Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,146 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


W. R. Thomas Middle School 3

Posted March 17, 2016
- a parent
I have a love, hate relationship with this school. My son is doing well in all his classes. The problem that I have is with some of the staff members and faculty. Like every school, this one definitely has its rotten apples. I appreciate the amazing teachers that work diligently with my son. He has made many friends and for the first time he likes attending school. I only talk with the Principal when I have an issue. He is civil, well-mannered,educated, and a good listener. However, if slightly pressured, his demeanor can change and he can be a little condescending. As for both Assistant Principals, the male is narcissistic and quite arrogant. The female can be friendly but inept. You're best bet is to talk to the Principal. The office staff has a few ladies that are friendly and helpful. The others are not. It all depends who you speak with. This is the best school that my son has attended though.

W. R. Thomas Middle School 1

Posted November 04, 2015
- a student
I am an 8th grader. The three years i have been learning very few things. The teachers are very strict, rude, and disrespectful. They absolutely don't care if you fail the class or not. Meaning, they lack motivation to us. The learning environment is the most drab and boring setting you can ever wish your kids to live with for three years. Not to mention, the administration sucks terribly in discipline (Except for Rodriguez). The only reason why i survived through these three years is because of my friends. Not because of the teachers. i suggest looking in to a different school. i'm going to be fair, there are some exciting opportunities (very few).


W. R. Thomas Middle School 2

Posted February 26, 2015
- a parent
My daughter study in this school in 6th grade and the treachers doesn't had matters with the kids. My girl is a polite girl She's in Cambridge Program and the teachers always screen and say bad word in front of the kids. Otherwise, never attends in a proper matters to parents. My advice for the board of MIami Dade Publics School is you have to supervise more often this school.

W. R. Thomas Middle School 5

Posted September 03, 2014
- a community member
WRT is the most amazing school I've ever been to. I'm an 8th Grader and my years at this school have been nothing but amazing. Everyone is so nice and welcoming and the teachers explain everything in a way that's easy for students to understand. I was very lucky to attend this school and I recommend W.R. Thomas to everyone!!

W. R. Thomas Middle School 1

Posted May 13, 2014
- a parent
This school is nonsense. the # of fights that take place in this school is ridiculous Not to mention a lot of haters/cyber bullys. The teachers don't care all they do is give them a detention. The teachers also are so strict and i am aware that most of the teachers were not educated in teaching the subject they are teaching. I am really dissapointed that my child will not attend this school next year but GMAA a private school.


W. R. Thomas Middle School 4

Posted November 24, 2013
- a community member
Im a 6th grader in this school and i enjoy the school alot because of its academic progress but!!!! there is alot of fight's and disrespectful teachers and STAFF such as AS PRINC and PRINC!!!!!!! im not one of the ones who behave bad and that's my critic im jut giving an opinion. the school has no windows (not a pretty school) becuase it is a shelter for hurricanes and stuff it looks like a prison by the way but it has cameras everywere like in every room so its pretty safe. i recomend this school to the students that are able to have the responsibility to work correcty and to be determined to do all class assingnments.... and no im not a nerd im just useing good vocab...... sooo yea BYE!! (.__.)

W. R. Thomas Middle School 4

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
WR Thomas has made it posible for my daughter to feel confortable and happy at an age that this can be difficult. She is currently in 8 th grade and the fact that she feels well translates in good grades.The only issue is that she has a large amounts of homework, 3-5 hours of homework at least 3 times a week, the rest of the days an average 2.5 hrs. The school environment is very friendly and open doors policy.

W. R. Thomas Middle School 5

Posted June 07, 2012
- a parent
IMy children are so happy and involve with the school academic program and with extracurricular programs and clubs. Cambridge ProgramTeachers are excellent; they not only teach the subject, but also motivate students to research and expand their knowledge. Field Trips take students to places in which they could reenforce concepts learned in class. The Principal, Assistant Principals and teachers supervise, guide and encorage students to participate in school activities. The comunication between the administration, teachers and parents is great, Definitely, I reccomend this school for having a Cambridge Program, great teacher and excellent leadership.


W. R. Thomas Middle School 3

Posted September 26, 2011
- a parent
Well in my opinion this school is good. so far so good from august 22 until today., no problem. The cambrigde program is going so fast, that the kids dont have time to think in other things. but, every PARENT HAS TO SUPERVISED YOUR KID, NO THE TEACHER, ITS YOU!!!! Be next to him/her, Ask , who, who, where, what happens, ????? and you will know EVERYTHING about your child

W. R. Thomas Middle School 2

Posted September 01, 2011
- a community member
Being a former student and all i really think the school is not Good place to be, the only thing that made me stay in that school was my friends but that school sucks,not the best.

Nearby schools

W. R. Thomas Middle School
13001 Southwest 26th Street, Miami, FL  33175
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. (305) 995-3800
Last modified W. R. Thomas Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top