Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Calusa Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 883 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 1, 2009

I love the way the teachers care and focus on our kids education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

I have my son at Calusa and he absolutely loves the school. My daughter graduated and was very happy, she still misses the school and teachers. As a parent I think its simply one of the best schools in Florida.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

My daughter is a former student of Calusa who is now attending another Florida School. The difference is these 2 schools is amazing. At Calusa she was challenged daily. She was in the Quest Program and was excelling. Now she is bored, not challenged and seems to not be moving forward. If I could I would pick up Calusa and take it wherever my daughter attends school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

I have a Daughter going into 2nd grade and a boy going in into Pre-k and I was the kind of parent that worried about choosing the right school for my kids (Public or Private) and I must say I am very happy with the teachers at Calusa they are caring,helpful and most of all loving! to name a few Ms.Mira,Ms.Patterson, Ms.Rubin and Ms.Thorpe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2007

Disappointed with bullying problems at the school that are brushed under the carpet. No one wants to deal with these problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

Calusa is a wonderful school full of wonderful teachers and a great Principal (Ms. Palomo). I have a fifth grader who just graduated. She had excellent teachers: Dr. Cohen, Ms. Lockhart and Mr. Sosa who really get involved and care about their students. My youngest just finished Kindergarten and had a wonderful teacher in Mrs. Hirsch. She's already reading at the level of a first grader thanks to her teacher and her dedication to her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2006

I have two children in Calusa Elementary. The first one, a fifth grade gifted boy, the second a daughter,Special Ed (ADHD, dislexia) third grader. I love the environment of the school. Everyone is very pleasant. It has been an A school for a while and they work very hard on keeping it. My son Loves it. My daughter is having a really hard time. I am not pleased with the way her case is handled. I wish Special Ed children could be kept together. The fact of joining the regular classes, makes avoiding the bullying almost impossible. Nothing is perfect...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2006

My son graduated from Calusa 4 years ago and now my daughter is entering the second grade. My son's teacher, Mr. Cohen, now Dr. Cohen, was the best thing about his 5th grade year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2006

Calusa is a great school. It has strong academic program that has been made even better through the leadership of its Principal, Mrs. Palomo. Teachers really care about their students. Emphasis is on academic excellence & it shows in test scores. Gifted program and its teachers is superior!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2006

Excellent gifted program. Needs to improve building
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2006

Excellent school teacher are very involved in the students lives and interest. The best gifted program in miami
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2005

I believe Calusa is a very good school. Parents are very involved there, making it easier for teachers to do their job. They help teachers by becoming 'room parents'. I am glad my two kids attend this school. They have evolved very quickly academically and personally. There is also room for improvement though. I don't think all kids have the same opportunity to higher level of education, i.e. EAP, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2005

Wonderful caring environment. Involved parents and teachers make this school a great success. For those that have not had good experiences, I suggest you talk to your child's teacher first and if you do not get a resolution, take it to the top. You will be heard!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

My son is in 3rd grade this year has been with Calusa since Kindergarten. I believe Calusa is a wonderful school specially now with Mrs. Palombo as Principal. You can really see the difference. She is so much more involved and willing to listen. There are many wonderful teachers that have been around for a long time and despite all the years of service, they still have the children's best interest at heart. I believe the bad apples are the exception not the rule. I also believe that instead of complaining about what's wrong with the school, we as parents should take a more proactive approach, like becoming involved with the PTA if we want to see changes in certain areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2005

I feel that the level of attention given to the chilren at Calusa is exceptional. My Kindergartener is learning at a 1 grade level thanks to teachers like Mrs. Martha Hirsch. I feel that teachers at Calusa genuinely want to teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2005

My daughter graduated from Calusa in 1997 and my son in 2004. Both of them had a good share of experiences with good and bad teachers and good and bad principals. The school is esentioally good because of the concerned teachers AND the concerned parents. We are blessed to live in a community that gets involved so much in their kids education. It is not an inconveneince and there is not such a thing as 'TOO MUCH INVOLVED' parents help and it shows in the school ratings even when we had to endure 'not so good' direction from principals or teachers. the quest progrma, grosly underfunded has a wonderful staff, and the other programs do not exist because we as parents dont get involved in obtaining funds for them. we should compromise our political leaders to get more to this communities that pay a high percentage of taxes. We should get more
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2005

My daughter attends the Pre-K and I am extremely happy with the teacher. She is very creative and is able to bring our the best of the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2005

Calusa elementary is an excellent school. the principal and vice-principal are excellent. the gifted teachers are very knowledgable and provide a great learning environment for children. the overall staff of teachers are extremely interested in your child's development. i have been actively involved for the past 3 years and find it an excellent school. the music, art and PE teachers are very enthusiastic with their respective classes. All the staff welcomes parent involvement. we have really enjoyed the years we have been there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2005

Overall a good Public School. Unfortunately it has to cope with the common problem of large class size.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2004

This school needs a change of leadership and more teacher supervision.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

166 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

158 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 85%
White 10%
Black 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 21%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 55%58%61%
Master's degree 45%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9580 West Calusa Club Drive
Miami, FL 33186
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 385-0589

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT