Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Citrus Grove Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 932 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2014

this school has been a disappointing from day one if your child doesn't listen they automatically send them toCSI they don't care if your child even if is a special needs child. ESE classes are large. teachers call to yell at you about the child solving nothing also they call DCF for no reason police and animal animal services despite everything these people do nothing because there's nothing to do they just do it to bug you every little thing they make a report without asking questions that's why I'm getting my child out of the school as soon as possible withdrawn and putting them in private school they don't care about the child development and all they do is bother you 24 /7
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2011

cgms best year of my life im just a sixth grader so far but i still love the school


Posted May 20, 2011

This school holds children from many countries, mainly Hispanic. The majority of them come from low income families, and in Citrus they receive free breakfast, those who qualify receive free or reduced lunch, they attend field trips, can participate in clubs, sports, and have a gym. They have the benefits of an after school program, which takes care of them while parents work, help them do homework, in a safe and healthy environment. Teachers take care of them, instruct and educate them, and instill values and habits they don't get at home. Discipline is strict. It is a great school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 28, 2010

I went to this school in the early 1990s and this school is not was it was then... Sad to say ,my child will not go to that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2010

i havent never seen a school like this one i fell bad for the students who go here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2010

Citrus is the worst school ever times ten this school dosent care for your students safety at all im sorry for everyone who attend this school and staff is horrible sorry for all the kids who would never know how a real school like thare no football teams nothing at all sorry kids theres not a worst school in the country
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

Citrus is the worst school ever! I feel sorry for some teachers that are good like Mrs. Fernandez-Lopez, Mrs. Brooks, Mr. Moreno, Mrs. Marcos and that's it! The rest are all slacks! Thank God its my last year! All the administration are horrible! :o
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2009

I attended C.G.M.S 03-06 and I think that it has great teachers. Just a few of them are Mr. Luc, Mr. Salas, Ms. Ochoa, Pepe etc. etc. It was a place were you could participate in anything you wanted and nobody judged you. Every school has its bad crowd, and Citrus was no exception. If you did bad in school and got into trouble it was by choice because I knew many people that dad great and focused on their goals. Citrus may not be the best but at the time I went it made up for everything by the love and motivation that radiated from every classroom.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2008

I attended Citrus Grove from 04-07 and truthfully... I have mixed feelings about it. I LOVED the teachers, they're so cool. Like Mr. Salas, Mr. Luc, Ms. Edwards, Mr. Fischer, and Mr. C Perez (which was the BEST teacher ever). But it seems like the administration doesn't care about their students. The area is horrible!! Once I moved to Miami from Miami Beach my grades dropped. Now that I moved back to the beach and attend High School it's better. Cirtus is just one of those schools that you don't have a passion for, but you have to get used to it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2008

i like my school like ms.ana fiscer.she is the most best teachers you can have for 6 or 7 grade she help us she is a very nice reading teacher .
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2006

I am a very happy parent this year at citrus grove middle, we have a new principal that work hard and the resutls are outstading. When I heard my son asking me to get to buy new uniform's color, also style with a mandatory code, I really knew that this will be a glorious year! that I was waiting for a long time. My best and sincere thanks to our administrator ms. Emirce lagada. Without her and staff its couln't be a better school year 2005-2006. Regards, Ms. Marinitza Velez, active parentvice- president ptsa and essac parent chair
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

My Daughter's teacher,Mrs Edwards,Mr Salas,Mr Farjado,Mrs Novak has been extremely patient and wonderful with my daughter.If ther was something I need to address right away, the response was immediately give back to me.Also her grades are improving a whole lot with each individual teacher.Thanks a whole bunch, from a mother's view.Sorry that I did not mentioned Mr Menendez he had replace the other teacher.I have to meet him very soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2005

I am severely disappointed with my son's progress since he began this school. My son is a second generation attendee and this school was not great when I attended and is much worst now. The teachers and administration do not communicate with the parents. They show abosolutely no interest in finding solutions to ongoing problems. I am sorry I ever had my son attend and waste two years of his education trying to make headway in a school which does not really put effort in extracting the best of their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2005

The school is a positive, growing, developing educational institution that has recently acquired a young stable of enthusiastic and capable teachers/staff personnel. While their testing scores are hovering in the 'C-' range, I expect their performance to only improve due the quality of some of their newest additions, as well as the ferocious tenacity of the administrative staff. The teachers seem to legitimately care about their students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 16, 2004

I went to this school when I was a kid and I have to say things are very different now. This school is a great disappointment to me. My children have been going to this school since the 6th grade and not once has a teacher told me anything encouraging in reference to their education. If anything all the teachers do on the parent/teacher conferences is complain about the children. Not once have I heard anything positive about a child that is not doing so good. Teachers are there to educate our children not to criticize them. This school used to be good. I don't know what went wrong.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

243 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
17%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

244 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
28%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

282 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

280 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
31%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

272 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

336 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
22%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

338 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
25%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

338 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

325 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
47%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 93%
Black 6%
White 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 1100%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 223%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%58%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 16%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. EMIRCE J LADAGA
Fax number
  • (305) 642-9349

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2153 Northwest 3rd Street
Miami, FL 33125
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 642-5055

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT