Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jack David Gordon Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1102 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 16, 2014

Jack D Gordon is an excellent school. The school administrators are excellent and they handle the parents concerns very well and they care a lot about their students. The teachers are great and like any other school your child might have an excellent teacher that informs you about your child progress and there are other teachers that I am not sure why they are even teaching. I would recommend this school and if you are not sure if this will be the right school for your child ask to see if they offer a tour of the school so you can have an idea and the different program the school offers.


Posted December 19, 2013

My children are in Kindergarten this year. I really love this school . The teacher Ms. Rifkin is an excellent teacher and the overall organization of this school is amazing. My kids are an out of area transfer and I always knew this was the school I wanted them to go to and I'm very happy with my choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2012

The new principal Mr Lopez is excellent. The teachers have excellent communication and really care about my kids. I still have one in 4th grade, but my eldest who graduated 2 years ago was very well prepared for the challenge of the Middle School gifted magnet program he is in now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

My grandchildren attend this school pre-K and 1st grade. I must say that the teachers are wonderful, especially Ms. Glassmer, Kinder and Ms. Cruz, 1st grade They take pride in their children achieving to their full capacity. In general the environment is friendly and welcoming and everyone from the person in charge of the office to the lady that prepares the food all make the children want to be in school and to learn!


Posted February 15, 2011

I've had my child at JDG for 2 years now & haven't had any complaints. However, I think that when you have a problem is when you will find out whether they are professional & attentive or not. The school is secure, clean, organized and the teachers, for the most part, seem well qualified. I look forward to keeping my child at JDG for the rest of elementary years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2010

Jack D. Gordon Elementary has high expectations of it's faculty and staff, students, parents and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2010

I belieive Ms. Alperin was removed because of the problem she had with the Union Teachers not the School System itself. The Union is there on behalf of the Teachers to speak out for them when needed. Unfortunately she did not get the chance to "correct" the situation before it got to that level. As far as the parents, I agree not enough parent involvement in the school. However the parent's lack of involvement should not adhere to the Principal's attitude or her personal vengeance with co-workers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2010

I think this is an excellent school my daughter has gotten outstanding results I do feel there should be more activities for after school programs, about the ex- Principal, if people feel discriminated because the Principal enforces the rules that everyone must follow then I disagree on letting her go, but I do not agree on anyone screaming at kids. I'm Hispanic and I expect all parents and students to follow the rules we cannot change what has gotten great results this is an A+ school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

Our principal was an excellent principal and an even greater human being. She bent over backwards for her school and the children. She's gone because she was a victim of bureaucracy and a school system that is too big and ineffective. Unfortunate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2010

I am sorry that Ms. Alperin left. I was there for years, and saw no discrimination towards any particular population. What she didn't like was the fact that a lot of people felt entitled and thought they could get away with rule-breaking. I was a member of the PTA and am part-hispanic and NEVER felt any discrimination at ALL. She was very polite and always listened well. OUR PTA was ALL hispanic, but we were a respectful bunch and didn't think the rules should BEND our way. THAT was the major problem. Very unprofessional parents who thought they should be free of all rules, and children who didn't know their limits and boundaries.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

My grandson started Kindergarden in this school and by December he had learned so much! Ms. Glasmer is excellent. She uses positive to correct, and makes learning fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

I am a full time single father with two kids. Jack D. Gordon has been a family to us. Ms. Alperin, Ms. Guerra and Ms. Hernandez are the most compassionate, genuine, classy, and professional adminstrators. They have dealt with my boys at the hardest of times. They care enough to make personal phone calls when my kids are sad, falling behind or having a bad day because of the tough times we are going through. The teachers are wonderful and work hard to educate my children to their fullest potential. I am so proud to have my children in the best school in Miami Dade. Thank you for being more than just teachers and administrators to my family.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

I love this school. My daughter is in fifth grade and my son is in 2nd. The teachers and staff are wonderful and very caring. My daughter's teacher Mrs. Gavulic is a fantastic teacher and really cares about her students, Ms. Torra is an excellent teacher as well. I just wish there was extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2009

This school has the #1 ingredient to make it one of the best school in our area, that is wonderful caring teachers that like to motivate kids to do their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2008

Wow our school has changed!!! We have lost so many students to Norma Butler Bossard (due to boundary changes) that we lost Teachers! Due to the lack of student activities - the moral of Parents, Students and Teachers is low. We would like to see some of the activities offered in Norma Butler Bossard in our school. There is no or limited parent involvement because the Principal seems to want it that way. No special events for all students for Holidays etc. Even the ART fair DID NOT display art projects from all students (there are plenty of walls) - all students should have displayed at least ONE item. All in all the teachers are awesome they teach well unfortunately (all the time). There is no extra curricular activites, clubs or programs. The Principals lack of Enthusiasm is felt by everyone (you can tell she is ready to retire).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

Hi All....I am new to this school and so far my daughter loves it! her teacher Ms. Barron (1st grade) 'is the best' according to my daughter. She is doing very well and I hope in this school she can continue to flourish. Good luck to all in this new school year. A concerned parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2007

JDG has a great aademic program in which my son truly exceled in the 2nd and 3rd grades. Mrs. Bracken his teacher was excellent. However, once in the 4th grade the classroom size becomes significantly larger. His grades fell slightly because of the large number of students in his classroom and the behavioral issues of many of the students in his class. Thank you Mrs. Corugedo for working with Marcus in writing. Afterschool activites could be better. Activites are often canceled or eliminated altogether. Music program is very selective, my child was not able to participate in the instrument program. Huge lack of parent involvement. Security is terrible, needs much improvement. Parking is a nightmare plan to get there early.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2006

great school so far. moving from a different state to here was difficult on my child, but the staff made the transition very easy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

Good school. Great gifted and TEAM programs. Teachers are wonderful. Parents are not involved. They think that everything will be done by 'someone'--but rarely ever venture forth and offer themselves. They are only interested in volunteering for their classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

It is a good school with wonderful teachers. Most of the kids are quite well behaved. The only problem I see are the lack of parent involvement. I feel that sometimes they think that everything will get done with or without their help.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

184 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

184 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

188 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

188 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

186 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

190 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

190 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

190 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

191 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 85%
Black 6%
White 6%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 9%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%58%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. CALEB LOPEZ
Fax number
  • (305) 234-4815

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14600 Country Walk Drive
Miami, FL 33186
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 234-4805

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT