Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Miami Palmetto Senior High School

Public | 8-12 | 2714 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 12, 2010

My four kids graduated from Miami-Palmetto High School and I feel they got one of the best educations they could receive in public high school in Miami.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2010

Why wasn't my original review posted? I did not have a favorable post for this school as I see most that have commented don't either. My son started two days ago as a freshman and I am so disgusted with the administration of that school. The pure arrogance of the couselors and principal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

My sons school is a great school to attend and they keep you informed with pta meetings, activities, the class work and my sons love there school and respect there administrators...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

I graduated in 2009 in the top 5% and am now at UF. The school is filthy and dilapidated but the students are the brightest in Miami. Nearly all of the problems facing the school are due to the fact that it is part of MDCPS. Miami-Dade County is a desperately poor place and so is its huge school district. Most of the teachers are great but unfortunately many of the best are leaving. The school gets its good name from its students. The high test scores have very little to do with the teachers or the school. Put any school in a highly educated, affluent neighborhood and the students will find a way to excel. If you are highly motivated, this school can get you in to the college of your dreams. But, if you are still an immature kid try a daycare i.e. private school. No hand holding here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

Our mission at Miami Palmetto Senior High is to challenge our students to achieve and demonstrate excellence, integrity, and responsibility. Our Mission statement: VIS PER SCIENTIAM Strength through Knowledge says it all.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2009

It busses in kids and is a school of have and have nots and does well giving opportunity to those who want it.


Posted January 2, 2009

this school is rather over rated. i switched into the school this year as a junior. it is my third high school in three years. and i must add the worst! yes there is no uniforms which is a students dream now-a-days in public school. but the school is very dirty. the locker i have is located in a hallway that is not accessable during lunch so i cant get my stuff for the afternoon unless i carry it all day. the teachers do not focus on individual students who need more help. they have an attitude as if you dont understand then too bad. my parents have tried to come in several times and are always told to make an appointment but when they call to make an appointment they wait forever. my teachers have spoken to my parents and they are rude and demeaning to them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2008

My daughter attended Palmetto only three years ago and graduated in 2005 and the school has changed drastically since then. My son now goes there and is finishing up his last year and I'm very concerned with how much this school has depreciated over the past couple years. Weiner has not done anything positive as an administrator and the leadership is diminishing. I was very disappointed when I went in for a counselor appointment last week and they had booked someone else in my place. The school is dirty and the students seem very disenchanted. I can't believe how things are rapidly changing for the worst here. This school definitely needs new administration!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2008

Good school but you need to be a proactive student to succeed. The large student population will prevent educators from noticing you if you don't make your voice heard.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2008

My son is new to MPSH this year as a freshman. He attended very reputable private school in Hawaii last year, so this a quite a change. He tells me there are 35-40 students in every class. Unsure how this can happen since a was told Florida a state law restricting classroom size to 25. He has been is school over a week and his schedule is still not right. he flew all the way from hawaii to audition for the comprehensive theater program and it was not on his schedule. The buliding where his locker is located is locked down at lunch, so he is unable to get his books for his afternoon classes. Ona positive note, the curriculum is expansive. He is taking an AP european history course which appears to be topnotch and he loves his honors english, math classes, as well as the Theater Program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

After working for 35 years at Palmetto I can tell you that amount of students attending good universities in our country, our SAT and ACT scores are the highest in Dade county. We have the best AP program in Dade county. But if you don't like it you can try other private schools and pay over $18,000 for a babysitting work we have many educated and caring parents. Why are we an A school if some of you say that we are so bad?


Posted August 26, 2008

This school is horrible. It is so overcrowded that the teachers cannot recognize their own students even after being in the class for a year. The main office is unorganized and it is nearly impossible to get an appointment with a counselor. I'm so glad my daughter is in SAS Homestead now!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2008

great school my daughter attend there now my son is following in her footsteps, a little too overcrowded, also lots of spanish speaking students , other than that the school is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2008

What a disappointment. We're misled by the high national ranking and the guidance counselor before we moved here from New York State. We have since learned that the rankings are based on state assessment scores, e.g. FCAT, and all assessments are definitely not equal. We were also distressed to see the lack of parental support in the school activities - evidenced by such things as the extremely poor attendance at school concerts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

Good school for the self-motivated student, nice mix of academic (AP courses), sports and other activities. Physical plant is dated. Some excellent teachers. Principal Weiner is not too effective. Needs better leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

Miami Palmetto is an average high school. The teachers don't contact parents when the student is having difficulties nor do they return phone calls or emails. There is not an effective monitoring system in place to track students having academic problems. The administration is not readily available or supportive of parent needs. Teachers that I spoke with were rude and demeaning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2007

Miami Palmetto High School is a fine school with the potential for excellence. The talent and dedication of the teaching staff is impressive. The level of academic challenges is incomparable for a non-magnate high school with considerable diversity. Opportunities in sports, art, music and clubs abound. There is however, a lack of pride in the school that emanates from the top. It is embarrassing for a high school in an upscale neighborhood to have such deplorable conditions. Administration must demand that custodians and security personnel perform the jobs for which they are compensated. Parents, residents and taxpayers are stakeholders in ensuring that the Principal and Administrators not only offer a high level of education, but also provide a safe and hygienic environment for our students to succeed. It is incumbent upon the school administrators to maintain a physical structure that promotes academic excellence and preserves property values and community pride.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2006

My daughter graduated from this school in 2005 and is now in her Junior year at University of California at Berkeley. The AP classes she took at Palmetto gave her a year's worth of college credits. I took her out of a top notch private school to go to Palmetto and that is where she got the best well-rounded education, including all the activities - sports, clubs, etc. in a very challenging environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2006

This school is a great school! Even though I won't be attending my senior year because I am moving out of the state, I do recommend this school..The only problem is that the slow is starting to overcrowd because of the students that are not suppose to be going to that school. Two years ago, we did not have as much students as we do now. But besides that, this school has it all!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2006

Outstanding school! The teachers have been my daughter's finest.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

693 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

614 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

643 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

637 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

404 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
52%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

582 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

534 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 43%
White 35%
Black 17%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 2%N/A2%
Graduation rate 86%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 48%58%61%
Master's degree 45%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 4%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Newsweek Top 100 High Schools (2007)
  • Envirothon National Champions (2004)
  • Top High School in the District for Athletics (2007)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 a.m.
School end time
  • 2:30p.m.
School Leader's name
  • DR. ALLISON HARLEY
Fax number
  • (305) 235-7169

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Club Lacrosse
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Club Lacrosse
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7460 Southwest 118th Street
Miami, FL 33156
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 235-1360

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT