. Harcha".

Tropical Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted August 27, 2015
- a community member
there is a considerable effort made on the part of all the teachers who in my opinion deserve to get paid a whole lot more for their efforts and hard work. I doubt that any of them have time to belly dance given the work they have. Perhaps the Principal could devote more time and pay attention as to what parents are saying and why so many teachers and parents have left and are still leaving.


Tropical Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a community member
We believe that the teachers are teaching the students to be kind towards one another, but anytime you have too many students in a classroom you are going to have problems. I'd like to know where our tax dollars for education are invested in. I'm sure as a business owner I'd be able to allocate enough to ensure that education is and always should be a number 1 priority.

Tropical Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a community member
The website isn't accurate. Where is the Yoga teacher, where is the garden. Where are the KG teachers you claim to have? Please update your website and update your school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tropical Elementary School
4545 Southwest 104th Avenue, Miami, FL  33165
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. (305) 221-0284
Last modified Tropical Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top