Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Devon Aire K-8 Center

Public | PK-8 | 1524 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2008

My daughter goes to this school very good education, teachers are very dedicated to teach students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

I believe its one of the best if not the best one in Miami-Dade. I have a daughter in 2nd grade and would not think of having her enrolled in any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

My childredn attended Devon-Aire and now my grandson is a student in the fifth grade ( he has attended since kindergarten. When you visit the school you get a real sense of family. They have so many wonderful functions and do so much to involve the children. Leaving my grandson in their loving hands makes me feel really comfortable. In my book they are #1.


Posted January 3, 2008

Devon Aire is an extraordinary school. The innovative academic program they provide are unmatched in the District. It is a wonderful place for the whole child to grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

Since my son started in Devon Aire K 8 he has made great improvement overall. I'm very pleased with all the teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

I am a veteran teacher at Kendale Lakes Elementary, and I rate Devon Aire K-8 as an A++ school. I could not say enough about its leadership and staff. I am blessed to have my twins as part of the Devon Aire family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

I have a son that goes to Devon Aire as well. It is a wonderful school However, I do feel that it is a bit too wide open to the public I feel that there should be more security towards the park entrances. I also feel that they should provide ample parking for those parents whose children are too young to walk to class alone so they can walk with them to their classes. The pricipal is active with every aspect of that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2007

We have two children in this school and are very pleased with the educational aspect. However, the biggest drawback to this school is how open it is to the public. It is a constant worry. Also, although the parking/traffic situation is aggravated at the present time by the construction of the middle school, we are not very hopeful it will get much better. Before the construction commenced the traffic/parking was bad........add into that equation all the students, faculty and administrators to run the new middle school and there will be no hope for relief. Hopefully we will be wrong!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I love this school especially the Principal Dr. Feldman and the teachers, my oldest is in 5th grade and youngest in Kindergarten, I have never had any issues except with my 3 grader with one specific Kindergarten teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I currently have two kids attending Devon Aire 3rd and 5th grade. I am extremely pleased with the education they are receiving and the availability of extra curricular activities offered to them. However, the parking situation at the school has always been bad and now with the contruction of the middle school it is just terrible! But I guess that will pass. The only drawback of this school, in my opinion, is that it is open to the public at all times. Anyone can walk into this school during school hours. It is really not safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2006

Excellent instructors and valued parent involvement.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 31, 2005

I love this school as they provide many activities and have a great library, community park, and library. There is a great sense of community at this school as even the parents go to its parks and participate in athletic events.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 18, 2005

Quality of academic programs, availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities as well as level of parent involvement is just great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2004

This school was a great disappointment to us. There were programs available to bilingual students that were unavailable to our child as a non-bilingual student. Although it was recommended at first that out child be put on medication for her behavior, she was then recommended for accelerated learning classes when we refused to medicate her. These classes were not consistently taught, however. Some school administrators appeared apathetic. The principal, however, was very active in school events and knows the children well. Maybe there are too many students, or maybe the teachers are just too tired of teaching, but our child walked away from Kindergarten hating school. We have since moved to another state, but I recommend to all parents with children at this school to stay consistently involved with your child's teacher because that enthusiastic, bright student might easily fall through the cracks there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2004

I went to visit the school, since my daughter will be attenting next school year. I had a excellent experience. Kids were well behave, classroom were nice, well organized. Teachers have many years of exerience and seem to be doing a great job. I got a good feelinig about the school. I was also very impress by the number of parents participating (help with security around campus, in the cafeteria, etc). Helping make the school safer and better for all the kids. This school has my vote of confidence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2004

I have heard only wonderful things about Devon Aire. My friends and neighbors tell me it is like a close family and they really care about the students. Not only is Devon Aire an 'A' school, they provide a nurturing environment for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2004

I believe Devon Aire is a 'A' class elementary school - my son has been there for two years already and I have been very happy with teachers and Principal involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2003

Devon Aire is a great school! Every teacher, staff member and parent work together to make this school and every child the best they can be. Keep it up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Excellent teachers and heavy parental involvement to help our students excel
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2003

Devon Aire is #1 everyday!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

162 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

162 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

174 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

173 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

166 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

199 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

181 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

181 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

169 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

169 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
97%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 79%
White 12%
Asian 4%
Black 4%
Two or more races 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%58%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10501 Southwest 122nd Avenue
Miami, FL 33186
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 274-7100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT