Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Norma Butler Bossard Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1289 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

My daughter completed the VPK program last year and had an excellent experience! The teachers were not only extremely loving and caring, but made sure that she learned more than what was required for a pre-k student! I am very grateful that she was able to participate in the program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2014

I am amazed by the great job all the teachers and staff in general do day after day, year after year. I wouldn't change a thing. We have two kids at the school and we have experienced all grade levels. Teachers are amazing and go beyond helping your child. Feels like a big family to us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2013

The administration at this school SUCKS. everyone is extremely RUDE. no manners, don't even greet the parents HORRIBLE they should really attend a customer service class...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2013

I graduated from the 5th grade class of 2013 at NBB with Mrs.Kelly Hobby. She has been an amazing teacher.I loved the way she taught every subject to the class, in other words she was an amazing teacher. She never lost focus and was always determined to help all of her students learn and succeed.Thank you for being you, for a great school year, recess, and for always going the extra mile as a teacher.I can t think of a teacher who could have made this year any more special than you did. I will always remember you.


Posted June 11, 2013

My son is now graduating from the 5th grade class at NBB with Ms. Kelly Hobby. She has been an amazing teacher. The students enjoyed going to school because she made learning fun. She never lost focus on what was important in the curriculum and always made sure the students had the opportunity to ask questions and understand the topic. I could always reach out to her for feedback on his assignments and grades. My son received all 5s in his FCAT Science, Math and Reading and a lot of it has to do with Ms. Hobby's skills of being a teacher. She will be missed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

I love this school! I think adminstration has done a wonderful job taking care of such an enormous amount of students and parents. The teachers love what they do and go above and beyond the call of duty. Everyone has a bad day, there is always a transitional period when new leadership comes to a new place, and although this principal is different than the previous one, I think Ms. Medina is great. She is helpful and compassionate and loves what she does.


Posted October 22, 2012

Somohano not qualified enough! I've heard great comments about NBB, though I have encountered bad experiences with the Assistant Principal Lorena Somohano. She has snapped at my daughter (K) twice for no reason. First time Ms. Somohano did not know I was around and spoke to her in a MEAN way. Second time I was present and could not believe someone with a positon as a Assistant Principal would not have the skills to speak or at least pay attention to what kids have to say. Ignoring does not nurture or lead to anything positive, especially if a K student is approaching you to express something. May not affect your day, but definately affects theirs! I held back as I don't want any reprisals to be taken against my daughter. Though everyone else has been very nice and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2012

I do not like the school principal NBB. Ms Medina is mediocre. She don't know how to talk to students and parents. She don't know how to organize activities. Last Christmas was a poor performance at the Christmas show and was her fault. The other school principal who was better and was who put high the name of the school, now she is no longer in school and everything is a mess. The teachers and staff are very good. They deserve a better leader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2012

I like the school and the staff but it is way overcrowded these kids must come from other districts no way so many live in this small district... 36 kids in a Kindergarten class is crazy!!!!!! Also quite a few unattended children left alone in the courtyard before school opens with no supervision ..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2012

I cannot stress enough how outstanding the Pre-K program is at NBB. The teachers are more than qualified for this program. I have my daughter there and its incredible how advanced she is now compared to the begining of the school year. Mrs. Reid & Mrs. Ojeda are such beautiful woman, inside & out! Thank you for teaching my little one everything she know today!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2012

Having a doctoral degree in human behavior I fully grasp the concept of nurturing, exciting and motivating a young brain. Being a working single mother of two I am appreciative of all the help I can get in stimulating my little one's brains with knowledge while enjoying the process! My boys are in the Extended Foreign Language program and I could not be any happier with the teachers they have had. Mrs. Gonzalez in kindergarten is a gem. I always felt her support in educating my sons. My older son now has mrs. Ramos. I could not be happier as a parent. She is lovingly strict with motherly expectations of all of her students. She is caring and takes any amount of her personal time to discuss your child with you! I am so pleased to have this staff at this school on my team in helping me educate my children. I am extremely happy with my choice of placing them here and not in private school! I must also comment on NBB's drama and chorus curriculum. Having attended other school drama functions, NBB STANDS OUT!!!! Great job! Will continue to do my part to make this school continue to do its exemplary job! Congratulations!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

