Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shenandoah Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1105 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 20, 2013

Shenandoah Middle school best quality is it's staff. Amazing educators that will inspire you and allow you to have a happy learning experience. They don't want to stress you out they just want you to be an innovator. Ms. Pestana, Ms. Perez-Noy, Ms. Lancis are top of the line teachers, you couldn't ask for more knowledge driven people like these. Shenandoah Middle does need to work on the creating schedules process, time after time students were put into classes far from what they have chosen and it just makes them have a bad middle school experience. Schedule need to be given more importance too.


Posted August 10, 2013

This school is going down if the music program is removed. Hopefully other electives will remain.


Posted February 6, 2011

This school is the best!!!!!!!!!!! the best teachers are Ms.Jolicoeur, Ms.Midence, Mr.Leon, and Ms.Cruz. If you are going to middle school or wanting to change schools, GO TO SHENANDOAH CUZ ITS THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Posted January 19, 2011

Best magnet school on Miami!!!!! It has the best quality but don't join the bilingual program at Shenandoah!!!


Posted April 2, 2010

i graduated class of 09 from shenandoah this school is so great!!! i dont kno y people are always sayin its such a bad school in every school yoour gonna have bad kids and the EFL Program is awsoem i had so many good teachers like Ms.Humara , Ms.M.Rodriguez ,Mr.Tenacio, Ms.Askins,Mr.Smith,..and so many more awsome shool!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2009

This school is the best school ever, there's many great teachers, who are dedicated in making sure we get the best curriculum needed and there really nice, I'm in the bilingual program and the magnet program. I love shenandoah!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2009

Ms.Jolicoeur is the best teacher ever!!!!!!!!!!!! This school is very good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2008

The schools security is excellent. Teachers and the office faculty have one message that is very clear and powerful, education is the number one priority. My other option was South Miami, I was almost fooled by the advertising. Thankfully I did some research on my own and found out disturbing things about the school program, teachers, and student treatment. Way too much fundraising with bad intentions, they sell pizza,cookies,sweets and soft drinks daily. These are the things that we are supposed to be trying to get away from for our children and teach them good eating habits for life. Parents who do not have children in any of the magnet programs are never made aware of any shows and the kids are treated as second-class students. The school is mostly interested in the magnet program children. No focus on education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2008

ms.jolicoeur, mr. leon, ms. teresa gonzalez, ms. cruz-askins, and mr. ventura are the best teachers i have ever had!!! there are so many other theachers in the school that i know and miss, just because of their effort in teaching and enthusiasm.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2007

Mr. Marcelo is the best teacher ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2006

My daughter was very happy in this school, she loved her teachers, her ambition to keep learning and growing always was always up there. She was a special student and her teachers made her feel so great. and i think the direction of the principal is #1.....so yes, this school is great. and i went there also, Im 50 now. so Im happy to say this school still rules!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

My son has attended Shenandoah Middle School for almost three (3) years now and I have yet to have a complaint for this school. I had my doubts at first, but the quality teachers involved in the academics of this school changed my views. I feel that Shenandoah has the capacity of being an 'A' school in Dade County. A caring, loving and respectful team work at Shenandoah, making sure our kids get the best learning experience. Thank you for making these years in son's life a meaningful and entertaining one. My hats off to all of you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

My daughter graduated from 8th grade this past yr and I must say that she never had any poblems whatsoever with any other student or teacher. Surely, you will always find difficult & lazy, non-caring teachers anywhere. Security is good, and academic progams are average, and the real McCoy depends, as always, on the child's interrest & effort.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2005

This school is truly rife with potential. Not only have they developed one of the top bilingual programs in South Florida in the course of only a quarter of a decade, but they now have a new, multi-million dollar magnet program for museum education and a safe, clean, friendly learning environment. The school has a solid core of caring administrative personnel and they have a new wave of young, enthusiastic teachers. This is a school on the way up.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 26, 2004

Initially when it was my daughter time for her go to middle school I was hesitating in sending her to Shenandoah. However, I registered her there anyway, as year has progressed I have seen how well my daughter has done in this school. This is due to the great teachers that she has had the pleasure of having. Unfortunately, not all teachers are the same but thank God to the few that have proven that there are still a few good teachers with the love of the profession. Unfortunately, teachers are over worked, under paid with little support, however here in Shenandoah the teachers have been great and not allowed these obstacles prevent them from doing their job. My experience here has been great and I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

Well I think that this school is a good learning enviroment for my child the teachers staff and principle are such kind people even though they dont know you and are new they treat u good i would like to thank all the amazing people at this school thank you!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

352 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

355 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

329 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

373 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

239 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

387 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

367 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
33%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

378 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

338 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 92%
Black 6%
White 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 22%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 93%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%58%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 9%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. HUMBERTO J MIRET
Fax number
  • (305) 856-7049

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1950 Southwest 19th Street
Miami, FL 33145
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 856-8282

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT