Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

413 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
48 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 59 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Young Womens Preparatory Academy
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted October 05, 2015
- a parent
Ms Jordan is an AMAZING Art and Gifted teacher. She is a true artist and brings so much to the table. My daughter learned so much from her in her Art classes. Thank You for your knowledge and for sharing your gift with the girls at YWPA.

Young Womens Preparatory Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 05, 2015
- a parent
Wonderful teachers so far. I have yet to find a bad one in the last 3 years.


Young Womens Preparatory Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 05, 2015
- a parent
This is a general problem in most schools and not just YWPA. I'm a firm believer that after several hours at school, students should be able to go home and disconnect. Unfortunately that does not exist in any Dade County public school that I know of. We have lost sight of kids having personal time with so much rigorous demands. Kids should not have to be up til 11pm doing homework after spending the day at school. Add to that projects during the weekend, and we have kids that are burnt out. Again, this is not just YWPA. It would be great for them to be the innovators and limit school work to SCHOOL hours. Kids would be much less stressed and happier. EIther way, I love this school.

Young Womens Preparatory Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 05, 2015
- a parent
High academic standards require persistence, grit and determination from the students. If you don't give up, you will succeed.

Young Womens Preparatory Academy 5

Posted October 05, 2015
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. My daughter is on her 3rd year. This school provides a safe, nurturing, and highly academic environment for my daughter. I have yet to find a better school I could have chosen for my daughter and am grateful for what the administration, staff and teachers do for the girls. It's a tough school, with advanced courses but in the end, I have found that my daughter has flourished and learned much more than at a coed school where she would have been more worried about the boys, makeup and flirting, than concentrating on her education. This school is a hidden gem. If you truly care about your daughter's education and can get past the fact that it's all girls, I highly recommend it. She will definitely be staying for high school.


Young Womens Preparatory Academy 5

Posted September 06, 2014
- a community member
I currently attend this school and am in the seventh grade, i recieved a perfect reading FCAT score and a high 5 on the math. I think this school is a great middle school but am not planning on attending highschool. If you want the right information take it from me, i have attended the school for two years and one of my best friends has attended it for three and is in the eight grade. I think it is a good middle school and has a very great academic program.

Young Womens Preparatory Academy 5

Posted July 23, 2014
- a parent
As to the post of June 29th, again this is the same individual that cannot address the facts and objective measurements that reflect the excellence of YWPA. YWPA is a leadership-magnet school with an advanced curriculum. As noted on the YWPA website the school has been rated as the 9th most rigorous high school in the United States by the Washington Post. The school does teach, foster and promote its leadership program with a lot more breadth, scope and purpose than simply the 7 Habits program. It is part of each teacher's obligation at YWPA to instill leadership concepts and instruction into the curriculum. Again the facts speak for themselves. One Gates Millenium Leadership Scholarship, Two POSSE Leadership Scholarships and multiple other awards and recognition for leadership. Some people only want to teardown, often in an effort to mask other issues. Take it from a parent that has spent 8 years involved with the school both as a parent of a student, and as an ESSAC representitive. I know the facts and have the information to support my contentions. As I previously reminded the poster, you are entitled to your own opinion but not your own set of facts.

Young Womens Preparatory Academy 1

Posted June 29, 2014
- a parent
The leadership program does not exist as a formal program in this school is just a label, the program is based on an outdated self help book which the school isn't even authorized to implement due to the fact they lack a license to implement it. This blog is designed to help parents voice their opinion about problems within the school that need fixing in hopes they would be corrected.To parents: when choosing a new school the rule of thumb is "buyers beware" don't get caught in the "statistics mumbo jumbo"...


Young Womens Preparatory Academy 1

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
To be honest, this school has been such a traumatizing experience for both me and my child. When I first took a tour of this school, they informed me that the school was an academically rigorous academy with individualized teaching and plenty of room for my child to learn and grow and it pains me to say that not only was I bamboozled, but so were all of the parents who sent their children here expecting a decent education. The majority of the teachers lack the skills and abilities to teach the students and simply just feed them enough information to pass the class, the teachers treat the students as their own children which has become an increasingly disturbing problem, and the students that they accept into the school lack the academic motivation to succeed. Overall, one of the worst school experiences, me and my child have had to endure.

Young Womens Preparatory Academy 5

Posted January 08, 2014
- a parent
Young Women's Preparatory Academy is fantastic opportunity for highly motivated young women to receive an education of quality and depth and place themselves in a position to be college ready at the time of graduation.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Young Womens Preparatory Academy
1150 Southwest 1st Street, Miami, FL  33130
(305) 575-1200
Last modified Young Womens Preparatory Academy is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Young Womens Preparatory Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. Top