Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Whispering Pines Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 642 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2014

There are amazing teachers here that really get involved with the lives of the children. It's up to the parents to do the other half. Get involved and you will see how your children succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2013

I was a former student at Whispering Pines Elementary and I think that there is no school better than that one. ALL of the teachers and staff are kind and helpful. I think that WPE is the place where I was truly myself. WPE is like a one big huge family that can never be separated. I was at that school for 7 amazing years( Pre-K - 5th) and I would not change that for the world. I love this school and everything that comes with it and it will always be my favorite school that I attended and I thank this school for all of the amazing years. I would recommend this school to any parent who wants the best for their child From, A former student, Class of 2012


Posted February 17, 2012

I've been a parent at Whispering Pines Elementary School for the past 9 years, as all three of our children have attended WPE, with our last currently in fourth grade. Whispering Pines has a great PTA with a lot of parent/teacher involvement and perhaps that's one reason why WPE is such a wonderful school! The teachers have a genuine concern for their student's achievements and have a good rapport with their parents. A few of their substitutes are actually graduates who have stayed in the neighborhood over the years & who's children now attend WPE. You know when you have a school this good, there's no point in moving any where else. Besides being an academic school of excellence for many years standing, they also have a wide variety of before and after school activities including things like Chamber Singers, WPKN- (Whispering Pines Kids News) ballet, sports, Chess Club, music lessons, Girl Scouts, Boy Scouts, after care, story hour (for younger students who have older siblings that remain in school till 3pm. I must say that the custodial crew are quite nice as well as our great crossing guards! Whispering Pines Elementary is a well rounded school that I highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2012

One of the best trades of this school is safety. They make sure to know the children whereabouts and track everyone that goes in the premises. On the bad side, the food options are very poor. There is too much high sugar, high carbs and process food offered everyday. Even for holiday events and aftercare they first offer chocolate chip cookies, candy, soft pretzels and artificial drinks like fruit punch or powder lemonade. I have not seen a project yet where involves fresh fruit and vegetables instead of cookie dough and sprinkles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

My child just completed Kindergarten and we were so impressed by how much material she was taught and absorbed over this past Kindergarten year. The school planning is very structured and focused. We are really happy so far with Whispering Pines Elementary, and looking forward to experiencing 1st grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

i do love this school it is a great school for my son he learn a lot of stuff he did not know there are great with the kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2011

i'm a former student who was in this school for 7 years and i am now in 8th grade; and with my experience all i can say is this is one of the most amazing best elementary schools in the county. if you want you're child to become academically ready and strive to their highest, send them here. trust me this school is just amazing.


Posted December 2, 2010

So happy and truly blessed to have my kids in such a great school ! for the last three years all the teachers have been great . Now with my 4 year old starting pre k has really opened my eyes to what a wonderful school this truly is! im not one to really get all involed in my kids school with my third child who just turned two but in this school it makes u want to spend that time with your child and be that parent that your child says " that's my mommy" so thank you to whispering pines for going above and over the duty of a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2010

I really do love this school. Their gifted program (called Discovery) is fabulous! It allows the intelligent kids to really excel, and segregates them from the juvenile delinquints that are present at all schools. The music programs are all top notch and the teachers are very caring about all students. The office staff is very helpful and friendly however, the aftercare program supervision can be inattentive and my kids hated being there. As far as parent involvement goes, it's always the same people trying to get everything done. Volunteers can be very hard to find throughout the parent population. Also, this school seems do be doing some sort of fundraiser every month, which can get a little old after a while. All this being said, the Discovery program is what's kept us in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

this school has great teachers who really want kids to succeed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

I had three kids attend this school - two of which are still there. The teachers are excellant. The administration is caring and motivated. My oldest children participated in Mr. Simons music program, which is exceptional. The Gifted program is challenging and exciting. I'm proud to say my kids attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

As a parent of two children at Whispering Pines, I have nothing but great things to say about this school. The Gifted Program (Discovery) is fabulous. The Music Program is the best in the state. The teachers are highly motivated and caring. The small classroom sizes allow the teachers to teach and the students to learn. Love this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

My two kids have attended WPE for the last four years and I don't have a single negative word to say about this school's administration or its faculty. Mr. Roberson and Mrs. Gonzalez (asst. prin.) do everything they can to help their students and their families with any problems or concerns they may have. They go far beyond their duties to create a close knit environment for their students. They listen to everyone's input concerning the school and are HUGE supporters of the school's PTA. I couldn't ask for a better school or better teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

My two children have been attending WPE since Pre- K. I can not express my deep gratitude to Mr. Roberson for his support and advice he provides. He has shown leadership and dedication to his staff, students and parents. He finds ways to help, even if the issue is not related to school matters. I wish other parents could see beyond their madness how kind and understanding Mr. Roberson can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2007

My 2 children have attended this school for the last 5 years. The leadership of this school since the addition of Mr Roberson has gone downhill. The teachers, for the most part, are caring and dedicated. It has been a positive experience for both of my children as well as for me as a parent having them attend this school. I just wish that the principal would put more emphasis on the children attending the school than on his own agenda.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2007

I have three children that attend this school, in the past two years this school has become very sad. The principal and assistant principal do not care about the students nor the concerns of the parents. The school is over populated. I love my area and relocated from New York for the school, what a bad move. I am now relocating again due to the 'A school'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2007

This is an awesome school. I have 2 children. The schools looks good, the landscaping is beautiful and the teachers are dedicated. The new principal is there for all students, not just the ones in discovery or the music program. he actually talks to and interacts with the special education students, which teachers will tell you, did not happen in the past. He does not allow the parents to run the school. He listens to them but he decides what is best for the school. This upsets a lot to the parents who were used to calling the shots. I am happy as a parent and my children are happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

My children attended Whispering Pines for a few months We came from Palm Beach and we so disappointed with the leadership at this school. I went to see Mr Roberson crying about my son that was in ESE. I was told they were doing all they could do. My son was failing miserably and not one person cared, how sad for a A school. I had to pull them all out and put them in private school. I moved to the area because of the school..How funny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

I love the school, neighborhood, and teachers at Whispering Pines. I don't feel that building maintenance has been given the attention it should and as a result the teachers and students are not working in the best conditions possible. My son had Ms. Saint-Hilare this year and she was an incredible teacher. I highly recommend her. Mr. Simon should be nominated for music teacher of the century. Thanks to him, my third grader learned how to play the guitar, piano, and drums. Every year the Chambers Singers and Band tours around the country competing against high schools and winning top honors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2006

My daughter attended Whispering Pines for kindergarten. I was very happy with the learning environment and the overall behavior of the children of the school. The school's principle is ambtious, visible and approachable. Kids attending this school are well mannered and typically well behaved. School not to big and keeps a community feel. I recommend highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

112 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 55%
White 26%
Black 13%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 9%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%58%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18929 Southwest 89th Road
Miami, FL 33157
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 238-7382

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Boystown
Cutler Bay, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT