Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pinecrest Academy (South Campus)

Charter | PK-5 | 750 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 24, 2013

Teachers believe they are entitled here and are beyond snobby. Principal send out mass email warning parent to not park in a teachers parking spot and to carpool instead. There are only around 4parent parking spots in the entire school. If your kid is in before or after care you have to park. Administration has a horrible attitude, treat parents like garbage. Will be taking daughter out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

This is a very good school!!!its safe too.I am happy to have had my son since 1st grade.I recommend this school!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

This school is amazing! The staff is so loving and caring toward the students! Best decision I've ever made! We love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2012

GREAT GREAT!!! School, the best principal in the area, the best techers, the best thecher of P.E Mrs love, no one school can be comparable with this school,And my BOY is adorable because came from this school, The charter schools are the amazing sistem, Am sure that i am going continuing with the same school when my children going to middle, the public schools are the worst control about security,they have guns, drugs and etc. every day i can check the students when a pass close to others public school,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2012

My daughter was accepted mid year to Pinecrest South from the #1 charter school around the area. All I can say is, what a change! The atmosphere around campus is so positive. I was hesitant on changing schools mid year and my daughter be the "new girl." Instead of some backlash, all I got was positive reinforcements. She actually liked doing her homework, waking up in the mornings to go to school. The staff is excellent from Adela & Ms. Jackie in morning care to THE best 2nd grade teacher, Ms. Lopez. All I can say is what a welcomed change. Looking forward to the next school year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2012

This school has made a big difference in my grandson's lfe, in every way. He is an A's only student now, he participates in all their activities, sports, music, he is an advance reader, good at math, excellent friend (loyal, sharing , big helper), you see this at Pinecrest. Teachers and all the staff know and work closely with each one of the students. Cheer and guide them when needed. His parents and me love this school!


Posted May 28, 2012

I am very disappointed with this school. There are very few good teachers and administration staff is rude. The assistant principle is unsupportive and arrogant. The only good thing I have to say about this school is that my child enjoys the fun activities.... Other than that it is horrible!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

PAC is a great school that encourage kids to read, my daughter is very happy and she always want too go to school to learn and be involve in the school acitvities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

PAC is an amazing school! The administration and teachers are well equipped and dedicated to making every student shine. As soon as you walk into the main office, you encounter a wonderful sense of community! I feel very blessed that my three children have an opportunity to be part of such a great school. Go Pirates!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

THEY ARE GREAT!! GREAT STAFF!!! GREAT LOCATION!!!GREAT EVERYTHING :). THEY HAVE THE BEST TEACHERS, MRS. CANGEMI -MR. GIL -MS. ALLI YOU ARE DOING A GREAT JOB GO PIRATES!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2011

My son and myself had an awful experience. I hated the school and my son got the worst teacher ever. He is now in a wonderful school were he is appreciated and is doing GREAT! The teachers and administration was horrible and very unpleasant


Posted April 11, 2011

I LOVE PINECREST!! EVERYTHING IS GREAT!!!! STAFF IS AWESOME, MS. CANGEMI IS A REAL LEADER, SHE LOVES HER WORK AD SHE DO IT GREAT, ALL THE TEACHERS ARE WONDERFUL. I LOVE MY THREE CHILDRENS AND i WANT THE BEST FOR THEM , I DRIVE FOR AN HOUR TO GET THERE BUT IT IS NOT PROBLEM FOR ME BECAUSE I KNOW THEY ARE RECEIVING THE BEST EDUCATION.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

Pinecrest Academy South is a wonderful school with great staff, administration and faculty! I am glad to have my children in a school where they are academically challenged and LEARNING! The so called "cold read" tests have been around since the school opened and there has never been an issue with them before. I have one child that struggles wtih the "Cold Read" tests and my other child does not. I want my children to be challenged and be proivded with the opportunity for growth and Pinecrest Academy South provides that and much more for my children. I have been a parent at this school for five years and have nothing but wonderful things to say! Mrs. Cangemi is a great principal and is always willing to listen and the administration is very CONSCIOUS and concerned with the children of the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2010

I am surprised that a parent of Pinecrest Academy can make such a bad comment about the school and the administration. My child has been at that school since kindergarden and I am very happy with the staff and the school. As a matter of fact I was one of the first mom that talk to the principal on Tuesday in regards to the Cold Reading Tests and I am very gratefull of the way she treated us and that she took her time (with me in particular about 1 hour) to hear our concerns. We just showed up at the school without an appoitment and she saw us all. I know she will help our kids and overall we are HAPPPY that we have a principal like Mrs. Cangemi. Those parent that couldn't see her that day are still making appoitments and meeting with her at the moment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

We used to be very happy at Pinecrest Academy South, however today after more than forty parents protested in front of the administration office and we saw the way we were treated, we truly believe that the administration should be removed and replace for a more conscious one. I do not think that the principal is concern about the psychological welfare of the students. I think that the parents should take this to the local news and to the district, children and taxpayers should not be treated like this. We have the right to have our concerns validated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2010

Pinecrest Academy is an excellent school, teachers and staff are great. I love the school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2010

AMAZING SCHOOL AND STAFF !! THEY ARE VERY WELL ORGANIZED. THE PRINCIPAL IS WONDERFUL AND VERY HANDS ON!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2010

Good school. The staff is very nice and friendly. The security is better than other schools. Ms. Castanedo was a great teacher last year, I strongly recomend her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2010

The year before lasts principal was worst now she has moved on to PPMH very good school except their are a bit TOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO strict -.-
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2010

academically very good school, however they should have better extra curricular activities, like dance, instruments, swimming (at least in another campus), because they only offer little extra curricular activities and you have to look for them outside school. the principal is excelent, however they should have a more younger and active person at the reception,
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 93% 29%
White 4% 42%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black N/A 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%58%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15130 SW 80th St
Miami, FL 33193
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 386-0800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Kingdom Academy
Miami, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT