Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William H. Turner Technical Arts High School

Public | 9-12 | 1522 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 26, 2014

Turner Tech is a school where if a student is willing to learn they will but however if they aren't interested in learning this is not the best place to be. If one does not have an interest in education they'll automatically fail at this school and really give he or she a bad reputation on their life and it'll show in their grades in the future. To conclude this, Turner Tech is a great school as long as the child put an effort in he or she studies. Current Sophomore..
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2014

I graduated from William h Turner tech from the television production program in 2010 and I'm in college now studying Mass communication with a concentration in journalism with a minor in television production and I can most definitely say that Turner tech have prepared me for college. It may not have sports but, I did run track at Miami central. And, that payed my way through college. I'm glad I went to Turner Tech instead of Miami Central. I have nothing against central


Posted August 24, 2013

Administrative personnel and teachers are extremely helpful and caring both with students and parents which makes any problem or concern be resolved right away. Opportunities to advance and get the best out of school are unlimited - great asset for students who really care about their future
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2012

learning hot to appreciate and yes, utilize,My natural initiative and enthusiasm. I was one of those Students that if portrayed in a positive light would be called rambunctious, exuberant and smart. I'm a teenager after all, and our goals is to have a good time. I could turn any material into a good time, that is if teachers let me, and most did not. But these two teachers were different. They let us transform what could easily have been a very run-of-the-mill weekly vocabulary assignment in which we were to study and incorporate as many of the new words as possible into our new enhanced Attitudes. With their blessing I try to remember that as a teenager,with all the issues and concerns that any normal teenager has, what I most wanted and appreciated was learning in a light, enjoyable way. And for this I always tell myself that if im not being engaged, or dare I say, entertained in some way,most likely im probably not learning, at least not in any meaningful way. This generation is full of teenagers and they are different. I try to remember this when facing my own reality. I am not always successful but i will be if i work at it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2011

Dont buy into all the hype trust me this school is LAME. First off everything about the school is boring it has no activities and the teachers put you to sleep. Im a sophmore at the school and its my first year here, and it will be my last! Some of these teachers barely speak english. The teachers dont even care about the students, this mite be the most uninteresting school in history. Sure it offers lots of stuff, but trust me you'll fall asleep on these teachers and you'll probably fail anyway. Whatever you do dont go to this school, you'll regret it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2010

This school is amazing. Sure it doesn't have sports, but the teachers and students are awesome. The students spent most of their time learning instead of causing drama, so I give it 5 out of 5 stars.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2009

It's an 'ok' school. It's really good academic wise, because you can get a headstart in the career you want to be in. But in sports and activities, not so much. It would be a really fun school if we at least had a sports team, but we don't.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 11, 2009

I rated this school 5 stars because it is a excellent school to be at they have 9 out 10 every professional career a child would want to be in
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2009

its ok, its not one of the best schools I ever went to. Some teachers do not teach, while other ones happen to be the best teachers i have ever had.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2009

Really great learning environment. Students don't spend much of their time causing trouble. Building education and creating a successful future is key at this school. I am a graduating senior and my experience at Turner Tech has been both educational and fun!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 13, 2008

This school was originally designed for kids with no intention on going to college; hence the dual enrollement programs and the certificated the kids graduate with. Turner Tech is an okay school, not bad but not great. Scholarship money is not to so good either.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2008

My child has been a honor roll student since she has been enrolled in Turner tech. I love the staff and how heartfelt their job is to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

Excellence is the term for Turner Tech. I will be sending my 3 sons there when the time comes. The faculty and staff are truly caring. You can feel the love and warmth. As a former teacher there, the teacher dedication, parental involvement and administrators make it a wonderful place for children to learn and grow.


Posted May 7, 2006

Good school, lots of teachers and administrators send their kids to school here. Great journalism/newspaper program. No sports helps kids focus on real-world skills.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 11, 2006

The most important thing to me about this school is, that my daughter is achieving a great education and she has set her goals with the Agri-Science education. This motivation is the key for any student, to show them that they can accomplish enything the want to be. My daughter loves all her classes... She knows that if she do not do good in one or any of her other classes she would be taken out of the program she's involved in either by the school or by me. So you see, both parents and schools can work together to make sure that our children are getting the correct education and definining their future. Getting college credits is the best.Thanks to all the teachers and all the school staff for doing a great job and their devotion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2005

This is a good school because your kids can choose what carrer they want to do for the future and at the same time they are doing they high school dilmopet
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2005

Good programs. Lot of avalibilty. High parent involvement.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2005

William Turner Technical Arts H.S is a wonderful school. I t gives you the chance to experience things on the career you want to be in. At Turner Tech there is a agriculture academy where you can take care of a the animals.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2004

School is ideal for those who plan on entering work force directly after graduation. Also good for those who plan on enter collge but as far as providing a course selections that allows students to compete academically at all levels, I do not think it measures up. Few ap classes two when I last checked and no honors classes but only honors by exhibition. Strong emphasis on discipline because of the school to work focus that is unnecessary and overbearing for those students who are already disciplined. Also emphasis on self starting and initiative. Not a big emphasis on individual talent development. Mostly great student counseling and leadership. Overall good school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 25, 2004

Well to be honest i think that William H. Turner Technical Arts High School should have some type of sports there, so they can represent the school sports wise and acedemic wise, instead of playing for some other school that is not up to their standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

423 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

437 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

442 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

302 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

244 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
32%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

394 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 80%
Hispanic 19%
White 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 97%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 48%58%61%
Master's degree 45%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LAVETTE F HUNTER
Fax number
  • (305) 693-9463

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10151 Northwest 19th Avenue
Miami, FL 33147
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 691-8324

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT