Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

237 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


School For Advanced Studies - South 5

Posted June 05, 2016
- a parent
My son is graduating from SAS this year (Class of 2016) with not only his high school diploma, but with his AA degree. Classes at SAS were academically challenging, but appropriate for high achieving students. Although there are no sports, there are many clubs of interest which students can take part in. My son took full advantage of them and enjoyed them a great deal. All of the teachers are very knowledgeable and truly care about each and every student. The leadership is the best MDCPS has to offer. Dr. Monteagudo, the principal, has done an outstanding job. In my opinion, SAS is "the #1" high school in Miami Dade County Public Schools. I could not have asked for a better experience for my son.

School For Advanced Studies - South
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted June 05, 2016
- a parent
I would like to thank Ms. Bray (guidance counselor at the Kendall campus) for her unwavering guidance.


School For Advanced Studies - South 5

Posted December 12, 2015
- a student
This is a great school that allows various opportunity for its students. If you are interested in applying, make sure you're prepared for tough academics!

School For Advanced Studies - South 5

Posted December 26, 2014
- a community member
When is the earliest I can sign up for sas for the 2015-2016 school year? (class of 2018)

School For Advanced Studies - South 5

Posted January 15, 2014
- a community member
This school is the best academic decision I've ever made. I've grown exponentially as a student with the mass amount of opportunities the school itself and MDC have offered me as a high school student. My fellow classmates have been exceptional friends and inspirations, all an ambitious bunch. I have made lifelong friends and fully prepared for my college education. At times the workload might seem overwhelming but those types of obstacles are what characterize an admirable, responsible student. I graduate in a few months with much pride knowing I graduate from the best school in Miami and 2nd best in Florida.


School For Advanced Studies - South 1

Posted January 11, 2014
- a community member
This school is very stressful, doesn't have a lot of diversity, and has no prep rallies, sports, etc. Or maybe it's just my campus that is like that. Not a warm family environment. I'd be having more fun and opportunities at my old school which gives you the option of both dual-enrollment and being in two prestigious magnet programs at once, plus they have sports, more diversity and etc. So why did I go to SAS? I came to be surrounded by smart kids and to get my associate's degree. But even though when I got there I was surrounded by smart kids and was given opportunity to earn an associate's degree I 100% do not believe having my experience at SAS was worth it. And I've noticed there are several ways of getting whatever SAS offers without being in SAS. So for students thinking about applying, just look at all your options first.

School For Advanced Studies - South 5

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
I CANNOT thank Mr. Lindsay enough for recruiting my son! He impressed me the moment I met him! My son's life changed the moment he was accepted! All of their students and their parents are so fortunate to have found SAS and literately won the lottery for having their children enrolled in such a fantastic program. There is no better! Especially here in Florida! As a concern'helicopter' mom, I wish ALL of Dade county's schools would follow SAS footsteps! Thank you so much for believing in my son while giving my him a great opportunity to soarer in has academic future! Sincerely, A proud single mom

School For Advanced Studies - South 2

Posted May 07, 2006
- a parent
My daughter attended this school and enjoyed her tenure here. She now attends the University of Maryland based partly on the strength of the education and guidance received at this institution.


School For Advanced Studies - South 5

Posted November 09, 2005
- a parent

School For Advanced Studies - South 5

Posted July 06, 2005
- a parent
All of the academic programs are superb and outstanding. In the end I'm happy that my child went to this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

School For Advanced Studies - South
11011 Southwest 104th Street, Miami, FL  33176
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (305) 237-0510
Last modified School For Advanced Studies - South is a Public school that serves grades 11-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top