The best teachers ever!!! Our daughters entered Norma Butler Bossard in the fall of 2010 in the Pre-K program with two of the most amazing teachers ever, Mrs. Ojeda and Mrs. Reid. Together these teachers make a solid team. They not only nurture their pre-k students with way advanced teachings (college work as they call it) but fill each day with endless love and happiness. When the pre-k year ended, our girls were more than ready for Kindergarten and beyond. Thank you Mrs. Ojeda and Mr. Reid. You are the greatest and the girls absolutely adore you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2012

Norma Butler Bossard is an amazing school. When our twin daughters were ready for Pre-K, my husband and I really contemplated placing our children in a public school. Today we are happy to say that we are extremely happy we chose Norma Butler. All around this school is a wonderful and the staff is incomparable. The principal and both the assistant principals are solid leaders who care for each and every kid in the school and know exactly who each child is. The teachers really care that their students are receiving the utmost learning experience and really take pride in what they do. By far, I have never heard of or seen such a large public school like NBB that has such a family environment. Without a doubt, our daughters are in the best school ever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2012

I wanted to commend the prek teachers, Mrs. Ojeda and Mrs. Reid. My daughter went for her annual check up and informed her doctor that her heart pumps blood through her body, her lungs help her breath air and her skeleton held it all together! The doctor was extremely impressed with her ability to articulate all that information. My daughter told her she was studying the human body this week. I was extremely proud of both my daughter and her teachers! Thank you Ms. Ojeda & Ms. Reid! You guys are the best! My daughter loves you guys and so do I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2011

I just want to say this is an amazing school! My daughter attended Pre-K and Ms. Ojeda and Ms. Reid are the best teachers ever!!! My daughter is very prepared for kinder he knows how to read and write. The love and care she received from there was so amazing!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

This is a great school with amazing teachers. I transfered my daughter from Calusa to NBB and what a change! she is happy and confident and doing great. Her teachers (Ms. Baez/Ms. Westbrook) are the best even with 40+ kids in the class room. I regret not having transfer sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2010

Thank you to the teacher that commented on my review, I'm the concerned grandmother. Yes, I just found out there is a teacher on the second floor making sure everything goes smoothly. I am very happy about my 3 grandkids teachers. I have a grandson in 2nd grade, one of his teachers is Mr. Best, and yes I agree with some of the comments, he is a wonderful teacher. The other teacher is Ms. Lopez, a great teacher as well. My only concern is the amount of kids in many of the classrooms, 40 is a little too much. I have been a volunteer for 3 years. I want to go back to helping in the cafeteria, lack of adult supervision, but I hear no parents allow during lunch hour. NBB is one of the best schools in the area, but not as organized as it used to be.


Posted August 25, 2010

I just would like to put the concerned grandmother at ease. I am a teacher at NBB and I guarantee to you that the kids are being watched on the second and third floor. The administration pays teachers overtime to come in at 7:30 am and monitor around the second and third floors. If you have any other questions please ask the administration. Your kids are safe. :)
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 1, 2010

The school was exelent when the first principal was there, now its a mess' last year for my kids thank's god.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

Frst and foremost I beleive parent involvement is a key to a successful student. They are there to partner not do theie job and your job too. My daughter is a fifth grade gifted student. I could not be more pleased with the school and staff. If your child gets Mr. Best...remember his name he is just that ..THE BEST! YOU WILL NEVER FORGET HIM HE IS TRULY A GIFT AND HE LOVES WHAT HE DOES AS DO MANY TEACHERS AT THE SCHOOL. Other teachers to mention..Mrs. Carver (excellent gifted teacher) Dr. Blose,Ms. Clement , Ms. Porras, Mr Nest, Shiloh (after school) and Assistant Ms. Somohano. I am forever grateful for all they have given Kiana..Thank you ...Carla Bustamante
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

195 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

195 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

230 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

230 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

227 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

224 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

224 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

224 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

230 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 87%
White 6%
Black 3%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 31%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%58%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15950 Southwest 144th Street
Miami, FL 33196
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 254-5200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT