Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Glades Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1181 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

Glades Middle is a great school!! My son attends he got excellent scores on his fcat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2012

I have absolutely nothing negative to say. From the principal to the maintenance employees, they are awesome. My child had an issue with a boy, we informed the principal - and matter taken care of from the onset, had no more problems after that. Teachers are caring, patient and always there to assist in any way they can. The system should provide school with more funding for school and the arts, thereby concentrating more on education. Overall, an excellent school. I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2012

My son goes to Glades and he loves the school and so do I. It is very save and the principal and teachers have great control and excellent relations with the kids. I will recommend this school as one of the best middle schools in Miami. I love it and I wish it went all the way to 12 grade. The school also has a great band and I have never seen a teacher with such dedication to its job. Great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2009

The teachers are very good and they understand the students and teach them in a fun way. The students are very friendly and awesome. This school will leave you with nothing but the best memories (:
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2009

There is a very good school in Miami and that is Glades Middle School. The staff ,the teachers and the Principal are great human beings. This is a wonderful school. You can see how hard they try and how friendly they are towards everyone that walk in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2008

Glades Middle School, is a great school, it has everything you can possibly ask for in a middle school. From it's time pacing teachers to there tough security Glades is that one school that all the other schools look up to and say, 'I wish our school was as good as there's.'
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2008

this school is awesome i love it
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2008

glades is a really great school and it has the best teachers i have ever met and i love then all every much
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 8, 2007

Glades Middle was a very good school. The administration did a great job and the teachers taught their subject matter well. There were a few extracurricular activities there but not all sports were offered, especially football and baseball. The band has been great. The academics were a little shaky but great. There was an outstanding Gifted and ESE program there and it is one of the strenghts of the school.The security was top-notch and was friendly. The only bad area is that the lunch wasn't always so appetizing. Overall I recommend that your child goes here.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 25, 2006

My daughter went to this school for the last 3 years. 2003/2006. All I can say is oustanding. The ESE department would not hesitate one bit to help my daughter with any of her needs. I don't have words to express my gratitude to Ms. Blanca Correa, Alina Revilla, ,Kim Givens, Sylvia Gutierrez and other ladies that work with the one on one students. What a special personnel to work with special kids. Sincerely a very satisfied parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2006

I was a student at glades last year and although I disagree with many of the comments here I also have to agree. I have gone to 4 middle schools between 6-8 grade and I have to say glades was the best. My friends were great and so were most of my teachers. They were super nice and so understanding. The math teachers are phenomenal and the language arts teachers are extremely strict. Security is great, and the principal was the best. The soccer team was the best thing I've ever done. And Washington was incredible.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 5, 2006

This school is amazing. The teachers go above and beyond.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 2, 2005

The academic program is very good, and most of the teachers are excellent. The school is somewhat overcrowded, but the administration does its best. The principal is very good and motivated.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 22, 2005

This school is very concerned with students progress and discipline. I believe their sport team is good and disciplined also. Parent involvment is seen through curricular and extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2005

The school offers a wide range of programs for the students. It is in a great area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

I have to say as a former student, I have nothing but the best memories. Now that my daughter attends Glades, I am a bit disappointed in my former school. I feel the staff is underqualified, the students unruly and disrespectful, and the curriculm is not up to par. I have to agree with one of parents who made a previous comment, there is not enough discipline. There is not enough extra cirricular activities or projects for the students to participate in. I have started looking into private schools for my daughter next year. It just saddens me to see how this school has deteriorated from when I went there. I do have to admit that compared to some of the other schools my friends' children attend, it is one of the better ones. This is our future, very sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2005

Glades Middle School has no dicipline when it comes to uniform code, electronics in the school, and reporting incidents like bottle stabings (as they say it was blown out of proportion and you have no right to speak of this you were not here.) to theft. They do not like to admit the downfall of the school and by doing this they take for granted the security of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2004

My children came from a private school last year and have made the transition rather smoothly. I think this is greatly due to administration and the control they have with the students. As with everything there have been some questionable situations but all in all I'm very pleased with the education my children are receiving and the rules and regulations that are in place at Glades Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2004

I go to glades and it is a very good school. Good teachers and dicipline. I recomend it to any parent that wants to take their child.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

414 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

414 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

320 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

375 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

399 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

363 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

396 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

398 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 86% 29%
White 10% 42%
Asian 2% 3%
Black 2% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 57%58%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 4%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Elio Falconjr.
Fax number
  • (305) 271-0402

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9451 SW 64th St
Miami, FL 33173
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 271-3342

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT