Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hammocks Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1165 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2013

This school was great when Mr.Cabrera used to be the principal, The new principal is a disaster, she does not leave the office, and she seem that has no intention to improve the pre laws program, we need a person with positive energy and enthusiasm to manage a middle school located in a good neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2013

While I place little stock in this year's grade ratings for schools due to issues with the grading scheme, I agree with one of the recent posters that this school's quality has clearly dropped in the last year. This year a large number of excellent teachers have left, including Ms. Velazquez, who in my opinion was in recent years the single greatest contributor to the strength of the pre-law magnet program. My research and conversations with a number of remaining teachers and students leads me to believe that the principal transferred here from Southwood Middle is a big part of the cause. I see the mass exodus of several excellent teachers, the issues with iPrep math this year, recent decisions regarding dress rehearsals for the traditional dance shows, and the overall drop in quality of the pre-law magnet program, and I fear that our new principal has wasted no time in applying the same kind of leadership that got her and the school district in hot water starting in 2008. Despite the fact many fine teachers have remained, and Dr. Sanchez is a fine addition to our school, I can't help but feel a little bait-and-switched into bringing my kids to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

Hey everyone, I think Hammocks Middle School is great. Although they need to work on the pre-law magnet. Mr. Cabrera was the pricipal there and he is the one who kept it ship shape. Now its a "C" school and i don't know whats happened. I will give it to Ms. Ryan,Ms.Eubanks, Ms.Botana,Mr. K. Cabrera for being great teachers who have been inspiring and wonderful. I woul like to Mention Ms. Suarez and Ms. Velasquez for their hard work and absolute greatness and i am sad to say that they have left. 13 teachers have left, field trips have been limited and terminated, diliquents are still on school grounds, and the administration needs to fix all of this. - Student


Posted August 23, 2013

This school has got worse over the last year. Some of their best teachers fled the school, I don't blame them. The students' schedule during the first month of school is all messed. Some students don't get into P.E. even though it's mandatory by Florida State law. This school has some serious issues to work out before they can become an "A" school again.


Posted April 23, 2013

The thing about Hammocks is that, there is someone for everyone. You will always have a friend or a teacher, nobody is left behind. Im a student there and let me just say the teachers are great. Im in 7th grade now and I had a specific teacher last year, her name was Mrs. Velazquez and she helped everyone. Had problems at home or a fight with one of your friends? You confide in her. She is a great teacher. Also, the HALS magnet program is pretty top notch. Only thing that upsets me is that next year there wont be science in the magnet which is pretty dumb to me. Also, Mrs. Leichner is also a great teacher, Such a shame she's retiring this year. That's my review on Hammocks. It's a great school. If you want to send your kid here, i recommend you do.


Posted September 27, 2012

Hammocks is a great school overall....We've been there now 3yrs (8th now) and so far no complaints. Except for the Accellerated Reading program...for what ever reason they lose funding is my guess for why for a good portion of last yr. they didn't have it to offer to the kids. This AR prog. is a great way for kids to boost their reading/comprehension levels in prep for FCAT. Otherwise leadership/teachers are great ( Mr. Cabrera, principal-is no longer there 2012 school yr.) New principal - Debra Leal (too new to comment) overall they're all nice, patient, they respond to emails etc. I think thats key when you want to get answers and understand your childs academic progress or challenges.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2011

Excellent School! My son loves the HALS program. he is gifted, the only teacher that doesn't belong there is Mrs. Shullman.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

It has so many educational programs and sports and as been a a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

It a very friendly environment, the principal is very outgoing and always working to improve the school. The staff at the office are helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

This school is excellent and I mean it! The teachers are very kind and very helpful! They teach very well and help kids in any way they need.I absolutely recomend this school to any parents and children!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 14, 2010

Excellent school, teachers and administrative staff are always willing to help parents with any kind of concern regarding our kids. The whole building looks always clean. They keep children under discipline and in a good learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I had two children go to Hammocks and i just would like to say its a very good school over all and its all up to your child, from here to become a leader and not a follower. Also there sports program is very good over there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

It's a great school, clean, safe, and great standard education. Teachers are good, and my children have the incentive to do better in school and the desire to get higher grades in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2008

This school is completely immaculate. they have extra staff cleaning. and the teachers are very professional. and very safe for your child to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

I went to Hammocks the year it opened for all three years. It was a great school, great teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2008

hi i am a student here, there are sme teachers here who just make friends and teach kids so they understand and others are just strightfoward with it. i have had a techer here who was the best,we lerned and had fun it was great.the 6 graders have thir own building and its a very big school.there drama program is exalent and there band class is too.dont get me started on tech class its fun and your kid will love it. this school is very hands on and fun it is a a+ school for very long time and its a very good school i really will miss it next year
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2008

im a student at hammocks middle school..this is the best school..all the teachers are help you.the staff is is very helpful.the student are very helpful and very friendly.this school is the best!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2007

I am a parent of two children at hammocks. It's a great school. the staff is always willing to help you and make the best for your child education. The security of the school is excellent. I strongly recommend the school. I am very please as a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2006

I am a student at hammocks student for the 06-07 year and now that the school has changed principals the school does more activities there are many many sports clubs and 6th grade has a separate building so its easier for them to get around. You do more projects we have more fundraiser and there is now not many problems in the school, it's a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2006

My child has attended Hammocks Middle school for the past school year, and I am completely appalled at the mediocre leadership of the principal, the lack of a safe environment for students, and the lack of supervision given to the students by certain teachers. I cannot recommend this school for parents who want a safe environment for their kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

384 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

384 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

372 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

374 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

295 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

406 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

404 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
40%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

407 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

435 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
86%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 81% 29%
White 11% 42%
Black 6% 23%
Asian 2% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 44%58%61%
Master's degree 52%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 12%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Deborah Leal
Fax number
  • (305) 382-0861

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9889 Hammocks Blvd
Miami, FL 33196
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 385-0896

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT