Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oliver Hoover Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 800 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 2, 2014

i like this school but not so much i also know a person who goes her


Posted August 19, 2013

This school is a wonderful community school. It has been an A school for 11 or 12 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

Great school, hands down! Teachers care wholeheartedly about the kids and that makes all the difference. Go, Owls!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

I love this school!! My daughter came from a South America's country and she didn't know any word in English, but there she's learned very lot in just 3 months! Actually, she's been studying there for almost2 years and her FCAT was the best of her class! Specially I recommend teachers as Mr Vidal, Ms Medina, Ms Dupree and Mrs Rubio, for me the best teacher there. I have a PK boy too and he's counting the days to go to his first VPK day in Oliver Hoover, my family and I love this wonderful School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2013

My son went to this school, started in 2nd grade and graduated in 5th grade. I just want to start off by saying that this school by far has the best teachers., They care so much about each student. They are very supportive and encourage each student to do their best. 3rd grade was probably my best memory. FCAT, FCAT, FCAT, its also about FCAT. My sons 3rd grade teachers from the 1st day of school prepared each student and volunteered to offer extra help if needed. Great teachers! Great Students! Great School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2013

This school use to be something different and now is not that good. The administration are so unfriendly, the minute you walk in you feel the bad atmosphere. I'm not happy with this school. But teachers are still good, that's why my kid will be there next year. Hope this comments help the principal realize that parents are uncomfortable with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2013

This school is terrible. the princepal is very cold and military like. i moved my kid from there asap!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

I have four children that attend Oliver Hoover. I am very pleased, it goes above expectation with all matters regarding the school. The teachers actually care! I've dealt with many teachers and administrators and they are all very caring and go above and beyond for the students. I couldnt have asked for a better elementary school for my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

Best school in Miami AAA+ Teachers are nice and care for kids, Great academic programs.


Posted July 24, 2011

very good academics; bad teacher experience with my kindergartener. poor classroom management. hopefully it will be better next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

really looking forward to the school for my daughter next year! so far i like that in the morning not a lot of traffic, the administration has been kind and my daughter is excited to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

On average, my first grade child would come home with a spelling assignment (3 x each, etc.), 4 pages of reading out of a work book, 2 to 3 pages of math out of a workbook and a story to read for homework every day. I felt that was way too much for my child, but her teacher most certainly did not. Her teacher had little to no prior experience teaching the first grade and it showed. She lacked compassion for the little ones and played favorites. I've never experienced my child not being a favorite unitl this year and i have to admit... It hurts. She really disappointed me. Other than this, I would say it is a very good school with a kind and caring office staff. Good luck to you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

I am a Parent & also a former student. My son has attended Oliver Hoover since the 1st grade. Teachers & staff are wonderful. There are a lot of familiar faces from when I was a student. The principal is very sweet & kind to the kids & parents. It's a shame he has to retire this year. Parents are encouraged to participate & volunteer when they can which is great because a lot of other schools tend to push parents away. It is a true family atmosphere from the moment you walk into the office. There is a lot of school spirit & the curriculum is great. My son has learned a lot. His teacher is fantastic. Mrs. Chavez really goes the extra mile to help those kids that need the extra push & is very nuturing & has great communication with the parents. Overall, a wonderful school ! C.Simon
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

My daughter has been attending Oliver Hoover for 3 years, it is an excellent school with superb staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

I think is a Great school , but need more extracurricular activities
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2006

Both my sons have attended Oliver Hoover since Kindergarten. They both love the school. Teachers are motivating and the curriculum is challenging! They provide a very good Spanish S and SL program. It has a large ESE program that caters to the needs of the students. It is a safe school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2005

My daughter has attened OHE for 3 years now and has always loved her teachers, which have been very pleasant and helpful. There is a dress code which is affordable. There has also been a lot of homework so far, but my daughter still looks forward to school every day. I cannot forget to mention the big emphasis on reading everyday the school has, and has really helped my daughter to excel. There are a lot of activities including Pajama Night, chorus, Walk-A-Thons, field trips and more. For saftey, there are always hall monitors and security patroling the school grounds, as well as many staff and crossing guards helping children stay safe during the morning and release hours.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

140 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

140 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

154 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 87%
White 5%
Black 4%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 35%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%58%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MERCY AGUILAR
Fax number
  • (305) 380-9609

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9050 Hammocks Boulevard
Miami, FL 33196
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 385-4382

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Kingdom Academy
Miami, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT