Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Miami Sunset Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 1921 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 22, 2008

I graduated from Sunset in June 2008 and now I attend the University of Florida! I am not alone, I know at least 10 of my classmates are here at UF too. It's a knight thing. Sunset is a great school. Consider yourself lucky if you go to this school. I loved it!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2008

Miami Sunset Senior High is a phenomenal school. I can say that because I attended the school all four years from my freshman year to my senior year. Sunset was built in 1977 and opened its doors that same year. Beginning in the late 1990s, Sunset became one of many overcrowded schools in the county, due to the recent population explosion in the metropolitan area. It is one of the best schools I have ever attended were I have learned alot over all courses. not only did i learn but teachers also showed us real life uses. If it wasn't for miami sunset senior high I don't know where I'd be today. As of today I am currently enrolled into one of florida's best colleges and my major is business concentrating on industrial business. Thank you so much miami sunset senior high. Graduate of 2008 Moises Gutierrez
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2008

I am so glad that I transferred out of Coral Reef to go here. This school is amazing. I took several different electives and the AP classes are challenging, and nobody acts like they are better than you. Don't fall into the magnet trap...they really keep you locked into one box!!! Sunset has brought me back to life. I'm looking forward to college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

i love my school =) its wonderful great teachers and great after school activities
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2008

Without a doubt this is the best school in Miami Dade. Safe, Fun, and Educational. Sunset graduates get into the same colleges as the mega magnet, and are much better rounded and prepared for the real world. The spirit of the school is amazing, I should know I transfered out of the Reef because of the back stabbing. Best decision I ever made. Go Knights!!! I'm off to Princeton.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2008

I am currently a student at miami sunset senior high school and I am in the top ten of the school. Along the way, I have met some inspiring teachers and unique individuals with bright futures ahead of them. It just goes to show that the grade given to schools is only so because of the variety of students in that school...You can't hide that knight pride!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2007

Although ranked as a 'D' school, Miami Sunset is a superior academic institution. The teachers there enjoy their profession and do an excellent job sharing their love of knowledge with their students. I am proud to be a Sunset Knight.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2007

Sunset is a great school. The students really care about each other and they are so spirited!!!Very very safe environment. It was great for my son because he could chose to take a variety of classes that he liked, as opposed to a magnet school where you are forced to study one thing for 4 years. My daughter went to the Reef and after the 2nd year she wanted to study something else and could not, so from experience I would recommend Sunset over any magnet program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

I went there. Excellent school, excellent staff!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 13, 2007

I'm very dissapointed in the administration. For the past 2 years the school has been steadily declining. Sunset was 1 point away from a B rating two years ago and now they are a D school. That is unacceptable. The website is below average and nothing is being done to improve the schools reputation. The English language is not a priority there and it shows in the test scores. Our students deserve better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

This is a 'D' school!!!! I blame the administration. There is no attempt to increase student achievement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

All 4 of my children have attended Miami Sunset Senior High. My fourth child will graduate from Sunset High School in 2008. My children did very well at Sunset and were always involved in extra curriculum activities. Advisors and administrators have always responded immediately to any of my concerns. Sunset has an outstanding security system. I will continue to look forward to be associated with Sunset High School as I now have 3 grandchildren of which two will attend Sunset High. Hats of to Sunset Knights! Gloria Vallina
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted June 12, 2007

The most spirited and safe school in Miami! The academic opportunities are great. The teachers are experienced and the students really get along.I transfered from the reef because of gangs, and this school is so much safer. The AP classes are challenging, but much better than the other school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 27, 2006

Im not a parent. I am a student at sunset. I am going into my senior year and I am moving out of the state and I am verry sad to leave. It is a great school. I love it. I went to another school before and it dosent even compare. Everyone is sooo school spirited and its verybig in sports. Its just great
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2006

Very good school in academics and sports. My niece is very happy to be a student in that school. The counselors are very understanding and they help the students out when need be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

Great school ... all three of my children graduated from Sunset. One of my children Nicole was in the top 20 hitters list for Miami for girls softball. Parent involvement is up in the past three years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2005

Not good academic programs. Very few extracurricular actvities. Hardly no parent involvement.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 26, 2005

this school is a dedicated one the quality of academic programs is accessible and the deciation superb almost all sports are available and the level of parent involvement is sufficient
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2005

I graduated from Sunset senior and I have a wonderful respect for all the teachers that shaped my love for the arts. The over crowded problems of the past were remedied by the expansion of the building.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 16, 2005

I am currently a student at MS, a senior, and thus my experience so far has been quite a challenge. The faculty including teachers, administrators, and other staff are very dedicated in providing us a great educational experience. The teachers definitely stimulate our cerebral cortex, and make our neutrons fire off with each test we're given. Overall, it's a great school.(as vague as that may sound)
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

444 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

394 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

417 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

614 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
27%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

427 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

427 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 85%
White 9%
Black 5%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 11%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 2%N/A2%
Graduation rate 77%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%58%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. LUCIA M COX
Fax number
  • (305) 385-6458

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13125 Southwest 72nd Street
Miami, FL 33183
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 385-4255

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Villa Lyan
Miami, FL


Villa Lyan
Miami, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT